We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected a bit more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais Medina & Spa
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall impression of the hotel is average. I stayed there for 2 nights during the business trip and for that purpose it was ok. Still I think it is overpriced and not at 5 star level.
The location is really good, close to the Medina what is the place you should visit of course. But I was surprised when asking the town map from the reception they did not have this. They suggested to take a taxi to the Medina although it was less than two kilometers away from the hotel. This is better option if you miss the map. But to my question if this is dangerous to stay in Medina during night when it is dark they said no, knowing that we missed the map. I have to say that we did not feel very secure out there.
The room was big in size but without a balcony, bed was comfortable.
There is no bathrobe in the room, from the toiletteries I had only shampoo, ordinary soap and body lotion. Not even shower gel, not speaking about sewing kit. There was no bottled drinking water in the room what is not nice if you arrive late in the evening.
Free WIFI did not work with my log in name, I had to use my colleague's .
We ate in Moroccan restaurant at the hotel one evening and it is many times more expensive of course than in town but felt more safe to us. It was interesting but not the best Maroccan cuisine experience during our stay. Still worth of trying.
Pool area was the best experience of the hotel. There can be shortage of pool towels, but all the rest was lovely and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask a room with balcony and with the pool view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Palais Medina & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

After a morning in the smelly, filthy medina, it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel. Our room was a decent size and had a view of a nicely landscaped area. Beds were a little too firm and pillows a little too flat. Disappointed there was no iron. The pool and deck area are lovely. Lunch at LePool was slow but the sandwiches were very good. We had dinner at the hotel one night through the tour which was a very nice buffet (and I am not a fan of buffets) and we were able to eat out on the patio. Only disappointment was the American flag was hanging upside down. It took two tries to get it right. Can't rate the value as it was part of a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Initial impressions of the hotel were very good. Bright. modern, newly built hotel set in it's own grounds just outside the old part of the city and within easy walking distance. However ....

Our room was very small and offered little in the way of comfort. Some of the party were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony but most of us had small uncomfortable rooms ... bit of a shame as we stayed here for 3 nights.

Breakfast ... the worst we had in our tour of Morocco
Restaurants ... avoid ... several in the group were convinced they were ill because they ate from the buffet at dinner ... some were confined to their rooms for the whole stay!
Hardly anyone eats in the restaurants ... the town is close at hand ... so as a result the service and quality of the food is awful ... avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony ... and overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After a grueling day in the Medina of Fes what a wonderful surprise to come to this immaculately clean and friendly hotel. I wish I would have cancelled my tour and just stayed there. The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms sparkling clean and the pool and bar was paradise. Its the only hotel in Morocco that we had that got it all perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It is away from it all. The lobby and decorations are beautiful and impressive. The staff were wonderful. There were two restaurants, both were good.
There was also a pool.
Definitely a hotel I would revisit. No down-side here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just sit around the pool and forget everything else. Ask for a fresh mint tea for 25 MAD and forget the wine, prices start at 260 for a wine you will regret having asked for.
Hotel is large, quiet and you have a lot of opportunities to relax, at least in June.
It is true that service could improve a lot, but just forget about it, do some self-service at the Le Pool Bar, and go back into the warm water

Room Tip: Pay more 800 MAD and ask for a room facing the swimming pool, the royal palace and the medina
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000spots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The overwhelming first impression of this hotel was "What the hell is that smell!!!" The drains had backed up and the smell was overwhelming. Not a great way to start my visit to Fes. While the worst of the stench dissipated over a few hours, the undertone lingered right through.

The hotel looks great. Very well appointed with nice rooms - clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and try to be helpful, but it's not quite there. At breakfast one morning there were plenty of spoons and forks but no knives. The next morning, having responded to the previous day's complaints, there were hundreds of knives, but no other cutlery!

The outside patio area was very nice, but the gardens were not yet established when I visited, so it was still looking very much like a construction site as far as the landscaping was concerned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InglewoodMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#42 of 100 in Fes
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 100 in Fes
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
1.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
1.7 mi away
Les Merinides
Les Merinides
#65 of 100 in Fes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Medina & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Medina & Spa

Address: Avenue Allal El Fassi, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $111 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Medina & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in Fes, next to the shopping center Borj Fez, the Palace has an outdoor pool and a snack bar with panoramic views of the Jbel Zallagh Hill and the ancient medina. It features a luxury spa center.The Palais Medina & Spa, immersed in an Andalusian garden of 5 hectares, offers rooms and spacious air-conditioned suites with breathtaking views of the medina or the gardens. They are all equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and a private bathroom.Guests can enjoy international and Moroccan cuisine in one of the 3 restaurants of the hotel. There is also a piano bar and a nightclub.The hotel also offers spa Daniel Youth which offers a heated indoor pool and a range of beauty treatments. Enjoy a relaxing comfortably on the large terrace of Palais Medina overlooking the garden.The hotel is located between the historic town and the new town and 30 minutes drive from Fes International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Medina & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing