We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

we stayed here oct of last year and it was such a haven. It really deserves its high rating on Trip advisor. Jim and his wife took such good care of us, catering to our every whim and always cheerful. He suggested a hammam for us and even took the taxi with us, hung out while we were getting our treatments and then came home with us as well. It was the best hamman experience in Morocco too. We would never stay anywhere else. the Best!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avesavei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 251 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Raid Tara is an oasis of calm at the edge of the medieval, bustling and frankly slightly over whelming city of Fez. Jim is a very congenial host and very helpful and informative on both Morocco and Fez. The breakfasts prepared by Fatia were delicious as too was the evening meal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone you will not be disappointed. Our time in Fez was definitely enhanced by staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

riad is gorgeous, but better yet is jim and his wife. they really welcomed us and made us feel like home. They helped organize a tour around fez which was lovely, they recommended an official guide, and gave us a map of fez with their fav restaurants circled, which were cheap and spot on, with terrace and amazing food. i honestly wouldnt have had such a great time in fez if i hadnt stayed with them. btw the jade room is really nice. i was in morocoo 3 weeks at dif riads, and theirs is by far the best! thanks jim.

Thank 143,008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Riad Tara Three nights.

We slept in the very cosy room Corail, which I definitely recommend. It is small but nice and silent. The Riad is a lovely surprise in the small streets of the Medina: it has with elegant furniture and it is nicely decorated.

It is owned by a French couple, that was extremely helpful in organising trips, finding guides, suggesting restaurants and taking care of customers in any way. WiFi is okay in the lounge area.

Breakfast was the best we've had during all our stay in Morocco (we stayed in 5 different locations).

The Riad is in a safe area and within walking distance from the closest street with cars. Nevertheless, for those who don't feel at ease in walking alone in the Medina, the Riad can provide a taxi service which includes pick-up at the riad, and back (fair price).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunfloweringirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If I had the option to rate this riad 6 stars I would!

From the moment we arrived in Riad Tara and were welcomed by Jim, Catherine and Fatha we felt like we had arrived in paradise. After one night only we decided that we would extend our 3 night stay to a 5 night stay and cancelled our booking we had for the two days afterwards in Meknes.

It is incredible how the owners have managed to create such a tranquille and peaceful base in the heart of the medina of Fes. The riad is a mere 5 minute walk to Bab Rcif and the souks, and is a very welcome retreat after a few hours' walk in the hustle and bustle of old Fes.

Jim and Catherine are the most wonderful hosts and really make you feel at home. Their attention to detail, both in the decoration of the riad and its rooms as well as to their guests' needs is first class.

Fatha is undoubtedly the queen of the Moroccan kitchen: after tasting her tajine on our first night we were so impressed that we ended up eating at the riad all five nights! During our stay other guests had a meal at the riad one night and decided to eat out the next: all of them regretted this afterwards. The variety and quality of the food is exquisite!

We stayed in the Amber room, a superb room on the first floor. The bed is very comfy and it was sooo nice to have a decent (rain)shower in the bathroom.

Last but not least: Tara, the riad's cat, is absolutely adorable. I loved coming "home" after our day out and be greeted by her. My husband and I found ourselves "arguing" sometimes over her attention.

In all: although the first 12 days of our Morocco holiday had not been too succesful, our stay at Riad Tara in Fes made up for all the bad experiences we'd had. In fact we are sure that when we have the opportunity we will go back for a long weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent 3 days in riad Tara, everything was perfect. Jim gave good advices to visit Maroc.
My friends and I stayed in amber room, it was very spacious and comfortable. After exploring the medina of Fes it was great to relax in the peaceful riad tara. Having breakfast on the terrace was an unique experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September - this is a great place to stay the riad is in a quiet cul de sac only 10 minutes walk from the center of the Medina. The riad is situated near the top of a hill and has fantastic panoramic views over the old city and surrounding area from the rooftop terrace. I had Jim the riad owner arranged a pickup from the airport which was great - the driver spoke English and I got a guided tour on my way to the old city. Jim also arranged for an official guide to show me around the Medina which I would recommend as she took me to a number of out of the way places which would be difficult to find on your own. The pace of life in Fes is slow and it people are extremely friendly - a great place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenMcG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#24 of 100 in Fes
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#43 of 100 in Fes
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#18 of 100 in Fes
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#50 of 100 in Fes
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#48 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tara Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tara Hotel & Spa

Address: 99 Ras Jnane, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $58 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tara Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad TARA was created from an authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina of FES. Some houses date back several centuries, FES is a city of more than 1200 years. The current owners, French, spent two years restoring this Riad into a charming guest house. They suggested to the artisans during its restoration, to combine modernism and Moroccan authenticity. This property fills these occupants with the comfort and well being of the place. The Riad TARA now has everything of a beautiful guest house, you stay in a single or double room or by renting the Riad in its totality, with services sought, to pass a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Tara Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing