We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad in Fes”
Review of Riad Layla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Layla
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Riad Layla for one night at the end of March. Souky was very responsive helping us to coordinate our stay. Unfortunately we didn’t have much time in Fes (we arrived in the evening from our Morocco desert tour, and had to leave the next afternoon for our flight to Barcelona). However, our stay was very enjoyable. We stayed in the Royal room for a great deal. It’s a very large 2 story room on the top floor.

When we arrived in the evening, Omar took us on a walk through the medina to a spectacular restaurant for dinner. Once we were done, he picked us up and walked us back to the Riad.
The next morning we decided to do the couple’s Hamam/massage since we didn’t have time to explore the city before our flight. It was definitely a fun/interesting experience and would recommend it.

Overall, a great stop-over in Fes and would highly recommend Riad Layla.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kj1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

we stayed there, my husband and me 2 nights in October 2013. We arrived at night, a cab was waiting for us at the airport, he dropped us at the entrance of a very poor area, with very old 2-3 floor buildings. We were surprised and our first impression was that we made a very big mistake by choosing this place. A young boy was waiting for us at the entrance, he carried our luggage and lead us to Riad Layla. By the way, Riad in arabic means hotel. We were surprised again when we reached the hotel, but this time, in the positive meaning of the word. The hotel consists of like 10 apartments built in early 1900s or even earlier, with high ceilings and old furniture. There was a pool at the entrance of the hotel, with a giant tree reaching the 2nd or 3rd floor, full of birds playing all the time. The place was gorgeous, relaxing and it was an experience we never had or even expected to have.The staff were very kind and helpful, always smiling and treating us like family members. The manager and owner of this place was a very nice french gentleman, he helped us in planning our stay. The room was spacey, full of old decorations from the early 1900s, the bed looked like a bed from the ottoman era, we felt ourselves like a sultana and her sultan :-). There is no TV, no phone in the room probably because the owner wants you to live the experience of the old days, but this was not a problem, we didn't go all the way to Morocco to watch TV. They offer free WIFI, and the connection was surprisingly excellent. The sheets were clean. The breakfast was great, our table was near the pool.
Don't expect to see something fancy, it is not a fancy place, but it was a very relaxing calm place. Most of the visitors are families or couples.

The location of the hotel is excellent, it is close to everything, Gelyz street, Kutubia, Gem'at El Fna.
You can find ATM machines in Gelyz street.
If you want to buy Argan oil, buy it from a pharmacy.
Always negotiate price with the taxi cabs
Get a site seeing hop on hop off ticket, it's much cheaper than cabs and more fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The kindness of Michel and his staff; you will have all the information and help that you need to enjoy the city.
We have the suite at the terrace, wonderful view (only by stairs, no lift). Very nice common spaces to have a mint tea or a drink.
The Riad has a awesome Hammam, to have some additional relax.
Transfer available from and to the airport and train station.
Availability of Moroccan home-made food and good wines, so you can have a wonderful dinner after your day.
Enjoy the breakfast at the sunny terrace, relax assured.
Near of Place Batha, 20 minutes by foot. Also you can pick up a taxi one block from the Riad.
Inside the Medinah, to live the real Fes.
Be prepared to enjoy a different experience, away for the standard tourism.
Thank you very much Michel and Souki for all your help and kindness, to gave us a great time there.

Room Tip: Suite Alia, at the terrace. Privacy and city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comando23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Layla for two nights. It's a fantastic Riad and our room (Zaina) was amazing and at a great price. The room was spacious and it felt like we had our own little apartment. After spending the previous night in the desert, we appreciated the hot shower in the large bathtub. The bed was also very large and comfortable. We had breakfast on the rooftop patio which provided great views of Fes. The staff was warm and courteous and this Riad is a great choice for anyone traveling to Fes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAReviewer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Layla for a long weekend on a bed and breakfast basis at the beginning of March.
We were met by Souky at the taxi drop off point ( many of the streets in the medina are too narrow for vehicles ).

On arrival at the Riad the outside of the building was incredibly plain but once we walked through the door we were greeted by a very different picture. Absolutely beautiful.

Souky organised some Moroccan mint tea for us and then proceeded to show us around the building. The decor was stunning and the bedrooms incredibly comfortable. We had a kingsize bed which was decorated with petals every day.

We decided to take a trip into the Medina without a guide which saved around 30 euros and meant that we could take the trip at our own pace. It is a good idea to wear fairly sturdy foot wear as there are lots of uneven surfaces and steep inclines.

Breakfast was taken on the rooftop terrace ........ 100 steps upwards from our room! Quite a workout but worth it as the views over the Atlas Mountains were just stunning.

Mohammad was our breakfast and evening meal waiter. A lovely man with a great sense of humour.

We cannot say enough kind words about Souky. A very professional young lady who was on hand for anything that we needed or wanted to find out more about. She even came out shopping with me to make sure I was ok. We were sad to say goodbye to her.

We would definitely recommend the Riad for a leisurely break to Fez.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms in total. We stayed in Zaina which has it's own quirky staircase and is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

we was 2 girls and we decide booked at Riad Layla but really is a nice hotel and all the equippements are fantastic we talk out the riad a lot to recomand
the rooms all very clean we was in Salma thanks Farah and sorry i didn't remember the name of the other girl
the terasse was amazing that i never seen before
we staying there 3 nights and we met some guests that we will never forget them Jennifer and Diane and we will never forget our lovely Souky who's always help us and advice us to see alot of things in fez
thanks souky the receptioniste who was kind and helpfull and we will back to morocco just to see her ,she keep smiling all the time and that make us happy to see her working and smiling and being always in our service
thanks for all guys and we will never forget our stay many thanks for souky you'r the best
Riad Layla is the best
Sylvia

Room Tip: you must try staying at riad layla and all the rooms all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nahla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our stay at Riad Layla in Fes was wonderful. We booked the Zaina room and it was very comfortable and spacious. The staff at the Riad was very helpful - especially Souky who was super attentive and even found me a doctor when I was ill on my trip. She helped booked several tours and gave us great advice on where to eat - all made the trip extra special. I recommend staying here for an authentic experience.

Room Tip: Zaina was on the second floor, so there is a narrow stairway to the room. The bed and sheets are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afterwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#28 of 100 in Fes
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 100 in Fes
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#18 of 100 in Fes
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ibn Battouta
Riad Ibn Battouta
#20 of 100 in Fes
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla

Address: Rue 18, Medina Arsat Mabrouka, Douh, Fes 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $86 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Layla 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Layla enthrals you with a decor and ambiance reminiscent of the Arabian Nights. Riad Layla enchants you! The traditional building is constructed in Moorish style and was renovated in 3 years with much effort and love for the smallest details, just so that you could rent a riad that epitomises elegance. The building offers the comfort and service of a luxury hotel combined with the dreamy ambiance of a riad. The design combines traditional Moroccan architecture and craftsmanship with modern comfort. At the centre of the riad is a patio with a fountain and its pool. Cedar wood, mosaic (zellig) and stucco are witnesses of the elegance of this former residence. The salon, the patio and the beautiful roof terraces with a breathtaking view of the entire Fez medina offer a place to read, sun-bathe and relax. Breakfast and dinner are served on the roof terrace during summer. Come and enjoy the atmosphere of Riad Layla for your Morocco holidays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Layla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing