We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Layla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Layla
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Impressively elegantly decorated Riad at a perfectly central and yet quiet location in the Medina of Fez. Super friendly and accommodating staff, particularly Mohamed has been amazing to make us feel comfortable! The interior ambiente and view from the roof-top terrace are stunning, the service is superb and the food delicious (one minus to mention would be one heavily over-prized dinner out of two evening meals at the hotel). There is only a handful of rooms, so service is very personal. Definitely a must-see and must-have-stayed-there place in Fez we would choose again.

Room Tip: Not the one that has no bathroom door, not even a curtain on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    33
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Riad Layla last august and it was great. The place is fantastic, very beautiful and its architectural details were incredible. Since the moment to enter you feel a pleasant smell of wood and you are welcomed by friendly staff. We stayed in the room of the first floor (down stairs next to the lobby-SALMA) and it was BEAUTIFUL. The room is huge and with great decoration. Moreover because of its proximity with the lobby it gets internet, while other rooms upstairs don´t. We had dinner there one night and the food was fantastic. I recommend you book dinner with them. The staff was very helpful and always gave us the advices we need. You can book taxi to go to and from the airport with them. If I go back to Fez, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAQ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time chatting with the people in the Riad. Chayma the receptionist who is really funny,helpful and fun to chat with.
Fatima the lovely polite lady in the kitchen who is a fabulous chef...!
Yolanda the manager who is no nonsense lady but vey friendly and reliable.
There were days we didn't want to go out just hang with them.
We had dinner twice in there was the best and the most reasonable in he whole of fez. Also they have a roof Terrance that's so romantic at night and in the morning.
They may not be the most fancy Riad but really wat you want is reliable friendly people that will give you a great experience which is wat we found of Riad Layla. You will find that they do not take any commission from the official guides they can arrange. We do reccommend you get them to arrange for you. We got one on our own and regretted. Discuss with them and they can make you holiday one to remember!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greedyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Riad Layla for 2 nights in July '13. We booked a mezzanine room which was very nice decorated, very good beds. The breakfast and dinner are very tasty. The staff very friendly. On our next visit to Fez we surely book again at Riad Layla!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location just by the blue gates. Our room was amazing, spotlessly clean with great décor and attention to detail. The staff were lovely and we were even given a packed breakfast for our early departure. Fabulous place. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

my family and I visited fes for 3 nights and we stayed at riad layla. the location is perfect as it is only about a 5-10 min walk from the medina and blue gate. But what i enjoyed the most was the hospitality of all the people who work there. When we first arrived, they treated us to some delicious moroccan tea, and then they took us up to the roof top terrace where the receptionist showed us all the places to visit in fes and gave us a detailed map of the city. the breakfast was excellent in the morning as it is made fresh by the cook. The riad felt like a family to us as we enjoyed talking to each and everyone of the employees there. they took very good care of us during our stay

Room Tip: just enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Fez, witch has a very interesting Medina. Riad Layla is located just a few minutes from the blue gate, in a quiet area. The staff is very nice and friendly. We can only recommend to stay there if your in Fez.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#23 of 93 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#6 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 93 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla

Property: Riad Layla
Address: Rue 18, Medina Arsat Mabrouka, Douh, Fes 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Layla 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Layla enthrals you with a decor and ambiance reminiscent of the Arabian Nights. Riad Layla enchants you! The traditional building is constructed in Moorish style and was renovated in 3 years with much effort and love for the smallest details, just so that you could rent a riad that epitomises elegance. The building offers the comfort and service of a luxury hotel combined with the dreamy ambiance of a riad. The design combines traditional Moroccan architecture and craftsmanship with modern comfort. At the centre of the riad is a patio with a fountain and its pool. Cedar wood, mosaic (zellig) and stucco are witnesses of the elegance of this former residence. The salon, the patio and the beautiful roof terraces with a breathtaking view of the entire Fez medina offer a place to read, sun-bathe and relax. Breakfast and dinner are served on the roof terrace during summer. Come and enjoy the atmosphere of Riad Layla for your Morocco holidays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Layla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing