We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A truly great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

From the moment my girlfriend and I touched down in Fès airport - we were treated with warmth and kindness from the Dar Hafsa family. Not only do they show you the ropes, they will help prepare / organise any trip or experience you have in mind! The best part of our whole time at Dar Hafsa, was being invited to break the fast with the family during Ramadan - a truly unique and wonderful Moroccan experience. (The soup was better than any restaurant we went to!!)

The beds are great, the breakfast is good, the location is good, and the price is very favourable. What more could you ask for!

And above all this they invited us to watch the World Cup and drink tea with them whilst we were there.

10/10!!

Very happy young travellers

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milan_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    55
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
93
312
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrivenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Dar Hafsa is a small family run hotel in the heart of the old city Medina in Fes. This hotel has definatly been the highlight of our trip to Morocco. Karim (the owner) is incredibly hospitable, he made us feel like part of the family as he welcomed us into his home. He also gave us lots of great advice, he's not out to rip you off like a few other people around Fes.

When you arrive, he invites you in to the common lounge area for some tea (delicious) and asks you what your plans are for your trip. He will advice you on things to do in Fes and the surrounds so you can have the best possible experience of Morocco. He tells you where best to go to avoid getting hasseled and what is a good price for things you may want to buy. He will also organise tours for you with genuine tourist office guides.

We spent 2 nights at Dar Hafsa. The first night we went to a restaurant deep in the Medina that Karim suggested. At first we were a bit dubious, but it turned out to be the 2nd best meal we had during our week in Moeocco. We were lucky enough to be invited to join Karim and his sons for the breaking of their fast for Ramadan. It was an amazing experience and absolutely delicious food.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scasken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I selected this riad for a three night stay in Fes, for my sister and I on our first trip to Morocco based off of emails with the owner and other reviews. The owners emailed me back promptly each time and answered my slew of questions. We chose to set up a taxi with the riad, and despite our flight getting in late the taxi driver was there waiting for us. We drove as close as we could to the medina/riad (it is not accessible by car), and a minute later the owner met us at the taxi and brought us to our riad. After showing us our room we were served mint tea. While the riad is down a side street of the medina, it is very easy to find off the Main Street of the medina, a minute and a halfs walk. There is also two or three convience stores to buy water and a western union directly near the turn for the riad.
The riad is family run and extremely welcoming. I was particularly impressed with Miriam who showed us to a Hammam (which was unfortunately closed, but directed us to another). As well she mixed henna and did it for my sister and I as we could not find a nice place to go.
The owner was quick with directions on how to get places, and was willing to walk with us and show us the way to the second hammam, a place to buy Argan oil (this place is quite expensive, but supposedly nicer quality than what can be found in the medina), and a store to buy tea.
As for breakfast, there was a wide variety of breads along with honey, jam, cheese, olives, and an egg. Our room, while small, was in clean and good condition. It had a highly functioning air conditioner that we had control over. The beds were extremely comfortable.
The rooftop terrace provided an excellent view of the city as well as the Merinid Tombs, which was quite special as it was on our list of things to see.
The owner also recommended a restaurant, which while pricier was a good value for the six or seven courses we were served - only go if you are extremely hungry or you will be upset at the price on the bill.
If you have the time and are lucky enough to make the acquaintance of the young man who works nights in the riad, consider yourself very lucky. He was a charming, interesting, and funny young gentleman who was willing to help explain things to us and share about his day, life in Fes, Islam, and time during Ramadan.
Overall, the riad was in an extremely convient location (a minute walk to the medina, 10 minutes to the blue gate, 5 minutes to the tannery). As well, my sister and I (two young white American girls) felt extremely safe our entire stay. I 100% recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dar Hafsa. I was slightly nervous about my sister and I traveling to fez alone but we have had a great experience thanks, in part, to this riad. Located off one of the main streets of the medina, it is very easy to walk around and the blue gate is only 10 minutes away. The riad was clean and the staff was very helpful. When we first arrived we all had mint tea together, which was delicious. The owners were able to answer all of our questions and gave many recommendations. Although we did not take all of them I appreciated the advice. His daughter even did henna for us when we asked. For someone who did not know the city and who are young women traveling by themselves all of the information they provided was helpful but if you are more of an independent traveller, the constant suggestions could be overbearing. You are always free to not follow the recommendations, however. Great first stay in Morocco!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flygirl3786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is my second time to Dar Hafsa and even better than before. They helped us to get into the medina from the airport, very professional.Clean, excellent breakfast, very helpful and friendly host.For sure will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itinerant1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Dar hafsa was perfact for our stay in the Fes medina. The Dar is a meticulously renovated house rich with carved stucco, painted woodwork, and tile detailing. Comfortably arranged and meticulously clean bathrooms with ample hot water. Good beds. Good WiFi connection. The breakfast was a lavish array of varied breads and pastries, plus orange juice and tea or coffee. Our host arranged an excellent guide for our day long tour of the medina (you cannot do it with any thoroughness in less) and offered to arrange more tours for us, but we were out of time. He recommended a superb traditional restaurant, Dar Tagine, where we dined twice on a beautifully prepared and presented six course moroccan feast. From the emails telling us how to find the hotel (we called and someone met us at the gate to the medina and helped us secure a cart to take our luggage), to his decision to move us to a smaller but more accessible and still quite comfortable room than the one he had originally planned for us, to his insights on Fes--things we should do and things we should avoid doing, our host was insightful and caring. He treated us like honored guests. The roof terrace area offers a wonderful view of the medina. A stay in Dar Hafsa is unforgettable for all the right reasons. If life ever brings me back to Fes, i will want to stay there again. A beautiful place with friendly people in an intriguing location where such clean and comfortable housing often costs much more.

Room Tip: Room for two on the american second floor has oscillating fan as well as air conditioning. Room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lennox head
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

very accommodating,nice and clean with a wonderful breakfast. Family run and they really went out of their way to help us. we got completely lost in the medina and after a long tiring day it was wonderful to come back to one of the best showers i've had in a long time. the waterpreassure was amazing it was like a massage. and the sheets were so smooth and crisp.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meg_e21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#14 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Property: Dar Hafsa
Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing