We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I love travelling so last March I decided to go to Fès with my husband , the city is amazing and charming. I hope to go back there as soon as possible. The hotel was very good but the staff wasn't very helfpul and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dream978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerieID, Propriétaire at Dar Hafsa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Dream 978,
Thank you for you feedback and also for finding our modest place as good one. It is disappointing to hear that our staff wasn't very welcoming and helpful. I really don't know how and when that happened as our staff are doing their best to satisfy our guests but I will share you feedback with them so that to be very careful next time and avoid that in the future. Our aim was, is and will be always satisfying our guests. We thank you again for your comment and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at Dar Hafsa.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
There are newer reviews for Dar Hafsa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 950 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

I booked this accommodation based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed at all. This was a lovely way to welcome us to Fes. The staff were very friendly, the riad was very comfortable and I only wish I had a bigger stomach to eat the amount of breakfast we were given! My only disappointment was that I could not stay for longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avantika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The riad is beautiful and nicely decorated. Everything was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was feast and very tasty. All the staff at the riad were very helpful and nice.
The view from roof terrace is really gorgeous.
Not far from bab boujloud and located in a very quiet street.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to fez.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lory-vigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Dar Hafsa is wonderfully restored in traditional way, not far from bab boujloud and located in quite street far from hustles and bustles of the medina.
I spent three nights with a group of my friends. the owner karim, his daughter and mohammed were totally welcoming and they made our stay pleasant.
They were very friendly, helpful and always available when we had questions. they even were subtly checking if we were happy with the service provided.
There is a beautiful roof therace with an amazing view. that shouldn't be more happy with our stay. Iwill defenitely go back.
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: room number 3
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inge k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed two nights and the location was excellent with the hustle and bustle and excitement of the medina just moments away. My strongest memories of Dar Hafsa was the beautiful interior, the lack of internal sound proofing, the excellent location, the fantastic breakfast on the first day.

On our last day we were up at 07.30 for an 08.00 am departure. Disappointed that there is no breakfast for early departures. We found the owner is a nice guy, very understanding and willing to help in any way he could.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Beautifully restored family home, excellent hosts and staff - very knowledgeable and helpful - comfortable pretty rooms, we felt safe and at home in the middle of the old city of Fes. Great value for money, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natthai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staying here is exactly like visiting family in a foreign land.Both the owner and his daughter are a fount of local knowledge.
This is in the centre of the old city and to get there is a a good 15-20 min walk through the narrow alleys and cobblestone bylanes of the medina.Its a bit difficult if you have wheeled luggage.There is the option to hire a cart to take suitcases but you have to ask for it.If you have backpacks then its fine.
The house is 900 years old and beautifully restored.fantastic breakfasts.The water pressure and hot water here was the best we had in our entire stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank shar2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#7 of 100 in Fes
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 100 in Fes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $43 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing