We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very nicely arranged, full of color an warmth. The service is very personal and kind. And the breakfast will leave full of energy and happiness, it's a fact. Thank you for it all.

Room Tip: Choose the double room downstairs, it's the loveliest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fashak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    58
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
95
345
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The whole family welcomes you to their small, but beautiful, guesthouse. The rooms are individually decorated and have a lot of charachter and are very comfortable. Being on a small side alley in the medina it is very quiet, but within a minutes walk of the hustle and bustle of one of the two main streets down from the Blue Gate so easy to locate.
Karim can organise excursions if you wish and makes you feel totally at home, and the hardworking Mariam is always at the heart of things, and seems to answer your emails almost before they are sent! The breakfast in the morning is extensive and sets you up for the day very well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdBrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful Riad set in a perfect location for exploring the magical city of Fez.
The owner and his family went to every effort to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible.
The breakfast was particularly good and the roof terrace was a great place to sit and absorb the atmosphere after a long day.
Would definitely go back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weil der Stadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've had a few years experience visiting Fes, and using Dar Hafsa as our home base made for one of the best trips yet. The location is excellent: in the centre of the medina, but easily found off the main road from Bab Boujloud, so easier to find your way back than other places I've tried. The hospitality is excellent, very helpful but not too pushy, and the best breakfasts I've had in any hotel or B&B, so you can head out for your daily adventures with a full belly. Rooms very clean and comfortable, with a great view from the roof (it's well worth it to set the alarm for dawn, get a few photos from the roof, then get a few more hours sleep). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the ground floor room is right next to where we eat breakfast, so if you're a late sleeper, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarboTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deudesfeld, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was my first time in Morocco, and I had a great experience and a large part was our Host at the Dar Hafsa. The Hotel was beautiful and had everything we needed. We had two rooms and they were very clean and so comfortable. The hotel has wifi bathrooms in every room. The hotel is located in the perfect part of the Medina. Our family, 2 adults 3 children, were very comfortable and well accommodated. The breakfast was lovely. Our Host arranged so much for us. He even took the time to teach me how to make Moroccan tea. I would recommend this place to everyone. We felt special and very secure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crrc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The incredible hospitality I found at Dar Hafsa has been unbelievable. From meeting me at the gate of the Medina more than once so that I would not get lost, to arranging a tour of the Medina with an excellent guide and out to Meknes and the Roman ruins at Volubilis with a first- rate driver, to helping me out with unexpected financial problems, I have been overwhelmed with kindess from Kirim, Myriam, and Mohamed. The dar itself made me feel I had stepped into one of Scheherezade s 1001 nights. I slept wonderfully, enjoyed a hot shower, and ate delicious breakfasts -- perhaps 10 different kinds of bread, juice, cheese, olives, goat butter, jam and honey. All beyond belief0

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lovely place within easy reach of the blue gate.
Karim was kind enough to organise a trip into the desert for us which worked out a lot cheaper than the companies we had seen online.
He booked us a driver who showed us lots of interesting places and views on route and a nice place to stay in the desert region plus the camel ride and night stay in the desert. Great trip I would recommend it to anyone coming to this part of Morocco.
After we got back we stayed another night and woke up to a lovely breakfast of various breads and pastries.
Karim could not have been a more helpful and welcoming host. Good stay, great value!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Property: Dar Hafsa
Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing