We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing hotel in the middle of busy medina”
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Awesome place! almost oasis like- very quiet inside- away from the bustling surrounding streets, greeted with mint tea and by a really warm family. The rooms are comfortable and the excellent breakfast in the ornately decorated home was a treat. The terrace upstairs was nice to look out from at night. Wifi and the attentiveness of the service was excellent to have. Dar Hafsa organized a taxi/guide for us to tour the countryside. The hotel definitely made the trip to Fez and especially the sometimes intense Medina, relaxing and fun! Def Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgariepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 958 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good value for money, very friendly staff, amazing breakfasts (loved the doughnuts with honey), cool little room. Great stay, my only complaint was lack of toilet paper. Only the owner knew where the toilet paper was.. So uncomfortable night!!

Other than that brilliant hostel!!


About the tour...unrelated to the hostel. I will warn you that if you get a tour guide he will take you to lots of shops and truly encourage you to buy things for commission. We KNOW the true prices of the items. We went with a marocan family to a market in Rabat and paid 50dirham for a great quality tea pot. I.e. Local price... Fez... For the same similar design teapot.. 200dirhams

So haggle AT LEAST half off... They'll still make a killing. Bear in mind the average salary is 2000 dirhams..that's.200 quid a month.. They are really out to take your money so stay psychologically analytical, stay calm when haggling and enjoy!

Room Tip: NA.. There is a nice rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What makes this place great are the hosts. Abdul Karim and his family took care of us well. We felt well staying at the riad, which felt like their home. They were helpful with their recommendations and directions. For example they told us about the perfect way to see the tannery, without falling prey to the local hustlers. The airport pickup for 15€ they arranged was also a nice touch, and worth it. Abdul Karim was waiting for us at the gate of the medina where the driver dropped us off. Abdul Karim also offered to arrange tour guides and shopping, but made it a point about not being pushy. We actually ended up buying a carpet at a place he recommended, but only after we expressed our interest in going there the next day. Whether the deal was good, we'll never know, but we're happy with the rug. Just make sure you bargain hard like anywhere else, regardless of who recommended it. Shop around before, if you have the energy.
The place itself is pretty, clean, and in good shape. The first night we got an upgrade to the nicer 1st floor room, which was kind of them. The other two nights we slept in the ground floor room which was pretty dark, as the sunlight is blocked by the narrow street, but otherwise ok. The rooms are modest but ok. The bathrooms need a little painting but are very clean. It was fine for the price.
A nice part was the terrace, with a nice view of the medina. Would have been nice to have breakfast at the terrace, but it's too high up to carry the food. They will bring you tea to the terrace, though.
The location is perfect, smack in the middle of the medina, if you like that. Less than 10 min walking from the nearest car access point.
Overall a pleasant stay with nice people who care about their reputation, and make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Book the 2nd floor room. It has more than the dark ground floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dar Hafsa is a family run riad in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the medina. The staff being Karim (the owner), Maryam and Aziz (his children) and Mohammad were super helpful and made our stay as comfortable as possible-their hospitality and down-to-earth mannerisms were the highlight- accompanied by the traditional Moroccan breakfast that we feasted on in the morning.

We were a family of 4 with 2 elderly persons who faced great difficulty in climbing up and down the steep and rickety stairs which were the reason for our cutting short the intended 3 nights stay to 1. Karim and his family were so very kind and considerate for understanding our situation and even offered to help find another place to stay the following day.

Karim organised a local guide to take us around the medina and even arranged for a driver for a day trip to Meknes, Moula Idris & Volubilis. He goes highly recommended for his patience and good manners!

Dar Hafsa itself is very beautifully decorated and that really stands out when you walk through the entrance- each room is carefully and tastefully decorated- although the bedrooms may feel cramped for some. The rooms did not hold any wardrobes and the bathroom facilities were old-fashioned in the sense that after a shower the floor would stay wet and remain wet when you came back.

As it got chilly in the night, we requested for heaters which were provided and mint tea was a regular offering from the family who would sit down and join us giving a very homely and safe environment.

We would like to add that although the location is great in terms of being in the centre of the medina, the path to the Riad is very awkward. As we arrived via train, a driver was arranged to pick us up from the station and drove us to the main Medina gate where we were received by Karim. As the alleyways are super narrow, cars cannot get through and hence we trenched our way through the 10-15 mins crooked alleyways of Fez with 9 items of luggage (not very ideal at all and a big disadvantage too boot). However, aside from this, Dar Hafsa is located in a peaceful and safe spot, 3-5 mins away from the hustle and bustle.

The selling point of Dar Hafsa is really Karim and his family. Given our situation, they were so kind and humble and were full of suggestions and advice throughout our short stay. Additionally they spoke excellent English which was a great advantage point in terms of communication.

If you are looking for a cosy, pretty place to spend the night then look no further however it is not recommended for the elderly and less fit due to its location and steep stairs.

Thank you Mr & Mrs Karim, Aziz, Mariam and Muhammad

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xhra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed there one night, and even though they didn't have a room for us for the second night, they arranged another nice place for us. Very friendly, and extremely caring owner, and royal breakfast. They picked us up from the gate ( where the taxi dropped us off) and also showed us great places to eat. The room was not large but clean and cute. They are truly nice people, strongly recommended for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The whole family was very attentive and made the stay great. The beautiful traditional (as far as we know) house is well-located and well maintained. The breakfasts were fantastic. The only drawback would be the thin walls.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlNati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Dar Hafsa is a nice small hotel located right in the medina of Fes. The hotel is a converted family home, and you are treated like family there. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, and speaks very good english and french. He arranged a tour guide for a day for us from the tourist office (highly recommended) and gave us good restaurant recommendations. He also was able to change money for us at a good rate. In the mornings we were given a huge breakfast of tea, coffee, and 10 different types of bread and pastries. The hotel is somewhat rustic, with sparse bedrooms and old fashioned bathrooms. There is very little privacy. However, the hotel is very pretty inside, with beautiful tiled walls and floors plus a nice terrace. The hospitality, the low price, and the location more than compensate for any deficiencies. I would stay here again. (Just a tip: try to call the owner from the airport and have him pick you up. The place is hard for cabs to find and he's happy to come or send someone else!)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerieID, Gérant at Dar Hafsa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear M802,
I would like to thank you twice first for reviewing our modest place on trip advisor and also on hostelbookers, I really appreciate all reviews written by our precious guests because they are an impetus for us to work more and more to meet our guests'expectations.Regarding the rooms, yes they are equipped in a very traditional style as this is the charm of the rooms in Riads. Once again,thank you and be sure you will be always welcome and we will be very glad to see you again
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 100 in Fes
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Medina, Fes 31110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $46 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing