We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Hafsa
Ranked #12 of 94 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dar Hafsa two nights. From the moment we arrived Fez to the moment we left, Karim and his son Aziz were gracious, helpful, and caring. We could not have been in better hands during our quick visit. Aziz met us outside of Bab Boujloud and walked us with our luggage to Dar Hafsa. Karim found us an excellent guide for the day who did an efficient one-day tour of Fez medina focusing on history, trade, and food. Dar Hafsa is tucked away in a safe and quiet area, off of the noisy main drag. The breakfast of fresh baked breads, olives, honey, butter, home made marmalade, and and mint tea is delicious. Karim also told us where to go for a very affordable and delicious dinner (a place called Bouyad, right by Bab Boujloud) which is not highly ranked on TripAdvisor but is a must if you want a traditional, affordable meal. I would recommend Dar Hafsa for any budget-minded traveler who is looking for a warm and welcoming family-run place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cm20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    51
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
81
289
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful nights in Mr Idrissi.'s guest house during our honeymon :) The guest house is located off the main street in the old medina within walking distance of the tanneries, mosques, and busy souks which characterize fez. The inn itself is absolutely stunning. The high ceilings, terrace and beautiful artwork that decorate the inn make for a surreal experience. Breakfast is from 9 to 11 and is a must as is the terrace. The rooms are very cozy and nicely decorated as well. Mr Idrissi is a very laid back, wonderful person. We were fairly ignorant about where to go and he was able to offer a number of restaurant (and bar) recs that turned out beautifuly. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Note that the rooms are upstairs and the staircase is a bit steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chadwyck5783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is the best place I have ever stayed! The host is very friendly and helpful. I received a welcome email from Karim, the host, straight away after I booked a 3 night stay at Dar Hafsa offering airport transfer as well as directions to the guesthouse.

The twin room we had was cosy with ensuite bathroom on the top floor. The guesthouse has a roof terrace and a lot of character. The place is inside the old town so have to walk about 5 mins from where the taxi dropped me off. I was impressed with the big breakfast especially with the donuts and the pancakes! Mint tea was always available upon request and there was always someone in the house in case you needed anything.

The most impressive thing about this place is how genuine Karim and his family treated their guests. I love his son and daughters who spoke perfect English and are always happy to chat and help. Also Karim recommended us to the best restaurant in town, how to get to the tanneries, where to buy souvenir at Moroccan local prices and where to buy the best herbs and dried figs! We saved a lot of money because of his advice. He is very knowledgable about the Medina and very generous as he even treated us to a coffee house for mint tea and coffee. You can't get better than this! Must stay in Fes and I will be back again! Thank you so much Karim!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spongebok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

To the untrained eye, the medina in Fes would probably be considered close to chaos. But step just off the main street to find Dar Hafsa: a quiet, clean, calm and comfortable oasis with the most friendly staff (a local family) you'll ever find.

All the staff speak very good English and can help you with any questions you might have. They certainly live up to their reputation on Trip Advisor and will go out of their way to make your stay as good as it can be.

We hired a guide for a tour of the medina, which they arranged. The tour was ok and the guide was good but he certainly took us to all the places where he would get commission from any purchases we made (there were none). A bit more history and a lot less hustling would have been nice. I would still suggest getting a tour on your first day but don't be afraid to head out on your own after that. Make purchases then and be sure to bargain hard. Anybody who takes you to their "family" shop/factory, etc. will push you hard to buy, weather they say it's ok just to look or not!

Whether you spend one night or a one week, Dar Hafsa will feel like home and you'll be treated like family (or better!).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kootenay911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

There is probably no better place to stay in Fes; and as an added bonus, it is infinitely affordable. The rooms are extremely clean, and the entire place is beautifully decorated. The owner is charming, and is incredibly willing to solve whatever problem you may have. He suggests the best places to visit-leading you away from the traditional tourist trail to more authentic places of interest. He made our stay in Fes extremely enjoyable and his hotel is exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at Dar Hafsa for a week and a half. It is a beautiful, centuries-old house on a quiet alley, well inside the medina but only a two minute walk to Bab Boujaloud. The family that runs it go far out of their way to make guests feel at home and to help you with whatever your needs. They are happy to help arrange a licensed guide, or direct you to the best place to purchase something, but are not at all pushy.

Great breakfast, solid wi-fi, and a lovely roof-top terrace.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noirceuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed in Fez for two nights. The owner of the hostel is very nice and helpful, which really made the trip comfortable and hasslefree

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#11 of 94 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#14 of 94 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Property: Dar Hafsa
Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Mesdina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Hafsa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing