We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Guennoun
Nearby Hotels
$179
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$1,244
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$322
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais Amani(Fes)
$354
$341
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jamai(Fes)(Great Value!)
$77
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
203
22
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
22
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarranged dinnercleaning staffoverlooking feztagineroof terracereally enjoyed our stay heretraditional moroccan houseevery morningmiddle atlasopened the doorriad darour honeymoonfeel like familyguided tourvisit fesday triptaxi driver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 236 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The riad is absolutely delightful and, thanks to the fabulous Miriam, it was a key reason why our Fes experience was so memorable. Miriam took it upon herself to ensure that we were comfortable in the riad, and that we also got the most out of our time in Fes. From organising a guide for us at 30 minutes notice, to inviting us to an impromptu cooking lesson with their fabulous cook (including shopping at the local market), our every need was attended to. Miriam also put us in touch with a fabulous driver who took us on the next stage (4 days) of our travels in Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Miriam is a very welcoming, gracious host who speaks Arabic, French and impeccable English. She loves running this riad and it shows. Everything is very well organized and our room was very comfortable. A filling breakfast is served every morning in the small dining area right off the central courtyard. We also chose to have dinner there for three of our four days in Fez - all excellent home-cooked meals. The 17th century home, which belonged to Miriam's grandparents, has been renovated but is very traditionally Moroccan with elaborate carving, tiles, textiles and a courtyard fountain. There is also a rooftop terrace with views of the surrounding old city and a nearby hillside with a fortress.
Fez itself is very big and very busy. The medina is interesting with probably thousands of shops and shoppers but it is also confusing and stressful so Riad Dar Guennoun is a restful oasis on its fringe. It is close to Bab Rcif with its hustle bustle but once inside the riad you are a world away although there is noise from outside since stone and concrete do not absorb sound - and there is a call to prayer very early in the morning from the nearby mosque (one of several hundred in Fez).
The riad itself is very beautiful inside and we felt as if we were living in a Moroccan home for a few days. Thanks for your hospitality, Miriam!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakleyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

For the three of us, this was our first trip to Morocco, and this riad our first hotel. What a perfect way to start! In setting up the reservation, I felt that Miriam was helpful and enthusiastic. She reassured me that all our needs would be met. They were and much more. The driver she sent to pick us up at the train station was pleasant and professional. So much so that we hired him for a half day tour outside the medina and also to drive us to our next destination. He was wonderful.

Upon our arrival, we checked into one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever seen. Everything was done beautifully and the bathroom was modern and spacious. I felt like I was on a movie set it was so romantic and luxurious. This is a family owned and operated riad, not Las Vegas. Do not expect a Marriott and why would you want such? Miriam greeted us with tea and cookies upon our arrival. She arranged to have dinner for us and, the daily breakfast was plentiful.

On our first day, she arranged for a half day guide through the medina. This is worth every penny. We ended up keeping the guide the entire day. Some will say a guide is not needed. They may be right but, this guide made the day so wonderful that we may have made a mistake not hiring him another time. He was a wonderful gentleman and Miriam will gladly arrange this for you, as well. The entire staff at this riad was hard working, helpful and pleasant. They seemed genuinely concerned about our safety (no problems there) and our convenience. The cooks, cleaning staff and night manager, Abdul, were all wonderful. We overloaded Miriam with questions and requests constantly. Certainly we wore her out and yet, she never faltered in her cheerfulness and earnest effort to satisfy our every single need. We felt so comfortable with her, we have invited her to stay with us should she ever come to the USA.

We stayed in the 2 rooms on the second floor. One of the rooms had some issues with the wireless connection. It was easier to sit in the main room downstairs to use your computer but, I suggest you just leave it off while you are visiting and soak up the experience. If wireless is a priority, ask her which room she recommends for the best connection.

Comfort, security, cleanliness, tour arrangements, hotel service were all addressed with efficiency and courtesy.

Room Tip: Just tell Miriam what your priorities are: cost, comfort, quiet, internet etc and she can match you to the best room for you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

For our first trip to Fes we took a wonderful train ride from Marrakech. We pre booked our taxi through Miriam, the wonderful and lovely owner of Riad Dar Guennoun. The riad is located in the heart of the Medina and is beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. It is also very quiet. Miriam was gracious enough to arrange for our tour of Fes City and the Medina including a few relaxing hours at the Nausikaa Spa and Hamman. Miriam and her staff were welcoming and very helpful. We recommend having a scrumptious breakfast and dinner at the riad prepared by Miriam's staff. It was a pleasure meeting Miriam and staying at her riad. We can't wait to visit Fes and stay at the Riad Dar Guennoun on our next visit to Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaajandNaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We spent four wonderful nights in Riad Dar Guennoun in February 2012. A pre-arranged driver picked us up from the train station. The owner of the riad, Miriam, is a charming young lady whose family has owned the place since the 17th century. Miriam speaks impeccable French and English. She doesn't simply run the riad, but her presence is actually part of the experience.

We were highly satisfied with our room. Hearty breakfasts are included in the room price. Dinner is not, but it's well worth eating your dinner here - the staff prepares delicious tajines and other Moroccan specialties. Breakfast and dinner is served in a beautifully decorated room adjacent to the central courtyard.

We found the location also great: Riad Dar Guennoun is located in the South of Fes-el-Bali, in a peaceful neighbourhod. Bustling Bab er-Rcif gate is about 5 minute walk, and as soon as you pass this gate, you're in the thick of the medina. The famous tanneries are also in this general area, but you need to ask for directions several times. We used taxis a few times, for example to the train station in the new town or even to Bab el-Jeloud, the upper entrance to the medina. The price should be Dh 20-30, depending on your bargaining skills.

We returned home from Fez three weeks ago now, but our children still urge us to go back - to see the city again, but specifically to stay in the same magical riad, and to be greeted by Miriam's smiles :)

Room Tip: As a family with two children (aged 6 and 9), we received the Juliet Suite. This room is truly beautiful with elaborate plasterwork on the ceiling, mystical lights and a grand king-size bed. IOur kids slept on two separate single beds. In the bathroom my daughter loved the tiled bathtub and I took several photos of the brass faucet with its elaborate engravings.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bancsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews