We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique haven of peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin des Biehn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Jardin des Biehn to your Saves list
Le Jardin des Biehn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique haven of peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Staff extremely welcoming, helpful and attentive but not over-bearing. Room very comfortable and well appointed. Set in lovely gardens right in the heart of the medina. Food excellent; all meals freshly cooked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Thanks to Rabia and Paul who made our celebration very special. We booked the Orientale
suite which was very spacious and superbly decorated with eastern artifacts,especially the
Chinese antique bed which we were not sure was for our use but we did! The super king was very comfortable too. Breakfast was more than adequate for my enormous appetite and the two nights
we ate at the ryhad the standard of cuisine was outstanding
We traveled from Tanger to Fes by train (first class advised) Less than 60€ return for the two of us. It took just over four hours and a good way to see some of the countryside
Be advised you can only buy rail tickets once in Morocco so we stayed one night in Tanger to be sure of getting tickets for the trip
A very pleasant trip all round.

Room Tip: The suite we chose was for a special occasion and quite expensive for a normal holiday. The Medina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pistoffinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The place is truly personalized with incredible style and design and a great personal touch. The garden is incredible and a nice green oasis in the middle of Fez. The café is a nice mix of traditional Moroccan and French food and style. The food is some of the best me or my family had in our 4 days in Fez. The owner, Paul, is there to help you night and day and takes great pride in every guest having a great experience both in the Hotel and the city. I stayed in a super high-end Riad in Marrakech that provided great service but the personal touch to this place combined with the great service and atmosphere surpassed it by far.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A wonderful riad, beautiful grounds. The staff was outstanding and very helpful. The room was very nice with colorful moroccan decor. After a day in the busy souks, this riad was like coming home. We truely enjoyed our 3 night stay and would love to return sometime in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights last week and it was wonderful. The owner, Paul Biehn, welcomes you on arrival and is extremely nice and helpful. His staff is amazing. The entire riad- our room, the grounds and garden and restaurant exceptional. Very highly recommended. Our best accommodation during our entire trip in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank periple_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Paul Biehn runs this lovely place that was rescued and restored by his father, Michel, a legend in his own right. The food is absolutely delicious and the center garden is lovely. The staff is very friendly, and they sent someone with us to go out at night so we wouldn't get lost. I took a Moroccan cooking class, and although I'm no cook, it was great fun.
My traveling companions and I recommend Le Jardin des Biehn!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UptownMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Fes, and though we did not stay at Le Jardin des Biehn, we were encouraged to visit by family, as they were friends of the Biehns. We are so glad we followed their advice - this riad is certainly one of the gems of old Fes, its gardens and fountains resplendent! It is truly what I imagined one of the old palaces from Fes' golden days would have looked like, with its orange trees bright in the sun and the light reflecting off the exquisite mosaics. We dined several times, both for lunch and dinner, at the restaurant in the courtyard, and were treated to some of the best meals we had shared in our time in the city. The food served is a mix of local cuisine/cooking techniques and French sophistication. Ingredients are often unique and unexpected - I had a sort of risotto cooked in beets that made for a colorful and vibrant experience! Service was impeccable and we were taken care of like dear friends. Michel Biehn and his son Paul were absolutely incredible to us, assisting us with anything we needed and giving sage advice about Fes, its history, and all it had to offer. It is clear to anyone who has the pleasure to meet these wonderful people that they truly love the ancient city and the lifestyle it offers, and they have done everything to provide an authentic, peaceful, and unique experience at Le Jardin. I can say with certainty that the generosity of the Biehns made our trip, and their beautiful riad (which I could only dream I could stay at myself!) has left a beautiful lasting impression in my memory. I recommend Le Jardin des Biehn without reservation, for guests and diners alike, if you are looking for an incredibly special and peaceful place whose beauty and character is unrivaled.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azuralovisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#2 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#6 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade
Palais Sheherazade
#11 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Biehn

Address: 13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jardin des Biehn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin des Biehn is a large Andalusian garden in the middle of the Medina of Fez, scented by Isfahan roses, jasmin, orange blossom and bergamot. All around stands the summer palace of a Pasha : nine rooms and suites, a restaurant, a spa and an art gallery. It is a place of harmony and charm, of luxury and fantasy, of shadows and light passing through the palms, lulled by birdsong and the murmur of fountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Le Jardin des Biehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#