We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curate's egg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Jardin des Biehn
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good things: nice staff (but a bit ineffectual without their manager), clean, good location, quiet, very nice garden. Bad things: reception not staffed during normal working hours during festival time (when tourists are around); no safe in bedroom (so you have to leave your valuables at reception - which may not be open...). It is just not good enough to say the staff can call the manager who will be there in 1/2 hour - this is a business, and is an expensive hotel (eur 200 per night) which is a high price for a hotel without a pool. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Chose a room not facing the garden in mosquito season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Riad is an oasis in the medina quite literally from its exquisite garden setting. All nine rooms are unique and different so you need to spend some time on their website reviewing the room choices when booking. We opted for a suite called la Favourite, which being elevated afforded a breeze and views to the garden below; its terrace with day bed has lattice screening so you can see but not be seen. The place is the dream of a family from Provence and is run very ably by a couple and their son Paul. Their command of English is good too as is that of many of the staff, although French is the pervasive language of the Riad and for that matter Fez. We happened upon a period where they had no other staying guests so at breakfast (which is included) we received undivided attention which made for a peaceful treat. Do not be mistaken though there is regular and constant activity within the Riad as there is a cafe restaurant located there called Fez Cafe which is popular, serves excellent food and rings changes to the menu on a daily basis (they also serve alcohol which you cannot take for granted at all cafes) The Riad seems to have achieved a balance between rustic and luxury. It is an ongoing family project and the garden is starting to develop and mature. Whilst here we did a cooking class which was excellent and a lot of fun including sourcing ingredients from the medina markets. We would happily commend this Riad as a place for others to stay inside the medina.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilHBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A wonderful find; we used this place as an escape from the Riad Dar Dmana in which we had thte misfortune of having to stay.

The rooftop terrace, gardens & restaurant here were bliss- the perfect escape from the noise & bustle of Fez. The gardens are lush & leafy, the bar is licensed to serve alcohol, the staff are friendly & the food's good. I only wish we'd been booked in to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WRGie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Le Jardin des Biehn is an oasis in the Old City of Fez. We expected to stay two days, and ended up staying four. The place is a fantasy - Moroccan tiling, fountains, balconies, courtyards, and a lush, large inner courtyard that is a feast to the senses. Add to the spectacular physical environment a terrific restaurant (and wonderful breakfasts) plus a welcoming staff that is sincere, personal, and knowledgable, and you'll understand why, for me, this place beats any ultra-luxury high rise hotel in the world. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickFig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Le Jardin de Biehn is an extraordinary place to stay - almost like dropping into a peaceful and beautiful neighborhood sidestreet. We stayed for 10 days because our son-in-law was working in Fes -- every staff member and every experience was just perfect. Friendly, low key, timely. Having a low key restaurant inside the compound was delightful -- erasing the anxiety of 'where should we go for dinner' when tired. The fact that it is actually inside the Medina -- and yet a protected oasis - can't be reproduced. Each apartment is unique, slightly quirky and delightful. Paul Biehn (and staff and his family members) had an answer to any and all questions.

Room Tip: Just tell paul Biehn what you are looking for -- he's very candid and open the various facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A perfect stay. Staff is terrific. The location is fascinating. In the medina but on the fringe so one avoids the noise and crowding but still gets the flavour. Restaurant is fine too. Limited choice but all done well.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moroccobounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had had a really bad experience at an other Riad and walked by this and its a little peace of haven in the Medina. What makes this place so great is rather then being in a Riad where you essentially looking a room across a court yard and being inclosed. Here you are in a beautiful garden with individual designed rooms , that are gorgeously put together.We stayed in the Africa rooms , it could not have been any better .The place has a very personal feeling , run by a French family.
There is a lovely restaurant on site too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalibuEurotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 100 in Fes
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#29 of 100 in Fes
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Marjana suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Biehn

Address: 13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $137 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jardin des Biehn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin des Biehn is a large Andalusian garden in the middle of the Medina of Fez, scented by Isfahan roses, jasmin, orange blossom and bergamot. All around stands the summer palace of a Pasha : nine rooms and suites, a restaurant, a spa and an art gallery. It is a place of harmony and charm, of luxury and fantasy, of shadows and light passing through the palms, lulled by birdsong and the murmur of fountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Jardin des Biehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing