We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disreputable”
Review of Hotel Bab Boujloud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bab Boujloud
Ranked #167 of 211 Fes B&B and Inns
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disreputable”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I arrived at this hotel my reservation was not honored, even though I'd already paid a down-payment. The front desk clerk was openly hostile and unhelpful and said that I could only have the room if I paid five times the rate that I'd been quoted online. Of course I refused, but that left me stranded in a strange city. Unacceptable behavior. Book at your own risk!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
18
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We used to stay in other hotels on our frequent visits to Fes, but after finding this one we have never stayed anywhere else. Excellent prices for modern rooms with excellent breakfasts. Lovely staff and owner. Rooms are also always spotless.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinoudelondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

No matter where you choose to stay, it would be unusual not to find at least one unfavourable review, after all, we all have different expectations and have different experiences. However, I was surprised to read the two experiences posted recently.
I have stayed at Bab Boujloud on several occasions, the reception staff are always courteous, polite, and informative; the ladies who service the rooms and serve breakfast, delightful, smiling, friendly and helpful.
The prices offered are good value for the rooms, the location just outside Bab Boujloud, excellent, for access to medina kadeema, for taxis or for walking to almost any site you wish to visit. The roof terraces offer a wonderful view over the medina to the hills beyond, to sit to catch the breeze, to relax at any time of the day or evening, and to eat 'petit dejeuner' in the morning.

There are a myriad of hostels, riads, hotels to stay at in Fes, but really, Bab Boujloud suits me just fine. p.s. I am also a solo female traveller.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I booked 2 weeks in advance to stay at this hotel with hostelbookers and paid a deposit. When I arrived at the hotel they refused to honour my reservation which I had printed and confirmed with me. They told me if I wanted to stay with them I would have to pay about 3 times the price I had originally reserved for online. They refused to negotiate or discuss alternatove options with me. We are two young students travelling and were sent onto the street to find alternative accomodation in Fes. I would caution any traveller planning to stay here as they may not honour your accomodation or try to rip you off once you arrive.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LizfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

Bar Harbor
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Bab Boujloud used to be my go-to hotel when in Fes overnight on business or visiting friends until I had a poor experience which I will tell you about in a moment. To start; The prices on rooms are great and you can score a room on an upper floor with the bathroom in the hall for 80 dirhams. Yes, 80 d's for a television with awesome Saudi stations by satellite, two beds, an alley view, and a bathroom down the hall with access to the roof. It's an awesome price and you can get in and out of the hotel at all hours of the day with convenience stores on either side of you and plenty of taxis pulling in front of the baab (the blue gate into the Medina) to shuttle eager tourists about and carry you wherever you may need to go in the city. The Bab Boujloud is clean and wifi is an excellent perk since it is often very difficult to find a cheap hotel with wifi in Morocco. The view from the roof can't be missed and it is a great place to sit up late into the night and watch the activities in the Medina.

Now for the bad... I used to love Bab Boujloud but I will never stay there again because I had a poor experience one night after midnight in the breakfast area. I stayed up late to finish a presentation for school and was using the wifi all alone when the night clerk came by to chat with me. I was fond of the staff at the Bab so I chatted with him a little bit until he decided to get too close. Sexual harassment is alive and well in Morocco and often misunderstood. Unfortunately, women who linger alone after dark are often assumed to be "looking" for sexual contact or to even be prostitutes. Being that I knew this clerk, however, having stayed there many times before, I was surprised at how the situation escalated. By the time that I managed to push away from him and go running into my room I was pressed up against the wall and it took some physical effort to get away. I was not making any advances on the clerk whatsoever. In fact, I was trying to clearly articulate that I am engaged and was not interested. Unfortunately, he never got the clue, and I got shaken up pretty badly since the situation could have gone very wrong. While I never had any other poor experiences at the Bab and I'm not sure if that employee is still there, I would advise that you stay at the Bab Boujloud and enjoy the beautiful scenery but, if you're a woman, refrain from lingering in the lobby alone after dark.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just stay here - you don't need to brave the labyrinth of hostels and riads. For 100dirham each, we got an en-suite room, including a tv. It has a lovely double roof terrace, where you can sit, eat, take in the city (sometimes nice to take a break from being IN it, and just look at the nice traditional city!!)

Free wifi and breakfast included, although we couldn't get wifi in our room (saw some people sitting at the tables in the atrium using laptops, so must be ok there). Breakfast typical of Morocco, ladies who serve it very nice.

Bathrooms are wet rooms, and some rooms don't have ensuite, but there are showers and toilets on top floor (toilets on every floor), and they're not communal type affairs, just you.

Man on reception was LOVELY, although I don't know if he spoke much English (I used French), and booked taxis for us to the airport, so we didn't have to brave the gauntlet outside for it, and advised us of a good price, then agreed it with the taxi man. Let us borrow stationery and allowed us to leave bags in a cupboard after we'd checked out for hours, and even use the roof terrace to eat on (many hours after midday check out!!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joday_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I agree with the previous reviews that are positive. The 3 floors and terrace and roof are all done over recently, set around a central atrium with tables for using wifi. My room also had wifi, I believe you want one facing the atrium for good reception. The breakfast pancake-juice-coffee-bread-butter is plenty for me, the lady will bring it to your room also (but you can carry it as well). Location across from the Bab is perfect, noise not a problem, and the femmes de chambre are excellent and not intrusive. I hope the prices stay as low as they are. It's true the single rooms are small, but not as small as the picture on one of these posts make them look.

Room Tip: Wifi in the inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#70 of 98 in Fes
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#48 of 98 in Fes
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#72 of 98 in Fes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jnane Sbile
Hotel Jnane Sbile
#71 of 98 in Fes
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
2.1 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#85 of 98 in Fes
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bab Boujloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bab Boujloud

Property: Hotel Bab Boujloud
Address: 49, place ISCESCO Kasbat | Boujloud Fès Médina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bab Boujloud 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bab Boujloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing