We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, very friendly and helpful staff!”
Review of Riad Boustan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Boustan
Ranked #158 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, very friendly and helpful staff!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay in the overwhelmingly beautiful city of Fes! Mostafa and his staff are more than willing to start helping you out even before your arrival! We were immediately contacted and asked if we need help organising our airport/rail station transfer, if we need help with organising some tours, guides, etc. A much appreciated gesture which makes you feel very welcome!

The Riad is beautifully restored, the rooms are comfortable and the communal areas are very pleasant. The staff will serve you tea throughout the day and are always available for any assistance you may need. Location is in the south part of the Medina, and is difficult to find on your own for the first time, but the staff will come and greet you and you will be able to find your way back afterwards. It was a great place to start our tour of the Medina with the professional guide - highly recommended as the Medina is very big and it is very difficult to have any orientation walking in the labyrinth of narrow streets, not to mention ofcourse all the interesting facts and stories you will hear!

I whole-heartedly recommend this Riad for your stay in Fes, you will have a wonderful time in your home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This riad was a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of Fes; Cool, calm and very clean! The riad itself has been elegantly restored and our room was very comfortable. The owner and staff were all very hospitable and the breakfasts were plentiful!

Location-wise, the riad is within a short walking distance of the southern part of the medina, and taxis were easily available to explore elsewhere. The area was busy during the day but not really somewhere to stroll around in the evenings, with a limited choice of restaurants nearby.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLandMrR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A lovely riad, beautifully restored, in a pleasant neighbourhood close to place R'cif with fantastic welcoming and friendly staff. All of the food, service and care supplied by Mohammed and Issam during our stay was exceptional. The owner, Mostafa, has clearly worked very hard to restore this Riad to amazing condition. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Mostafa is a knowledgable, helpful, and wonderful host. We received a free upgrade to the beautiful Roumana room (Recommended) along with fantastic hospitality and a stream of good advice on how to best spend our time in Fes. Overall, a highly recommended place to stay that we shall certainly return to.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for the rooms other than the cheaper "Limona" they are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psh-overland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After Marrakech, we were a little anxious about Fes as the guide book told us how manic it could be, so much larger, more hustle and bustle etc. From the moment we arrived at the station though and saw Moustafa's big smile and heard his superb english we felt more relaxed. Nothing was too much bother and all the staff gave freely of their time and advice, well beyond what could reasonably be expected.
We had a room upgrade at no cost when a room was vacated, and both guides arranged (Ebrahim for walking the Medina and Youssef for a drive into the Mid Atlas) were perfect for us. Moustafa found us just the right person for each day and then helped us plan our next trip down to camel trekking in the desert too.
Mohammed and Issam were fabulous too.
The location was perfect for effortlessly finding your way to and from the Medina, Souks etc. but we were glad to have a guide to make the most of the day and get local inside information as well as cultural and spiritual insights as we went (including who you can take pictures of and who you can't). That way we managed to visit the Tanneries, Souks, Mederasa, Babs, lunch etc. in a day.
Moustafa has done a fantastic job in renovating and restoring the Riad; it is just lovely. Although done to 'Morrocan' timescales he resisted the temptation to do it all cheaply and quickly and it shows.
So, what are you waiting for? .... don't delay... a superb all round Riad to make your Fes visit special.
Just writing this I'm getting nostalgic and it was only a few weeks ago!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My sister and I traveled around Morocco and the hospitality experienced at this Riad from Mostafa and his staff stood out as one of our favorite memories. To begin, our bus was delayed by a couple of hours arriving in Fez so Mostafa contacted the bus driver to find out what the delay was and had a taxi waiting when we arrived. This was such a surprise since we ended up arriving at night. When the taxi arrived outside the entrance to the medina, Mostafa was waiting for us on the street and walked us back to the Riad. After the day we'd had leading up to this moment, I almost hugged him. Mostafa's hospitality continued from there over the next couple of days making our stay here most enjoyable. He offered up useful tidbits of advice for traveling around Fez and the rest of Morocco with genuine concern.

The Riad itself is both beautiful and peaceful. It is in a very convenient location with easy access to the center of the medina and to the main street to get taxis to new city. As indicated by some of the other reviewers, we too received a free upgrade to a larger room. The room was spacious, there was hot water (which isn't always common around Morocco), and the breakfast was excellent! We utilized Mostafa to arrange a walking tour of the Medina. Although the Riad is not far from the center of the medina, I would highly recommend hiring a guide to navigate the streets and to learn about much of the city's history.

I am sure there are many suitable places to stay in Fez but the hospitality at Riad Bouston makes it one of a kind. Over the following two weeks of travel around the country, my sister and I constantly compared our experiences to this Riad - nothing came close!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you want to see Fez, we strongly recommended Riad Boustan - such a nice, atmospheric and peaceful place with whole team - Mostafa, Issam and Mohammed! Great place for a family, quite secure. When we arrived there Issam welcomed us first with a nice refreshment - great Moroccan mint tea. I probably drunk it at least twice a day :) We started our holiday a bit hectic- didn't arrange a taxi beforehand and took one just outside the airport and it was a big mistake! If you don't want to be hassled, please contact Mostafa beforehand for a taxi, price is reasonable and we did it on our return- it was the most comfortable taxi we got in Fez. Mostafa is a lovely person, gave us great tips and with his help we had a great time there! Also strongly recommend couscous - it was yummy!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ydholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a great stay in the Riad and Mostafa was fabulous and so helpful with suggestions and help for our first trip to Fes. He organised a driver to take us to Meknes for the day as well as a guide to show us around the Medina. He even sent us off with a map and excellent directions when we decided to brave it on our own! We were in the Palmerie suite and the room was beautiful. The staff were so attentive and friendly. A lovely breakfast of delicious chocolate croissants and bread were ready for us when we got up in the morning and dinner is available if you want to eat there as well. Also delicious!

I would love to stay here again and explore more of Fes!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#53 of 99 in Fes
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Boustan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Boustan

Property: Riad Boustan
Address: 34 Arsat Chami, Bourajouea, Bab Jdid | R'cif Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Boustan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has a large courtyard garden with fountain surrounded by spacious rooms; elaborately decorated with mosaic tiles (zellij), delicately carved plasterwork, handpainted cedarwood and stained glass. There are seven suites and rooms, all with bathrooms, air conditioning and heating. Guests are served a delicious Moroccan breakfast and refreshments throughout the day. Lunch, packed lunches and dinner are all available. Large groups may rent the whole house, sleeping 19. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Boustan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing