We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad al akhawaine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad al akhawaine
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Loved every minute of our stay in Fes. The Riad was great, Fes is amazing. One great plus is the Riads location. You can't beat it. Staff friendly. Large room, nice and clean, comfy bed. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Netting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    69
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
104
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

It is a wonderful riad. Near of the main gate ( Boujloud). We spent a nice weak with a nice and big breakfast. I always chose it for my vacation in Fes. The rooms are large and clean with private bathroom and beautiful architecture. The service is very good and all the staff are helpful. They help us to find a good and knowledgeable guide ( Fouad): +212676229461).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

When we booked the Riad in Fez, the manager immediately sent me a welcoming e-mail. That was a nice touch and he also warned us about tourist traps and faux guide. He arranged a reasonable car to take us up to his riad from the station. They served mint tea to welcome us. They were very kind to bring us a bag of ice to cool my husband’s inflamed knee. Fortunately our room was on the ground floor, and it was a great room. When we open the door to the open area, it feels like it is our own living room: bright, airy, and very Moroccan. The room was a bit dark, but it had a bathtub! The riad provided a shampoo and soap. The soap has a citrus flagrant and the shampoo was very good quality. I looked for it to buy but couldn’t find one. Mr. Tahri, will you tell me where I can find the shampoo?
We were warned not to eat street food, although they smell very appetizing. We ended up two meals at the riad. Once we requested our dinner, a young man was sent to buy all the necessary groceries at the market and two hour later, the dinner was served. Lamb Tagine for the first night and chicken couscous for the second night. It came with Moroccan salad (4 dishes of cooked eggplants, peppers, beets, and peas), fresh fruit as a dessert, and a bottle of still water and a bottle of soda water. They charged us 200 MAD ($24) per person, but we couldn’t finish them all, although it tastes delicious. Mr. Tahri was very kind and paid every attention to the guests’ needs. We originally planned to take a train to Fez to Marrakech. It will be a 6-hour train ride. Since my husband happened to have a knee problem in Morocco, he kindly arranged a car service for us to Marrakech. It took still 5 hours, but the driver was very kind & skilled and his Mercedes Benz gave us a comfortable 5-hour ride. Riad Al Akhawaine is conveniently located in Medina and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff were amazing and were always on hand to assist - in every language! We had a wonderful experience with the guides they recommended to help us explore this sensational city and were able to adapt to our changing plans - thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitry-sur-Seine, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I travelled their with my wife and it was our first time in Morocco and more especially in Fes.
We were lost at the entrance of the Medina and we called the Riad and Mohamed came to pick us up. The staff is very friendly and very helpful especially Mohamed who shared lot of information with us and very good addresses. Thank u again Mohamed it was a really pleasure to meet u. The room was more like a suit. I recommand this Riad without any doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for restaurant address ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno94400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

A very good Riad well located in the medina and near the Blue Gate.
Accommodation and breakfast good value and staff very helpful.
Roof deck for viewing and relaxing could be improved so guest can appreciate better.
The Riad is fairly well maintained and if any issues arise they are quickly addressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed at the riad alakhawaine for four nights and have been happy with the help and service of the staff , there was plenty of hot water everyday for the showers, the breakfast was filling ad plenty of coffee and tea.
The riad was close and handy to the blue gate and plenty of restaunts nearby .
All anl happy enough

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dmana
Riad Dar Dmana
#55 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#53 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Bleue
La Maison Bleue
#59 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#10 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Norma
Riad Norma
#42 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad al akhawaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad al akhawaine

Property: Riad al akhawaine
Address: 50 Derb Bni Aich Talaa Sghira Grande Por | Grande porte Bab Boujloud, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Fes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad al akhawaine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional patio in riad in fez al akhawaine is surrounded by a fountain, a Moroccan lounge and a host table where you can savor a mint tea with its Moroccan pastry.You can enjoy the beauty of the patio as much as you desire, since it is covered and heated on winter, and air-conditioned on summer.During you stay at Riad Al Akhwaine in Fez, you will discover the oriental lifestyle that you always dreamed about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad al akhawaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Akhawaine Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing