We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Dar Sienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Sienna
Ranked #17 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner at the end of September 2010. On first impressions the dar looked lovely - it has been refurbished in a traditional style. We soon realised that the workmanship at the property needs some TLC already, the door fixings are all loose so we constantly got stuck in the bedroom or bathroom, we only had hot water for two showers during our stay, the rest of the time it was cold.The bathroom looked nice but smelt strongly of drains and the water stopped all together one morning! The location,although deep in the medina, is down a small dark alley which lots of youths "hang about" in, which was a bit uncomfortable at night. The alley was also quite dirty, and i think this should be cleared /cleaned to make Dar Sienna more welcoming. The owner (who lives in England) sent us through lots of info before our stay which was very useful and a nice touch, but once we arrived we struggled to communicate with the staff, all whom are non-resident. The breakfast was unispired and lack lustre. It is not all negative - these are actually points that could be easily addresed by the owner. I think Dar Sienna has great potential but needs a bit more attention to the details mentioned above. We were fortunate to stay in two Dars during our time in Fes. I haave to be honest, the other dar excelled in all the areas i have mentioned above, and the difference it made to our stay was immense. Hopefully the ownerof Dar Sienna will take on board these comments in good faith, and really maximise the potential of this little dar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetSamantha_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darsienna, Owner at Dar Sienna, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
25 December 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you for reviewing your stay in October 2010. Although we were disappointed that your stay was not to the standard we had been aiming for, your review was very constructive and helpful in alerting me to some teething problems.

As a direct and immediate response to your suggestions, I employed an English and French speaking House Manager and a superb Housekeeper/cook who prepares the delicious Moroccan breakfasts we are now known for!
We likewise replaced the boilerway back in January 2011 and had the water-pressure increased with positive results. We are, by the wa,y one of only 3 houses in the derb to have running water/plumbing. Everyone else treks to the local fountain to fetch water for all household use. It is well to bear in mind that we are in a 1200 year old car -free city (medina)...There may be an occasional outage of water or electricity in the medina ....
We had the light in the derb repaired and installed an extra light for Dar Sienna's porch as well;
we now also regularly whitewash the derb (alley) and have installed the one and ONLY garbage can in the medina! We also clean the derb daily, but by the end of the day of course it becomes dusty and messy again. I am afraid nobody is litter-conscious, despite my best efforts.

Out of sensitivity and respect for my neighbours it has never been my intention to "gentrify" our area. The medina has more than 9,000 alleys, and many guesthouses are located in a "small dark alley"....however, the men/ youths in the alley are all our neighbours... they like to play cards and smoke and pass the time together... it may seem intimidating, but rest assured, as stated in the cultural information you were sent, a simple "Bonsoir" goes a long way, and our guests are occasionally helped if they struggle with the entrance key.

Last year we hosted a thank you party for our neighbours (only wives and children)...a sheep was sacrificed to Moulay Idriss, couscous prepared for the mosque, musicians invited, my closest neighbour lent us her house, as Dar Sienna is too small (this is customary) and we partied, sans alcohol of course till 6.30am!!!

Well over a year has passed since you stayed, and we continue to make every effort to improve on and maintain the high standards we have achieved in the interim. With sincerest thanks for your constructive review.
Sonhild Grey
Owner: Dar Sienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    80
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
219
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The guesthouse itself was beautiful, clean and would be great for couples. Breakfast is simple and nice and will easily fill you up. We did have trouble because nobody spoke English at the hostel, but after emailing the owner with our feedback, she has taken this on board and is endevouring to find an English speaking housekeeping to assist guests. The recommended restuarant was delicious and we consider it not only to be the best, but the cheapest Moroccan food so far!

Be prepared to be woken early for the Call to Prayer, and we suggest you take any help offered to have your bags cartered to the guesthouse as it is hard to find at first and is deep in the medina. Tip the bag handler around 50dirham as he carrys the bags up the tiny/steep staircases.

We loved the rooftop terrace, amazing photo opportunities at sundown.. however make sure to bring your own map of Fez and do your research of the Medina before you leave home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank hollie_janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This small Riad is the perfect place to stay if you want to truly immerse yourself into the Medina of Fez. The House is wonderfully restored using all traditional methods and crafts, to a standard you would no longer get in Europe, because the skills would be much too exclusive and expensive for this size of property. This house is an oasis of tranquility in the center of the most exciting Medina in North Africa. I would recommend anybody with a sense of adventure, to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Rooms are great decorated and comfortable and all the guesthouse is just amazing.
Colors and materials and the details -great style!
You can enjoy the most beautifull view in Fez from the terace of the hostel, - lay down on the carpet and drink a mint tea.
Staff was really friendly and wellcoming.
Place is in the heart of Medina, respect it and you will really love it!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 216 in Fes
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 216 in Fes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sienna

Property: Dar Sienna
Address: 6 Derb Eloued, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sienna is a cosy guesthouse, located in the heart of the car-free Fez medina. ALSO AVAILABLE TO RENT THE WHOLE HOUSE, SLEEPS 2-6 PERSONS. Free breakfast and high-speed wifi and use of kitchen.Golf course and swimming pool nearby. Excursions to Sefrou, Meknes, Volubilis arranged. Cookery and breadbaking lessons at Cafe Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Sienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Sienna Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing