We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Authentic Central place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Sienna

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dar Sienna
Ranked #19 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Central place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights - what a fantastic location- views 360 - authentic place to stay -clean room with a view! Comfy bed and bedding! Breakfast was included- and grand breakfast it was - Best we have every had in Morocco! Hosts were very informative and friendly- we'd stay here again and highly recommend to others as place to stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    80
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
211
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to stay. Fantastic decor and a truly Moroccan feel. Staff could not have done more to look after me and help me make the most of my experience in fez. Totally stunning views from the roof terraces, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieH660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of four including two teenagers spent 8 nights at Dar Sienna. We had the place to ourself which was great. The staff are great. Ahmed goes out of his way to make sure you have the necessities and to suggest activities - maps, henna decorating, water, fresh fruit. Sabah makes a gorgeous breakfast daily and keeps the place clean. Wifi worked perfectly all over the house. There are three decks which help with coping with the crowdedness characteristic of the medina itself. The top deck has a better view than anywhere in the Medina. The second deck has a great view of Moulay Idriss. The third is covered so if it rains or is too sunny, is perfect for writing those postcards home. Ahmed will meet you at the Medina gates and also arrange any tours, taxi's etc. It was a cold week in March but we were warm with the heaters in each room. Our favourite pastime was watching the sunset from the top deck listening to the call to prayer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davismeghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I didnt expected as much as we received in Dar Sienna... First they pick u up at the station and take u to the hostel.... Its a charming and quite confortable small building with just a few rooms, complete kitchen and great dorms!!! Its very well located in the middle of the Medina of Fes, on the top floor they have a terrace with awesome view of the hole religious and tourist area!!! The personal is great!!! Always helping and being kind!!! I had a nice time in Fes... Really traditional of the real morocco style!!! Additionally, they helped us with nice places to visit, map and advices!!!! Nice talk during the tastefull breakfast!!!!! AHMED is the person we deal all the time... Talking, asking help, learning and all other necessary!!!
The rooms are very confortable and cozy!!!!! About the cleaning... Perfect too!!!
REALLY RECOMEND IT!!!

Hope u enjoy!!!!!

Luiz Andrade

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My 3 night stay at Dar Siennain Riad in the Fes Medina was fabulous. The staff was absolutely wonderful; they were very friendly, helpful and attentive to my needs and comfort. My room was comfortable and clean, plus the location was great, it was unbeatable. Everything was well organized. Sonhild with was very quick to respond to all of my emails and questions. Plus Ahmed, the house manager meet me at a common area on the edge of the medina and walked me to the Riad. Very helpful. He also provided me a great overview of the Medina, where to go and eat, and great overall summary of what sites to see. I had no problems communicating in English with the staff. The internet was reliable and good. Staying in the Medina was perfect. I was able to easily get around and see many of the sites. When I decided to go outside of the Medina for sightseeing, I was able to walk to the edge of the Medina in a matter of a few minutes and catch a taxi to take me wherever I wanted to go. I would highly recommend staying at the Dar Siennain Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A wonderful house right in the heart of Fez medina. It's difficult to imagine a better location and offers the chance to really experience life in the Medina close up.

Dar Sienna is located down a tiny street just meters away from Moulay Idriss mosque, and whilst the door of the house is very unassuming, as soon as you enter you are immediately transported from the hussle and bustle of the medina to a tranquil and relaxed residence.

One of the highlights has to be the roof terrace which offers a great vantage point over the city and is easily one of the best terraces in the area (and offers even better views than the wood museum terrace located near by).

A must is going up during the call to prayer, especially the first one of the day just before sun rise, which has to be heard to be believed.

We traveled with two young children (3 and 6 years old), and experienced no problem with the staircases, even though they are narrow and steep. They loved the house as much as we did, and we would certainly return without hesitation.

As mentioned in other reviews, this time of year can be cold at night, and the portable radiators were a welcome addition to an otherwise unheated house. There are plenty of blankets available though, and a hot shower is not very far away if you find yourself visiting Fez at this time of year.

A review of the house is certainly not complete without mentioning two very helpful and genuine people. The wonderful Sabah, who prepared the very good breakfast every morning and did an excellent job in looking after us. Ahmed, the house manager, provided a very warm welcome, was always on hand if you needed any help, and made you feel at home right away.

So all in all a highly recommended place to stay, offering the intensity of the medina right on your door step and a welcome sanctuary from which to escape it after a long day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed five nights at Dar Sienna and had it exclusively to ourselves, which was lovely. The staff in Morocco were lovely. Ahmed went out of his way to ensure we were all happy and Sabah was very attentive. Unfortunately our first night saw rain and we awoke to a very wet living area, which stayed that way for the next two days. The decor is very shabby chic but lacked the comforts we had come to expect from other riads. The third floor smelt of mould and the toilet and shower were ridiculously small. The location is great being right in the heart of the medina. Dar Sienna is in need of some attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darsienna, Propriétaire at Dar Sienna, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are delighted to hear you found renting Dar Sienna to be great value, thought the location was great and that the staff were very helpful.
I must point out the difference between a Dar and a Riad: Dar means "house" and a Riad is a house with a central garden, and therefore large. Dar Sienna is a cosy, little family house in the medina, and is not advertised as a riad, which is a much grander structure and will have many rooms.
Indeed it rained a lot during your stay. I am sorry we were unable to reseal the courtyard cover whilst it was still raining.
We have had to make very creative use of limited space during our restoration of this 300 year old house, which previously had no running water and no electricity, let alone any bathrooms at all. Dar Sienna has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, 2 of which are very small and one which is huge.
As shown in other reviews, the vast majority of our guests love the understated chic and homely charm of our restoration, which has even been likened to a boutique hotel. The facilities at your disposa,l which you found so lacking, include: fabulous fully equipped designer kitchen, washing machine, high-speed wifi, three terraces, with a 360 degree view over the ancient medina, funky furniture and gorgeous carpets made by local craftsmen. I am saddened that you were unable to appreciate this traditional Moroccan home.
Sonhild Grey: Owner DAR SIENNA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#15 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#34 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#33 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sienna

Property: Dar Sienna
Address: 6 Derb Eloued, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sienna is a cosy guesthouse, located in the heart of the car-free Fez medina. ALSO AVAILABLE TO RENT THE WHOLE HOUSE, SLEEPS 2-6 PERSONS. Free breakfast and high-speed wifi and use of kitchen.Golf course and swimming pool nearby. Excursions to Sefrou, Meknes, Volubilis arranged. Cookery and breadbaking lessons at Cafe Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dar Sienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Sienna Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing