We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical nights in Fez”
Review of Dar Sienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Sienna
Ranked #17 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical nights in Fez”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We really hit it off from the start with Dar Sienna, I couldn´t imagine a better place to stay in Fez. Located right at the heart of the ancient medina, impossible to find except with the help of local staff (which was eager to help us out), the hotel has been recently decorated and really feels like home. It´s located right next to Moulay Idriss mosque, so it´s not so "unfindable", and yet it has the "lostable" setting that is essential to enjoy the medina. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff that provided lots of tips and directions, and probably the best breakfast in town, overlooking the mountains surrounding the medina. Still, very cozy and heartwarming. Great spot!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oscavaleiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    80
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
219
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Arriving in the small streets of the Medina was already pretty impressive, but being welcomed in Dar Sienna was even more surprising! The friendly Ahmed and Sayeed helped us with our luggage but more important, they showed us the beautiful rooftop view, lovely rooms and tasty mint tea. We've never felt so welcome on a trip, and anything you ask or need, the staff will help you. They help you finding your way in the zigzag alleys of Fez and sweet Sabah prepares a breakfast, unbelieveble!

Concluding.. great rooms, clean and comfy. With the oriental style rooms and bathrooms, a laptop, kitchen (minttea!) but the identity of Dar Sienna lies within the staff, you feel at home, safe, an welcomed thanks to these guys!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A very nice place at the heart of the medina. The staff helped orientate in the medina center (which would have otherwise been a disaster) and have provided for a very good breakfast. All in all, a very clean, friendly and authentic place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

What a great little place to stay in the medina in Fes. My girlfriend and I couldn't be more warmed by the Dar manager.

Other highlights:
-AMAZING tip sheet provided by the proprietor before the stay
-Great touches
-Huge breakfast, you won't go hungry!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinaki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our short stay at Dar Sienna. Ahmed and the team were so nice and accomodating that they made us feel so at home we hardly even left the beautiful place..
Highly recommend it and will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_jer168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cachan, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Nous sommes venus en famille à Dar Sienna. La maison est très belle et au coeur de la médina. Elle est décorée avec beaucoup de goût, des meubles anciens, de très joilis carrelages anciens, et elle est bien confortable et très propre. Elle est aussi très calme et lumineuse car toutes les chambres ont des fenêtres sur l'extérieur et l'environnement est calme. Nous nous sentions comme chez nous ! Les petits déjeuners sur la terrasse au soleil de décembre étaient excellents avec plein de délicieuses surprises faites maison. Depuis les terrasses, les points de vue sont magnifiques. Nos enfants ont aussi adoré le lieu et ont été ravis de découvrir un ordinateur avec accès internet ! Sur place, Ahmed, Sabah et Sayeed ont été adorables et aux petits soins et du début à la fin, la communication avec la propriétaire était excellente. Les conseils donnés par toute l'équipe étaient très bons. Bref, que du bonheur ! Une excellente adresse !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Dar Sienna is a jewel within the medina. I travelled with one other friend, and we arrived quite late, yet it was no problem. Our host arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and we were met by another hotel staff member in the car park who led us through the medina to the Dar. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and offered the best mint tea that I had during my whole stay in Morocco. The room was v comfy with a good quilt, pillows, and a heater for when the temperature dropped. They also provide wifi and access to a laptop computer for guests.

The Dar itself has been beautifully restored, with a kitchen to cook your own meals, a common area for sitting in and a bathroom with hot running shower.  The views offered from the roof terrace are incredible, and we spent much time up there taking it all in, especially at dusk.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough, the three staff employed by the hotel are so friendly and really did go out of their way to accommodate us. Breakfast was always freshly prepared once we awoke, and the staff would carry it up to the rooftop for us, with freshly squeezed orange juice and hot mint tea. My friend suffered from a bad case of food poisoning from a restaurant in the medina, and the staff collected water for us, as well as medicine, and prepared a late breakfast for him in the afternoon once he was ready to eat. It really felt like home, and was an excellent place to relax when the medina became a bit overwhelming. 

Our host had excellent knowledge of what to see and do within the medina. Each day he would sit with us and suggest routes that we could take, which he would draw on a map of the medina. This knowledge really was invaluable, and some friends we met in Fez stayed elsewhere and had a lot less knowledge of the medina and how to get around. It was especially useful for learning how to use some basic Arabic phrases, being wary of false guides, and getting an idea of the correct prices for goods on sale in the souks.

I will always consider this place, and recommend it to friends who plan to go to Fez! Hopefully I'll get to go back one day!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vc753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darsienna, Propriétaire at Dar Sienna, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Jewel of the Medina! What a perfectly delightful description. Thank you so much
for your encouraging review.
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay at Dar Sienna and
appreciated our kind staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 216 in Fes
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 216 in Fes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sienna

Property: Dar Sienna
Address: 6 Derb Eloued, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sienna is a cosy guesthouse, located in the heart of the car-free Fez medina. ALSO AVAILABLE TO RENT THE WHOLE HOUSE, SLEEPS 2-6 PERSONS. Free breakfast and high-speed wifi and use of kitchen.Golf course and swimming pool nearby. Excursions to Sefrou, Meknes, Volubilis arranged. Cookery and breadbaking lessons at Cafe Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Sienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Sienna Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing