We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Riad in a fantastic locale”
Review of Riad Layalina Fez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Layalina Fez
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great location with a convenient parking lot less than 100 steps away from the front door. There is no need to pay someone to carry your luggage through the maze that is Fes. The blue gate is also only a 5 minute walk. The management on duty did not speak a lot of English. My sister-in-law spoke the language so that helped us get by. We had a private room and bathroom, but they were not connected. This was a slight inconvenience. Breakfast was traditional. There is a pool, but we did not use it. The architecture is very pretty. Upon checking out they let us keep all of our bags in one room until 1:30 which was very convenient for our morning tour of Fes and lunch at Cafe clock.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miles28270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 563 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Walking into the riad was breathtaking. I arrived early and was promptly greeted with mint tea and pastries. The rooms are more than comfortable, the food was delicious and the location was perfect because it's on the edge of the medina. Jerome and his staff took care of all of our needs and recommended a guide who met our needs perfectly. I highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Beautifully restored riad. Very helpful and nice owner. Professional and kind staff. Very clean and well located - worth to recommend! It has convinient parking which is not usual for acommodation in medina.

Room Tip: it is better to ask about room with bathrom inside the room. Our had bathroom at the corridor and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAja1012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent one night here in March. It was wonderful. Greeted with a traditional meal on arrival. Property was a calm break from Fez and was picturesque and peaceful. Everyone was extremely attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place really has it all -
Location:
Perfect, it really was. It is on the edge of the medina so taxis can drive you pretty much to the front door (that said, you'll need to have your eyes peeled to find the door itself as the signs are difficult to find). There is an entrance to the medina just across the car park which puts you on to one of the main streets of this crazy twisting maze. The final contributing factor to this riad's perfect location isits proximity to the tombs on the northern hills of the medina, which aside from being fascinating in themselves, offer superb panoramic views of all of Fes El Bali. This looks like more of a hike than it actually is. You'll be up there in 15 mins and its well worth it.
Staff :
The owner, Jerome, is great. Friendly, knowledgeable, and with excellent English, he will be a massive help in all your trips endeavours. The other staff are also great, but have more limited English.
Venue:
The riad itself is stunning. The courtyard screams of class and is a place I just wanted to hang out all the time. It's quiet too and a lovely place to wind down after the bustle of the medina. The rooms were traditionally furnished to a very high standard. There is also a rooftop terrace with great views which offers a good place to catch some rays.
Food:
Upon arrival you'll be treated to a simple hearty egg, cheese and tomato tagine accompanied by some infamous mint tea. Breakfast will consist of a generous helping of Moroccan breads, omelette, jams and honey, and a croissant or two. Jerome has the best recommendations on where to eat out.
Little niggles:
Two problems we encountered on our stay were not because of the hotel itself so have not contributed to the rating.
1. On our final night we were moved to the riad next door because layalina had some kind of double booking. Jerome was out of the country at this point and the Moroccan staff didn't have enough English to explain to us why we'd been moved. It didn't really bother us though as the riad next door (Riad Jean Paul) was nice enough.
2. The taxi driver driving us to the airport, who had been recommended by Jerome for his honesty and reliability, overcharged us by 50 Durhams. He said he had no change so took my last 200D - yea a taxi driver without change, we've all heard that one before.
If you're still reading at this point - wow you must be even more thorough than me - but rest assured, your thorough self will thoroughly enjoy your stay at Riad Layalina

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear guests,

It was a great pleasure meeting you. Many thanks for your very kind review.
Regarding the fact that you had to change riad for the last night, please kindly control your voucher as you had booked until Fri, Mar 14, checking out on saturday. You obviously thought that you had booked one more night at the riad :-( As we had an arrival on saturday we had to arrange this issue for you. Sorry not to have been able to explain that to you as I had to leave the same day. Sorry either that the explanations were not so clear.

Regarding the airport transfer, I do deeply apologize as this is absolutely unacceptable. I will solve this issue so this never ever happens again. I will ask you by separate mail your bank details to send you a settlement of 200 DH in order to refund the totality of the fare.

I do wish you all the best to you both and will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Warm smiles
Jérôme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am Moroccan and I had the difficult task of recommending a Riad to a friend of mine from the USA. I came a cross Riad Layalina by coincidence, and what a great experience it was. The owner was extremely helpful and professional. My friend had a fabulous time and was mesmerized by her stay at Riad Layalina. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to go to in Fes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Riad is conveniently located - close to a road for taxis and close to the medina in Fes. It's pretty easy to find (the name is in stone above the door). It was beautiful and clam inside. The service was very friendly and of high quality, and the rooms were well furnished and very comfortable. If you're looking for a nice base to explore Fes - then this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layalina Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina Fez

Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Aïn Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $66 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina Fez 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is ideally located in the medina of Fes, 50 metres from the main street, nearby Bab Boujloud the famous “blue gate”. Access is very easy, with secure parking at the foot of the riad. Completely renovated in 2010, the ryad has very high quality traditional decorations. Quiet and peaceful, the hotel benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the traditional Moroccan courtyard, by the swimming pool, or on the four-level, with it’s stunning 360° view over all Fes medina. Layalina guest house is comprised of 5 bedrooms & 2 suites. All rooms are in tadelakt, have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi (high speed guaranteed in the entire riad). Hearty breakfast is included. When you are at the Riad, attentive staff will ensure your comfort and well-being. A restaurant and cook are at your disposal to simmer up for you the best local specialities or dishes of your choice. The true art of living in Moroccan style, and this haven of peace in the heart of the Fez Medina, will ensure you have an unforgettable stay in our guest house Riad Fes Layalina. Riad Layalina offers two accommodation options : B&B as a guest house or riad holiday rental as private, ideal for families, friends or group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Layalina Fez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing