We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff”
Review of Dar Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Fes Medina
Ranked #3 of 226 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a very pleasant stay at Dar Fes Medina this past summer. The staff were extremely attentive, helping us to find "American Style" food when our digestive tracts could not tolerate anything else, and setting up a full day with a wonderful official guide at a very reasonable price. The location is also great! Right near the souks so you can immerse yourself in the life of Fes but close to one of the gates so it is easy to find your way back if you are lost. The riad itself was beautiful: very sunny and overall well-maintained. We will definitely return if we find ourselves in Fes again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darfesmedina, Owner at Dar Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review which we appreciate a lot . We were happy to receive you at Dar Fes Medina and we spent nice time with you. Don't hesitate to come back , you are best welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 633 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friend and I happened upon Dar Fes Medina following a short description in Lonely Planet and the fact that it is situated right next to one of the gates to ancient medina of Fez. Situated in a quiet neighborhood with only 5 minutes away from the heart of the medina, the dar offered us an oasis from the everyday chaos. Upon arrival, owner Mohamed gave us a brief history of this young dar of 5 years but with exquisit and care brush of antiquity in each corner. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The downstairs area is open for relaxing for conversation between friends over some tea or food. Mohamed invited us to mint tea and cookies, told us about the recent of the Moroccan king to Fez. The dar's friendly staff invited me to snack with them in the kitchen. Had we more time in Fez I would have loved to eat the dinner that they make. I felt right at home. Later on, Mohamed helped to arrange for a short half day tour with the tourism office and introduced us to a family run restaurant. It took away much of the anxiety of visiting this complex city that was built to confuse attackers and tourists alike. I have no doubt that I will be staying at Dar Fez Medina in my next visit to Fez and so should you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya_Hao_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darfesmedina, Owner at Dar Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks a lot for your lovely review. Mohamed and the staff do their best to make their visitors feel at home and spend excellent as well as unforgetable time with us. We deeply hope to receive you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

beautiful riad. the best of both new (facilities, plumbing, smoke detectors ) and old (details and decor) mixed perfectly. staff super friendly and accommodating. when we were there it was very cold and rainy - each room has individual heaters that kept rooms warm and toasty. in house kitchen - and the meals were all superb. however - if you need a break from traditional food - they ordered the kids in a pizza and it was delicious.

i don't believe there was a pool (hence the low rating) rating should be N/A.

Room Tip: i noticed a few comments about the daily prayers being loud here. please don't let that discoura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellykennedystrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darfesmedina, Propriétaire at Dar Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review , Dar Fes Medina is your second house and we hope to welcome you again in some day . We also hope that you appreciate our services .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful property with friendly staff. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was enjoyable and we were offered mint tea and cookies each afternoon when we returned. We had dinner there one night, and it was good with large amounts of food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neildean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The people at Dar fes Medina welcomed us and made us feel as family. They were always ready to accommodate to our needs in a very friendly, hospitable manner. The owner, Mohammed, sat with us and talked with us, which managers do not normally do.

You can get Moroccan tea with cookies at anytime, which was delicious and great. The breakfast was filling and tasty.

The room itself was nice and beautiful. The location is good, with the medina close by. Also, the taxis can find it easily.

P.S. Thanks to Mohammed and his staff for taking care of us and making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbadr_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed one night at Dar Fes Medina and plan to go back the next time we visit Fes. The owner, Mohammed, met us in town (at the McDonalds) and escorted us into the medina to the house. The outside of the building does not reflect the very detailed, decorated, clean, and accommodating environment on the inside. With historic artifacts, antiques, and mosaics, it was as much a museum as a hotel. The staff was very friendly. Upon entering, we were welcomed with tea and cookies and after settling in, the owner walked us to a nice place for lunch which is where we met our tour guide, Hakim, personally selected by Mohammed for our family (English and Arabic speakers). If you want an extraordinary guide who grew up in the medina, and is highly educated about the history and cultire, ask for Hakim. He spoke impeccable English, Arabic, French, and even some Hebrew. After a 3-4 tour, Hakim brought us back to the hotel. The smells from the kitchen foreshadowed the incredible dinner that awaited us after freshening up from the rigorous walk through the medina. Our group assembled for dinner and enjoyed multiple plates of salads, vegetables, couscous, fruit and desserts - all wonderfully prepared. Breakfast the next morning was also delicious.

We highly recommend Dar Fes Medina.

Room Tip: If it is cool, start the wall heater early as it takes awhile for the room to warm up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darfesmedina, Manager at Dar Fes Medina, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Welcome to Dar Fes Medina and thank you for your review . Dar Fes Medina is your second house and you are welcome at any time. We hope that everyone appreciates our services .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This riad was simply amazingly beautiful. It was also immaculate. The staff were very kind and hospitable. We went in December, when it can get a little cold at night in Fes. but the riad had more than adequate heating. Also, the breakfasts that the riad served were delicious! Definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 101 in Fes
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 101 in Fes
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mazar
Riad Mazar
#9 of 226 in Fes
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#1 of 226 in Fes
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fes Medina

Address: Mokri | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fes Medina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fez Medina is jewel at the heart of the ancient Medina of Fez is situated in Ziat, a traditional Moroccan house offers ten beautifully appointed rooms which blend the old and the new in a tasteful manner. Incorporated into the traditional architecture, with its carved plaster, cedar woodwork and zellij tiles, are quiet air conditioning, television and satellite programs, as well as free wifi to keep you connected during your stay. Each of the ten rooms has the latest in medically designed beds and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fes Medina Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing