We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of Dar Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Fes Medina
Ranked #4 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My three friends and I spent two days at this charming Riad. We were greeted with mint tea and cookies and told by the owner, Mohammad, to treat this like our home. He arranged an awesome guide (Hakim) for a tour of the Old Medina. The desk clerk had to run out to get change and he brought me back a Diet Coke - it doesn't get better than that. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. The decor was amazing and very Moroccan. It's in a quiet part of the medina, but that only adds to the charm. I'll be sending all of my friends here in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_DaniL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 628 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staying at Dar Fes Medina was really a pleasure. So much, that when we realized the Medina would be closed for the holiday, we did not mind staying a the hotel, drinking a tea. The services were excelente. Although they do not serve dinner at the hotel, when we asked for something simple, given it was late to go outside, they improvised a great meal. Mohammed , the owner is the best host. With a great sense of humor, make sure you feel at home, give the best recommendations. He even drove us to a family restaurant where we had the best pastilla and cuzcuz. Excellent environment, neat rooms and inside the medina.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMP2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really nice place to be: the room are very well looking, good mix between traditionnal and modern style. The people of Dar Fes Medina are very kind, giving very advice for place to visit, place where to eat and are helpful by giving good advice for your trip if you need. If you want to be quiet, they can see that too! The breakfast are a really good start in your day...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philboubou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

our stay here was just perfect, Mohammed made sure all our needs were met, he helped us with a guide (Hakim) to navigate the medina, and then arranged a car with a driver so we could do a couple day trips to different locations (meknes, voulubilis highly recommended) our driver, Munir was very patient and kind, specially to our 7 yr old son, they became fast friends!.. the rooms are quite comfortable, and beautiful... breakfast delicious, location is close to many attractions, but what really makes this Dar special is the kindness of Mohammed , he even shared with us his knowledge and expertise of fine crafts, carpet and tiles... now we feel we have friends in Fes ....certainly this is a place we will comeback to, and will recommend to anyone visiting... (francisco, Gabriela and Jose Antonio)

Room Tip: all rooms are equally fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielaZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank to Mohammed, Sameer ,Ashma and the rest of the team at Dar fes Medina for a lovely stay.
Beautifully decorated, delicious breakfast and the best smiles in Morocco.
Special thank you to Sameer for being so helpful, specially on our last day at the Riad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Staying with Dar Fes Medina was a pleasure. The dar ws beautiful especially the water fountain in the courtyard. The rooms were clean and pretty as well. The staff was very welcoming and hospitable making sure that our stay was comfortable. The breakfast was good esp. The freshly squeezed orange juice. The dar also offered unlimited moroccan tea and pastries which was not common with the other riads we stayed in. We would definitely stay again and recommend to fellow travellers. The riad is 10 minute walk from the blue gate and near the action of the medina.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinayinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was an excellent place to stay in Fes. We were close to all of the sights but not right in the center of the old medina which, (with its 10,000 tiny streets) can be a difficult place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had the greatest breakfasts in Morocco here. Excellent mint tea, which is provided whenever you would like it. The rooms are beautifully decorated and nicely sized. There is a lovely terrace for guests to sit on. Some people may find it difficult to stay near a mosque because of the call to prayer early in the morning, but this is Morocco, and there are so many mosques around the city. It is almost impossible to avoid hearing a call to prayer if you want to visit this lovely city.

Since Fes is a bustling shopping town and shopkeepers are going to try to sell all kinds of things to you. It was a nice relief to be able to come back to a quiet guesthouse and receive advice about what good deals are and where to go to find what you want. This is a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mazar
Riad Mazar
#11 of 223 in Fes
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#1 of 223 in Fes
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#8 of 223 in Fes
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Faracha Fes
Dar Faracha Fes
#3 of 223 in Fes
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fes Medina

Address: Mokri | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fes Medina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fez Medina is jewel at the heart of the ancient Medina of Fez is situated in Ziat, a traditional Moroccan house offers ten beautifully appointed rooms which blend the old and the new in a tasteful manner. Incorporated into the traditional architecture, with its carved plaster, cedar woodwork and zellij tiles, are quiet air conditioning, television and satellite programs, as well as free wifi to keep you connected during your stay. Each of the ten rooms has the latest in medically designed beds and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fes Medina Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing