We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad”
Review of Riad Jardin Chrifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great price and a great place to stay. We were collected and welcomed by the owner who offered us cakes straight away. Our room was also upgraded (I presume as it was out of season.). The room was large and clean with air con. The breakfast was excellent with plenty to eat that lasted you til the afternoon. They found us a guide for the day who took us arond the old town of Fes and train times to Rabat (if i have to be picky) I couldn't get wi-fi in the room, only if I stood in the landing. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic location, just a few minutes walk to the Medina of Fes and within an easy taxi ride to the train station for destinations a bit further out.

Great room, large and airy with good air conditioning and cleaned every day.

Fantastic roof terrace to relax on during the day / evening with a good view across the city.

The included breakfast is great and the few times we ate our evening meal in the Riad was also fantastic and fresh.

I cannot thank the staff enough for making this such a great trip, they had lots of helpful advice but didn't try and push us into having a guide etc and were really helpful when we wanted to do things on our own by giving us maps etc. I would recommend this Riad to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This beautiful Riad is decorated with care and authentic Moroccan crafts and the staff can't be beat. They were all so nice and eager to help. The owner welcomed us upon arrival, even though it was late (10:30) and gave us mint tea and cookies as a welcome in the courtyard. He offered to help us find an official guide for exploring the medina the next day and offered to give us a map in case we wanted to explore on our own; he did not pressure us at all to take a guide. Breakfast, consisting of coffee with milk, fresh orange juice, warm rolls, baguettes, butter, jam and olives,  is served in the courtyard which has lovely tile work and a fountain with orange trees overhead. Oh,  and a baby turtle who roams free!
The location is great, only a 4-5 minute walk from Batha museum and a 7-8 minute walk from the excitement of the souq in the medina. I appreciated that it was so close yet was on a quiet road so that we slept soundly. The rooms are large and have private bathrooms. Wifi is free and works very well. Air-conditioning is included in the price. A real treat in a vary pleasant city.
There is a Moroccan tax added to your bill (we booked thru Hostelbookers.com) so expect to pay that at the end, which amounted to 23 dirham per person per night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

At first we were dropped by the confused taxi driver to Riad Chrifa (an amazingly beautiful riad) which was located in a quieter part of the old medina and a bit further from heart of the action. Luckily we were received by the helpful and friendly reception who told us that Jardin Chrifa is near the centre of the old medina and they were "sisters" hotel. She helped us contact Jardin Chrifa and we were personally picked up by a representative who drove us to the riad. The garden was spectacularly beautiful and so are the rooms which are individually decorated with different theme. Our room has the garden view while a 7 dirhams camel sandwich bought from the market and dined at the remarkable terrace setting of the riad made a perfect dinner experience. With modern amenities and free wifi, the room was cleaned daily.The property was smacked in a quiet location, less than 5 minutes walk away from the famous centuries old labyrinthed souks of Fez, thus you can get a good night rest after a hard bargaining day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This Riad is extremely difficult to find the first time, but once you do you realize that it is quite close to the center of the Medina. We were greeted with some delicious mint tea and cookies and then shown to our room. The room was very nice, clean and had a heater (it was a bit cold in February!). The breakfast was very good and as much coffee as you wanted. Abdul was very nice and helpful and was always making sure we were comfortable. Through the hotel we booked an official tour guide for 150DH which we would definitely recommend because the Medina is SOOO confusing. If you are only staying a short while it is a great way to see everything along with some background history of the city. There is wi-fi at the hotel, but the connection is very weak so if you want to use it you need to be right next to the router. One evening we came in late and went downstairs to use the wi-fi and he offered us some more mint tea while we watched a soccer match. Overall we had a very good experience, it was a nice stay for the price and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Fez.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We enlisted the help of a guide to locate Riad Jardin Chrifa but in truth it was only a little way into the intimidating Medina and convenient enough once we found it. Our hosts were extrememly welcoming - this was easily our most hospitable stay in Morocco (of four hotels). We had even booked one of the cheaper rooms but were upgraded to a lovely room far superior as it was available. A really great, friendly little hotel, very much recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulSBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

So we agree with other reviewers that Abdul is the star and the Riad would be poorer without him! All is clean, tidy and comfortable..Still, we came in late in the evening and we met the owner who told us it was dark, dangerous and better not to go out alone. We were hungry and wanted to eat something cheaply as we were on the budget. The owner cajoled us into having a meal in a restaurant and said we would not pay more than 150DH for a meal...Hmm...The owner called the restaurant and a person called took us to the nearby (cold) restaurant where meals started at 200DH + drinks etc. There were only tourists brought by similar 'guides' from other hotels. Ok. We paid 500DH and next day we DISCOVERED that there were many cheap and good places to eat just round the corner!!! It was dark but perfectly safe!!! We felt cheated! It was unfair and dishonest as the owner should have informed us about the choices around. The owner should take lessons from Abdul!!!! Now we are in Marrakesh and a Riad's staff provided us with comprehensive and objective information about the area.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ela_Radek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#44 of 100 in Fes
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#39 of 100 in Fes
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#52 of 100 in Fes
204 reviews
11.6 mi away
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
#54 of 100 in Fes
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jardin Chrifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jardin Chrifa

Address: 16 Derb Bennis, Douh/ziat | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $41 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jardin Chrifa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse "Jardin Chrifa" opens its doors in one of the oldest districts of the Medina in Fez, just minutes walk from the famous "bab boujloud" and some steps from the Batha Museum. You will arrive to our riad accessible by car, the guesthouse restored and designed with the relevance and expertise of our craftsmen to offer you a journey in a thousand and one nights place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Jardin Chrifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing