We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully decorated Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Salam Fes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Salam Fes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Berb Bennis, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A beautifully decorated Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013. It was a beautiful example of Moroccan decoration, and a very comfortable Riad.

The wifi access was good, the room spacious and the courtyards and terrace all very well appointed.

The staff were very helpful, even arranging some washing for us. We ate two breakfasts and two dinners in the Riad, all of which was tasty and fresh.

Our major concern was that the Riad, while beautiful, showed some poor attention to detail, including a leaking sink, dirty cutlery, dirty tablecloths and such.

Nevertheless, it was a comfortable and relaxing stay in what is a hectic and exciting city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    99
    28
    14
    14
See reviews for
64
137
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent two nights in this stunning riad. This really felt like a large Moroccan home. The tile and dark woods lent a touch of cultural mystery. Our room was comfortable with a large carved wooden headboard. The tile and copper fittings in the bathroom were over the top. We had a small balcony overlooking the indoor pool which was rich with ambiance in the night.
The service was excellent with a delicious breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivypoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our only bad experience during what was otherwise an amazing holiday experience in Morocco. The decor of this old building is truly stunning but that is about it I'm sorry to say. We had 4 people in one large room staying for 2 nights but beds were very hard and uncomfortable, the fridge so noisy that it had to be turned off at night and the air conditioning was either freezing cold or had to be turned off. Worst of all, we had no hot water the whole stay and the water pressure was so poor that there was barely a dribble coming out of the shower head. I requested hotel staff to fix the cold water/pressure problem the first afternoon, asked again twice the following day and was told each time it would be fixed. By the time we checked out early on day 3 it still hadn't been fixed. When I asked for a €50 discount on our €300+ room bill I was told by 'Fadwa' at reception that a discount was not possible. When I refused to pay the full amount and we rang our tour guide, he was told in Arabic that we must have broken the shower on purpose to get a discount!!! Some other guests we met also had problems when they tried to pay by credit card and were told that only cash was acceptable. This was even though I was able to pay my €300 bill by credit card without any issues... Not good!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heltonville, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this Riad April15 & 16, 2013. The decor was beautiful and the rooms were spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The room and the bathroom were very clean. It is in a nice location. We had dinner there our last evening in Fes. It was very overpriced although the food was very good. We offered to pay at the time of service but were told we could pay at checkout. After we returned to our room and were in bed we received a phone that we needed to pay for our meal now. Someone had to change back into clothes and go down (and back up) a very long flight of stairs. While paying this outrageous price for dinner, she was told that we would not get breakfast as it would not be starting until after we checked out. This was not true-we did get a breakfast before leaving the next morning. Some of the staff were OK but some were not. We had much better service in other Riads in Morcocco which is too bad as this was such a beautiful place. It left a bad impression on all three of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The place is like a Moroc home, which of course it was. You can walk all over the medina, and if you don't get lost, you will enjoy all of Fes from here. All the basics, bed, shower, location, privacy are excellent. The meals are truly good! Go and enjoy!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a group of 11 and stayed 2 nights. The location was central and not far from the medina. The suites were traditional Moroccan, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast by the courtyard pool and the food was excellent. I can recommend this riad highly to anyone holidaying in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakey3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central District, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here with 14 other friends for a reunion and tour of Morocco. The hotel was charming and a real oasis amongst the narrow streets of Fes. When you walk in off the street, to come into this magnificently decorated hotel is fantastic. The rooms were all clean and none of my entourage had any problems or cause for complaint. I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.8 mi away
Riad Arabesque
Riad Arabesque
#43 of 93 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#28 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#2 of 93 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Salam Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Salam Fes

Property: Riad Salam Fes
Address: 18 Berb Bennis, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Salam Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True inspiration Moorish temple located in the heart of one of the four imperial cities of Morocco which is the Medina of Fez (classified as a historic monument by UNESCO).Baudelaire seems to have been inspired by this haven of peace ("Salam" in Arabic), with its crystal atmosphere fountains, mosaics, marble and stucco seem to have fixed the size of the Moroccan ancient arts.Beauty, quiet, luxury and pleasure are awaiting you as an invitation to a journey through time that will take you to the splendors of the Moroccan richest heritage.Hammam, Culinary Arts, Massage ... Let yourself be won by this festival of senses! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Salam Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing