We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostals you could wish for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar el Yasmine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar el Yasmine
Ranked #27 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best hostals you could wish for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Dar El Yasmine is a fantastic choice of accommodation in Fes! You're right there in the heart of the old Medina in a beautifully decorated building dating back hundreds of years.

The staff are brilliant, speak many languages, have an awesome sense of humour, and can make some of the best Moroccan tea (or "Moroccan whisky", as they like to call it!) that I've had. You just can't get it enough of it =D!

Rooms are wonderful, comfortable, with good-quality mattresses, so you know you're getting value for money. Also, this is available to book on HostalWorld, so in the high season, book in advance and make sure you stay at this truly awesome place!

Shokran Mohammad, Said, Hisham and all the staff at Dar El Yasmine!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattVdni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    65
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
93
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

a really really nice hostel, friendly staff, and very easy to find (which is incredibly important in Fez). I booked this hostel for one night at first, however, after experiencing their nice services, relaxed atmosphere (and how annoying to get lost in medina), i decided to book another 2 nights there. It really worths! By the way, the dinner in the hostel is a MUST-TRY! The Tagine was the best I had in Morocco!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yi-Ju T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Dar el Yasmine for 6 nights. We were scheduled to arrive Fes at 5am but instead, we got there at 3.30am. We felt terribly sorry to wake the staff up at the wee hours to meet (pick) us at The Blue Gate. Mhamed was very kind to offer us a room to sleep (without charge) at 4am. We were very grateful of that after a 9-hour bus ride from Merzouga.

There was a particular charm about this Riad that made our stay very comfortable and almost like coming back to the home. Staff were chatty, friendly and welcoming. We were introduced with some tours but never felt the pressure or being pushed to join any of them and that's something really rare in Morocco. I have to praise them for that. :D

In all, it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor could be slightly noisy. We had slept in the both rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingYuen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were able to easily find dar el yasmine thanks to a previous post that indicated to take the main road into the medina from the main blue gate until seeing the yellow sign. It was about a five minute walk in. First introductions were friendly. We were given room 6 that had a bed as stiff as concrete. The next morning we requested a room change and it was granted. The two Mohamed's were helpful with providing information and suggestions on what to do, etc. There is a relaxed and friendly vibe here and the location within the medina can't be beat. Great breakfast too! We even got some laundry done here which was fantastic as there is a huge terrace for drying.

Room Tip: Avoid room #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've stayed at Dar El Yasmine twice in the past few weeks and I will definitely stay there the next time I'm in Fes. Mohammed, Aziz and the others are incredibly welcoming and are a joy to spend time with. The main room is great for relaxing and socialising and the food they offer delicious. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robiscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel its well located in the Medina. When we got there Mohamed, the owner, offered us some great tea and he explained us many things from the city. The hotel has a haima upsters in the terrace where you can relax yourself and meet other travelers. We really had a nice time in the hotel and all the staff are incredible. They made us some typical soup and like a spicy omelette which was so good. We want to thanks them for that incredible attention.

Room Tip: There are many gates to get into the medina, the Dar el Yasmine its near the blue gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

A great hostel, especially by Moroccan "standards".
Amazingly large breakfast. and nice rooftop terrace.

Our room was located on the main floor by the breakfast area. The room was quite musky (Must be because of the fountain located directly on the other side of the wall). Shower was tiny as well and will flood the washroom. And can get a little noisy in the morning.
But what can I say, its not a 5 star hotel and I didn't mind it at all. it was a comfortable place to sleep.

Great location and please check out the carpet shop that is right next the his hostel. The young man was extremely kind and had great products was genuinely friendly. I promised him I'd buy a carpet from him, unfortunately I was tired of shopping around and didn't feel like buying anything in Fes. If your looking for a sort of carpet/rug, check him out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#33 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#53 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#29 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 60 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 60 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Yasmine

Property: Dar el Yasmine
Address: talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar el Yasmine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dar el yasmine is a charming traditional building from the 17th centry located in the heart of the old medina of fes,in the main street talaa sghira near the main entrace Bab boujloud ,dar el yasmine is a small guest house with 6 rooms air conditioner and private bathroom ,in addition to beautiful roof terrasse with tent and view of the medina .dar el yasmine can help you to organize many activitiess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar el Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing