We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better”
Review of Dar el Yasmine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar el Yasmine
Ranked #27 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, the two Moh'ds are very nice. Convinently located.

Would be a good place to stay as a backpacker stopping off in a dorm. However the double bedrooms were uncomfortable and the bathrooms stank of sewage.

I'd recommend looking elswhere unless you want a convenient dorm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darelyasmine, Manager at Dar el Yasmine, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi
Dar el Yasmine is a Stanadart Comfortable Accommodation ,
Our Room is Comfortable ,But not Luxury ,
Some times we had a small Problems in the Bathrooms ,and some people they refer to That ,dId renovation for the Bathrooms ,
We in Dar el yasmine Guarantee you to spend a pleasant time ,
in dar el yasmine you will fee at Home ,
Best Regards
Mhamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    66
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
95
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location of the Dar el Yasmine is very well suited to wandering around the medina at all hours of the day/night, very safe feeling, and the door is answered promptly :) The staff are the real highlight - taking time to pick you up wherever you might be in Fes, offering but not pushing their excursions, making special arrangements if needed, and making you feel at home within the riad. The breakfast, as mentioned by others, is really lovely and enormous! I would recommend this place to all kinds of travelers. :) chukran bzzaaaf :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is quite difficult to find as it's located in the historical center of Fes, however on our arrival we rang the hotel and one of the staff came and picked us up at the taxi stop, wouldn't be able to find it otherwise. The staff was very helpful, answered all our questions about Fes, recommended a restaurant and organized a great trip to Meknes, Volubilis and Chefchaouen.
We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a good value place in the city center.
Only two small things that could be improved..
- the bathroom was bit damp as there was no shower curtain.
- great breakfast but I was little bit disappointed that they wouldn't serve it before 9am, not even when we asked them as we were leaving early that morning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanicka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This riad is well located close to all the main attraction of Fes. Not far from the Blue Gates, local shops and restaurants are always nearby with locals always happy help. What really appeals to me about the riad is the staff and lengths they would go to to make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Everything we asked for they accommodated and this was the main reason why I stayed here for the second time on my visit to Fes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo2u2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in Fes at Dar el Yasmine. The two Mohammed's are welcoming, helpful and hilarious. The breakfast here is delicious and there is plenty of it. The roof terrace is lovely and the perfect place to hear the call to prayer. The hostel provided other services such as washing, which was free! They also were great to book our Sahara Desert experience through. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleighjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The two Mohammeds are by far the best part of this hostel. They were very welcoming and we had mint teas and chat with them before going to our room. We got the deluxe ensuite room, the only one left on short notice, and it was alright. The room was huge, the beds were pretty hard (which seems normal for Morocco to be fair) and the bathroom was spacious but smelly and not that clean (seems common in Fez though). Compared to our other stays in Morocco it wasn't cheap, so we were mildly disappointed by the not-so-clean surroundings. Roof terrace was alright, nothing special, and was located right above our room. This meant every time someone was up there you could hear them pretty loudly, especially walking up and down the stairs. Overall, not terrible, especially not for younger travellers who don't expect a high level of cleanliness, but there are definitely better places to stay in Fez.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mettemj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Decent place to stay. The breakfast was good, the owners were helpful. Only a couple of issues(as stated in other reviews). First being that the bathroom was very damp (no shower curtain either).

My bigger issue is that we felt pressured to take a "historical tour" of Fez from their friend/guide. This tour was ok, but we were taken all over the city to different stores and pressured to buy things. The pressure was very odd as an American, with people saying "Don't you want to help these poor artists?" and things of that nature. I bought something just to be left alone. When we wanted to end the tour early because it was pouring rain, the guide was not happy (probably because he wanted us to buy more crap).

Other than the tour, it was a pretty good experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#19 of 216 in Fes
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#57 of 216 in Fes
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#4 of 69 in Fes
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#25 of 216 in Fes
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Yasmine

Property: Dar el Yasmine
Address: talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar el Yasmine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dar el yasmine is a charming traditional building from the 17th centry located in the heart of the old medina of fes,in the main street talaa sghira near the main entrace Bab boujloud ,dar el yasmine is a small guest house with 6 rooms air conditioner and private bathroom ,in addition to beautiful roof terrasse with tent and view of the medina .dar el yasmine can help you to organize many activitiess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dar el Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing