We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockroaches”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar el Yasmine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar el Yasmine
Ranked #27 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cockroaches”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

EVERYWHERE around the kitchen and downstairs rooms. I was woken up at 6am by one crawling up my thigh. They were everywhere and unfazed by humans.

Although this pales into comparison to having a cockroach on your bare leg, the room was dirty, the blanket came in strips and the bathroom was expose to the entire room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darelyasmine, Manager at Dar el Yasmine, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello
this guest they stay in dar el yasmine more than 1 year ago,i don't know why they wait all this time to write this comment .
as we explain to you (Guest ) thet we was doing some renovation in the bathrooms in the room in front of your room,and for your room also after you left ,(the bathrooms now with mosaic ) .
i remember that we were very kind to you,but in the other side did you try to push us and you asked to pay only half price,and to make you happy .
we in dar el el yasmine doing our best to offer a memorable and pleasant stay,even if there is a small problem why settle everything in a very good way .
you are welcome
Mhamed
11/07/2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    65
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
93
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Dar el Yasmine is a cosy little riad tucked away in a quiet yet convenient corner in Fes. Most importantly, the hosts of the riad were amongst the most welcoming people I've met in my week long stay in Morocco. The rooms were comfortable, and well worth what you pay for. The hospitality of Mhamed with his unlimited mint tea and amazing breakfast spread has demonstrated the beauty in the hearts of the Moroccan people. A must-stay, especially for students!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvrilCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

'Big' and 'small' Muhammed make you really feel at home in this fantastically located ryad. Especially young travellers will enjoy the atmosphere here.

The ryad is a little old and some aprts may be a bit scruffy but the staff will do everything to help you out. Rooms are large and comfy. Breakfast is great and will fill you up for most of the day.

When we left they were re-doing the roof terrace which should become even better to kick back and relax after a whole day in the grand medina.

Be aware thatthe medina is big and quite difficult to navigate. Dar el Yasmine is perfectly located in a quiet alley between the two main streets but we reccomend to arrange a pick-up. We arranged a taxi pick-up from the airport which turned out great.

Ofcourse with some more maintenance and care this place could be a absolute star but what's the point. Right now it's a great place to stay for a small backpackers wallet.

Room Tip: Take the upper rooms. They are more airy and bright and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Being 4 students (3 from Canada and 1 from New Z), we were a bit nervous about Fes in general. Dar el Yasmine however, went out of their way to make our experience incredible. Guests are greeted with unlimited sweet tea, shisha is offered in the evenings on their terrace and the breakfasts are delicious and filling (think crepes, jams and freshly squeezed OJ). Aziz is the best host I've ever come across, organizing an official tour of the medina for us as soon as we arrived and taking us to his own favourite local shops. He also took us to a friend's restaurant on opening day where we were then given copious amounts of free food and experience "true" Fes. He and both Mmhameds even bought a birthday cake for a fellow guest and hosted a small party for all the that evening. It doesn't even feel like a hotel but more like a family home. We will all be returning to Fez thanks to Aziz and the others at Dar el yasmine, as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katenishida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had an absolutely awesome time staying here. The hosts were so welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us with anything we needed. The room we had was great value for money, clean and lovely and peaceful considering the bustling streets only a stones throw away.

The food was lovely and the experience of cooking with the staff made it all the more worthwhile. The general social aspect of the place was brilliant, really communal feeling.

We booked night by night as our trip was unplanned and the guys made sure there was always somewhere for me and my two friends to stay together, they even moved a bed into another room for us!

Would really, really recommend it, great value, great service, couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

we payed 360 dh the double room per night totally worth it.
the owner was very helpful and friendly. very good breakfast.good location, but I suggest to ask for the pick up at the airport. there could be noise if you get the rooms in the ground floor so I suggest to brings earplugs just in case. very good mint thee as well.
they cleaned the room every day and it was quite clean overall. I think is a really good choice for this money range.
the bed was really hard though.
I would suggest it if you look for a budget option in fes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ernestosanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We loved the welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff and free wi-fi. The owner is a really nice guy who is proud of his business and the place. He's doing a great job. We got everything what we wanted, so.it was a nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#33 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#53 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#29 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 60 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 60 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Yasmine

Property: Dar el Yasmine
Address: talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar el Yasmine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dar el yasmine is a charming traditional building from the 17th centry located in the heart of the old medina of fes,in the main street talaa sghira near the main entrace Bab boujloud ,dar el yasmine is a small guest house with 6 rooms air conditioner and private bathroom ,in addition to beautiful roof terrasse with tent and view of the medina .dar el yasmine can help you to organize many activitiess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar el Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing