We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience with Souad”

Cafe Clock Cooking School
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with Souad”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A friend and I took a cooking class with Souad in May. Highly recommendable! Not only does it allows for some hands on experience with this wonderful cuisine - but Souad also does a fantastic job in providing insights into the Moroccan culture. The kitchen at Cafe Clock is very nicely set up and makes for the perfect environment to cook and chat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank chocxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    20
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Souad the best”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I had a nice experience with Souad today, she is amazing and very helpful by sharing experience and explaining the local culture.
Souad is a real asset for cafe clock business, Good job!
I still experienced discrimination by one of the young employees! the guy was asking and showing hospitality with a nice american lady and her daughter who were doing the lesson with us and totaly ignored my sister and myself, why?!
Even while paying the lesson, the guy was making sure that the mother and daughter were happy with the lesson and totaly satisfied. For me, he just communicated the sum to pay, period.

I thought that being an arab and visiting an arab country, I should be feeling home, I was sad to be treated in such discrimintly manner in cafe clock, in the heart of the medina.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good fun and very interesting”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Upon arrival at Cafe Clock we met the owner, a very interesting and friendly great british (eccentric) entrepreneur (whom we later bumped into at Fez train station a few days later and he came over and remembered us and had a chat and was genuinely interested in what we had thought of the experience).
There were four of us on the course, which was led by a very entertaining and jolly local lady.
We were given a menu to choose and agree between us what we would like to cook. We felt like we were very heavily influenced in what to chose although having said that we were all more than happy with the suggestions made.
We were led into the medina and taken round food stalls where all the local traditions and food options were explained to us and all the fresh ingredients were purchased.
We were then guided through the preparation of the food in a really fun and interactive way.
Bizarrely we were joined half way through by a Serbian film crew who just happened to be filming a documentary about Moroccan cooking for Serbian TV!
Following preparation we were left to relax and drink while the cooking was completed. Ideally I would of liked to have seen the process through to the end to include the actual cooking although given the lack of air conditioning in a very hot kitchen we welcomed the excuse to site and relax and have a drink.
In all the experience lasted from 11am to 3pm, drinks being on tap, and free throughout the duration.
In all a very interesting and enjoyable day, led by a fantastically entertaining host. I would recommend it to anyone seeking an insight into the local quisine and a different holiday experience.
Any downside to it? - well, given we could go a few doors up the road a have a tajine cooked for us for around £3 then maybe not. Having said that our experience of food in Fez was generally a disappointment and the meal we cooked turned out to be the best we ate while there!
Bon apetite.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phil-the-badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“"There is no Love sincerer than the love of food"”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A genuine love of food, entertaining and foreign places led me to this address in Fes.
Clock Café
is more than a Cooking School, it is the focal point in Fes. The whole idea of the Clock Café is so innovative, not only is it a café serving outstanding meals and snacks, it is the place to learn to do Belly Dancing, to listen to sacred music, to try Henna painting, to see a local Moroccan film or a Bollywood Blockbuster, if you are a local girl to have a secret tryst, to come and use the WiFi or meet some other traveller as lonely of friendships as you.

Souad is an enigma, a modern woman wearing traditional dress, whose self taught English is superb, whose cookery skills are equal to that of a top Chef and whose warmth and friendliness are that of a closest friend and confidante.

We breezed our way through the thick of the Medina, whilst the various stall holders called out friendly greetings to her as she carefully picked the choicest ingredients for our Menu to be cooked in the ultra modern school kitchen on the upper floor of this labyrinth Café.

Bread kneaded and prodded, left to rise and baked at the local 'ferran' baker in the Kasbah.
Cous cous that was steamed and gently caressed to become the sweetest of desserts topped with chopped almonds. Vegetables that were cut and chopped into decorative forms only to be popped into a Tagine and the freshest of fish tenderly stuffed with the mornings purchase and baked in the oven. Almonds given to the local grinder in the main street of the Medina returned as marzipan almond paste and were gently massaged into tiny balls and pressed in the most sensitive spot to be filled with macerated strawberries.

Through all this was a constant chatter from Souad about love and life and women in Morocco, Philosophy on a Plate. If you are visiting Fes, see the Holy Mosques, visit the famous Tanneries,
buy a leather pouffe, a Berber carpet but do not miss out on the best of all that Fes has to offer ..... if not a class, then at least a meal cooked by the Handmaidens of Moroccan Cuisine, Souad and her able assistant the lovely Boussara.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpioLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth spending a few extra for Cafe Clock cooking”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Souad, our cooking instructor. She was so lively and entertaining throughout our class. Souad welcomed all of our questions and provided some great information. She really is an asset for Cafe Clock.

The entire atmosphere at Cafe Clock is great - aside from the cooking class we came back twice for coffee and lunch! Great staff and excellent serve.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Clock Cooking School also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Cafe Clock Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing