We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise”
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais Amani
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Palais Amani is absolutely unexpected - walking through the doors into the tranquility of the beautiful courtyard - it is hard to believe what exists outside. The rooms are beautiful with every attention to detail, the staff are very friendly and we were ,lucky enough to meet both owners who were charming and good company. Again we were traveling with our guide, which was a real bonus when negotiating the streets of the Old Medina. We ate both nights at the hotel and were not disappointed either of the nights. I had a facial which was wonderfully relaxing. Lovely roof top bar - where you can watch the sun go down and appreciate the views around you. Absolutely worth a visit, and Fez is home to a few other little treasures like the Clock Cafe and Le Patio Bleu where we had amazing long lunches.

Room Tip: We lad a lovely room over looking the courtyard but I have no doubt that all rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing with travelers your pleasure to have stayed with us at the Palais Amani. We are delighted that you enjoyed the luxury of our rooms, the delicious food ,the quality of our Spa and our marvelous roof terrace. Fez is a city full of treasure and you got the chance to discover some of them.
We hope to see you once more in one of the best kept secret of the medina of Fez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 511 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

After a busy day enjoying Volubilis and the Fes medina which is hilly my sore feet were delighted to relax at the beautiful Palais Amani. The staff were welcoming from the start and served drinks in the enormous and cool inner courtyard which has beautiful gardens. The height of the riad is amazing and our room was on the second floor which was quiet and relaxing. The original layout of the riad has been kept and the beds are super comfy! We met the owner who was charming and told us about the renovation process which has been long but now he has a great place. There is a mass of zelige but the riad feels friendly despite its size. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great -we were amazed by the quantity offered.Conveniently it is close to a parking area so not too hard to find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We would like to thank you for choosing Palais Amani and for sharing your enthusiasm with us.
All the Palais Amani team thank you for your kind words and it was a real pleasure to have you here with us at the Palais Amani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you are looking for a quite place like an oasis in the desert Palai amani is your place. We were is Fès for 4 days and spent our last night there and it was marevalous.
A nice and quite place. The sleeping quality is excellent, so comfortable.
It's well located too and easy to access.

Room Tip: On the first floor the rooms are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyDY_JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing Palais Amani, we have only one regret: that you have spent only a single night with us.
We will be delighted if you come back to us to appreciate the quality of our others services :
Hamman, Spa, Restaurant .
This could be the purpose of a next trip.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a wonderful place this is in the Medina in Fez. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely, we had drinks on the roof terrace each night and were served a different breakfast each morning - all them excellent including the coffee (very rare in Morocco). The water fountain in the garden was very nice. Overall a great place to stay in Fez.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrieleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We do agree with you : What a wonderfull place this medina of Fez. On their arrival our guests seem a little bit leery but after staying a few hours with us , they change their mind completly.
We hope that you'll turn back to Palais Amani and go on enjoying our roof terrace and our coffee.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The decor was beautiful, and the service was amazing and the hotel and rooms were ultra clean. The food was delicious as well in the restaurant. Highly recommend this riad in Fes. As well, the location was perfect. Just outside the Medina and central to all the other sites.

Room Tip: The 2 story rooms have 2 bathrooms and are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose2004canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour ,

Encore merci pour ce merveilleux commentaire.Nous sommes toujours triste de voir partir nos invités mais chacun des commentaires posté nous permet de nous rapprocher à nouveau.
Nous espérons vous revoir prochainement au Palais Amani pour partager une nouvelle fois l'ambiance made in médina.

Sincèrement votre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although the Palais Amani is within the Medina and along a narrow path, it is less than 1 minute from the parking area Oued Zhoune. Head up the alley at the side of the Pension Dalila, turn left when you hit a T-junction, keep following the path round and you will end up at the door of Palais Amani. When you enter the Palais and turn into the courtyard you leave the chaos of Fes behind you. The check-in process is performed whilst sitting along the edge of the central courtyard receiving cool towel, refreshing cold drink and information on the palais.The central courtyard of the Palais is wonderfully peaceful with a central fountain and fruit trees filling the courtyard.We stayed in a junior suite which is split on two levels with bedroom on the top floor and sitting area and bathroom on the ground floor. We quite liked the split level as it forced you to sit in the lounge area rather than lie on the bed when we were relaxing in our room. The bedroom is extremely quiet - we did not even hear a call to prayer. The room was supplied with a Bose docking station so you can relax and unwind to your own music. The bathroom has modern fittings and granite tops within the rustic Moroccan tile work. The shower is a nice rain shower which never ran out of hot water. If you are back between 4 and 5 or so, they come round with mint tea and sweet nibbles. As mentioned we were in the Junior suite, the other much larger suites also looked amazing. The breakfasts are very good, juice, fruit cocktail, yogurt, bread basket with jams, cheese, olives and olive oil. A main dish of pancakes or equivalent (this changed daily) was also served together with tea or coffee. Breakfast is served on the (lower) terrace and when we were there there was an issue with wasps (as it is open to the elements), so we requested to eat in the main restaurant, which they happily accommodated.There is a fully enclosed bar on the top terrace together with seating outside, which is nice to have an early evening during before setting off for dinner. If it appears closed, you only need to ask and they will come up and open it up. We also tried the hamam on our last afternoon. This was excellent and would definitely recommend it. We ate for dinner twice. The first time was very good, although the choice is a bit limited so only elected to eat a second time as it threatened to rain. The second dinner was not as good, was ok, but nothing special and service was not great. However, I did raise this with management, who were very receptive to comments and are working to improve, so don't let that put you off staying there as the rest was fantastic, plus you should check out the other amazing restaurants in Fes anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear JB,

Many thanks for the excellent review .We are glad that you appreciated your stay in Fez , particularly Palais Amani. And we are still working on improving to get better and we hope next time you're staying with us, everything will be perfect !

Thanks again and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights adn loved it. We really appreciated the quality of the service. They seemed to care...
We enjoyed our room, dinner in the courtyard, drinks on the rooftop and the spa. The owners are very friendly.
This is definitly the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
2 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#18 of 101 in Fes
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#9 Family Hotel in Fes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $164 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing