We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palais Amani
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had the worst stay in Morocco at the Palais Amani. Probably the worst place I've stayed in the whole world. The staff were extrememly rude. Each night we had to request the bottled water to brush our teeth and they were annoyed every time we asked. But, they were more than happy to re-stock the items in our room which we had to pay for. Breakfast was awful, same thing every morning. Bread and horrible preserves. Not nearly enough food. Don't even ask for a second coffee or glass of water, they will huff and puff and roll their eyes. The waitress that served us was rude, cold and unwelcoming. Made us feel like we were troubling her by turning up every morning. They charge you for every little thing so if you do risk it and stay here, don't eat the tiny bowl of almonds or the chips. They will charge you $20 for them each night. If they are going to charge for such items, the price list needs to be left on the same tray, not on the other side of the room. In saying that, there were no prices for the nuts and chips. Also, don't eat the chocolate they leave you at turn down, they charge you as well. There was no offer of help for drivers/tours etc. When we asked for a taxi to be called when we left, that was a huge issue. When we questioned our bill at the end, they turned nasty and would not explain just wanted the money. My advice would be to skip Fes and the Palais Amani and go straight to the beautiful Riad Dar One in Marrakech. Half the price and 100 times nicer. The Palais Amani does not know how to run accommodation and be hospitable. Like everyone in Fes, they just want your money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Owner at Palais Amani, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
If this comment is a genuine one, and we have strong reason to believe it is not, then I am left breathless by the ‘experience’ described here.
I am also upset by the level of damage that this ‘guest’ wishes to inflict on our establishment and pained by the virulence with which a human being expresses themself once behind the anonymous safety of the internet.
This comment is being investigated, both at Tripadvisor, but also within our management team in order to make sure that such severe breakdowns in our welcome and service are not the case.
In the mean time I would like to rectify the blatant untruths that it contains:
1. Our water is filtered so it is perfectly ok to brush your teeth with tap water. But for those who are concerned about the water, bottled water is provided in the rooms every evening and is complimentary, as is tea and homemade pastries every afternoon, the slippers on your bed on arrival AND the homemade chocolates left at our turn down service.
2. The room service tray containing nuts, olives and a select selection of drinks also has a clearly displayed price list. I believe it to be common hotel procedure to charge for products consumed from room service. No-one is obliged to consume and there are no surprises if you do. (And incidentally the nuts and olives are not billed at 20$, as this person claims, but 40 dhs per generous bowl)
3 .Our full traditional Moroccan breakfast is extensive and changes daily. It is comprised of a selection of homemade jams, local cheese, olives, oils and home baked bread, along with fresh fruit, fresh juice, a daily changing dish of typical Moroccan breakfast delicacies, and as much coffee and/or tea as the guests wish. A far call from this person’s description.
4. Tours, drivers and guides can and are organised either before your stay or during the time the guests are with us. A large part of the receptionists’ duties is taken up with organising these, along with taxis on departure.
This person’s accusations here are simply not true.
5. And finally, that the staff are inhospitable and rude, and that Palais Amani doesn’t know how to run accommodation...... well I suggest you read at your leisure some of the other 160 or more comments that praise the quality of our service and the hospitable nature of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    51
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
76
243
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Palais Amani is the last hotel in Fez, Morocco besides an overnight stay at Hotel Barcelo, Casablanca. When we first walk in the hotel after a long car ride from the desert, we though it was a snooty hotel, but we were wrong, it is just the opposite. We were taken care by the staff and the owner and we felt right at home. As what our daughter said, it is the best hotel we ever stayed. During our 3 nights stay we had 2 beautiful suites and both were well decorated, we sure slept well. 

We had so much fun with Chef Houssan and Lela during the cooking session, especially doing marketing with Ghizlane and Lela in the morning. It was very emotional when we had to leave Palais Amani. For sure I will highly recommend Palais Amani to family and friends and whoever read our feedback. You won't be dissapointed and there is no word to describe about Palais Amani and one has to experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenton571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were led through a narrow alley from the carpark to the hotel. Standing outside the plain wooden door ,we were a bit apprehensive that we had made a wrong choice. But this was only till the door opened and we were led inside.

Once inside all our doubts vanished. It is a beautiful hotel. Beautifully restored, it was a lovely experience staying in an authentic Moroccon riad. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ready with answers to all our endless questions. Being a vegetarian I thought i would have a problem but they came up with a great variety of local dishes prepared expertly, which we greatly enjoyed.

The riad was beautifully furnished and had a modern bathroom. Great service too.

We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zainab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Between Christmas and New Year's week, our family travelled in Morocco and the Palais Amani was the best place we stayed. We were welcomed by the staff and owners and remained in their fabulous care for our entire time. We felt right at home. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable, and had wonderful local amenities. Guides, drivers, all arranged by the hotel were superb. We never felt the need to eat at any other restaurant--the breakfasts and other meals were delicious. The garden and roof deck were wonderful places to relax and enjoy the sunshine. And we all took advantage of the spa and had an unforgettable hammam. We count the days until we can return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Once a family residence, Palais Amani is now a stunning boutique hotel set within Fez's medina walls. Just a short walk from the famous tanneries, Palais Amani offers a haven away from the hustle and bustle of the medina life. With an indoor garden and many original features it offers a glimpse of what this majestic property would have looked like. Friendly staff and good service make this an extremely comfortable stay. Make sure you get good directions before setting off as the car park is outside the medina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLIRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would highly recommend the Palais Amani to anyone staying in Fes. The location is perfect. It's not to far to close to the old city and the staff is wonderful. Even the restaurant is great. The rooms are clean, spacious and very serene. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLucasNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Palais Anansi is an oasis of serenity in the Fez medina. The comfort of the rooms and the warmth of the owners and staff made a recent visit by myself and two sons a truly memorable holiday which I highly recommend to any visitors to Fez.. It didn't seem so at first. We got hopelessly lost driving into Fez but with the help of a man who got in the car and directed us we arrived at a dusty car park in a run down neighborhood of stores and a school. One of the men standing around there offered to show us the way to the Palais Amani. We entered the medina through a narrow opening between two buildings and followed a busy but dark and rocky path walking uphill until the man said we had arrived. There were two large wooden doors in the wall and we knocked--by this time wondering if we had made a mistake in chosing our hotel. The door opened and we were immediately proved wrong. The staff member greeted us by name and invited us into a beautiful courtyard where the noise and the dust of the medina disappeared to the sounds of the central fountain and the birds singing in the citrus trees. We were surrounded by the exceptional artistry of the tiles and wood carvings which covered the surfaces of the inner walls of the courtyard. Our rooms were themselves works of art. but modern and comfortable The three of us had separate sleeping spaces and a common sitting area.One of my much h travelled sons said that this was the best hotel room we had ever stayed in and he was rifght. Later the roof terrace gave us a 360 degree view of the medina with the bonus of the warm sunshine of December in Morocco. The staff was both friendly and professional. They worked to a standard of perfection. They and the hotel owners were very attentive and supportive of our every need .One of my sons was sick for a day and the staff inquired about how he was doing and made helpful suggestion. On Christmas Eve the owner threw a party with wild Moroccan music and dancing followed by a feast in the dining room. Our stay at Palais Amani was a great pleasure and a memorable holiday

Room Tip: W stayed at coutyard level and could eat our lunch in the sunshine near the fountain a few steps fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#16 of 99 in Fes
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karawan Riad
Karawan Riad
#17 of 99 in Fes
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Property: Palais Amani
Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fes
#10 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#11 Family Hotel in Fes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing