We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm in the midst of chaos”
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Amani
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were led through a narrow alley from the carpark to the hotel. Standing outside the plain wooden door ,we were a bit apprehensive that we had made a wrong choice. But this was only till the door opened and we were led inside.

Once inside all our doubts vanished. It is a beautiful hotel. Beautifully restored, it was a lovely experience staying in an authentic Moroccon riad. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ready with answers to all our endless questions. Being a vegetarian I thought i would have a problem but they came up with a great variety of local dishes prepared expertly, which we greatly enjoyed.

The riad was beautifully furnished and had a modern bathroom. Great service too.

We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zainab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 500 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Between Christmas and New Year's week, our family travelled in Morocco and the Palais Amani was the best place we stayed. We were welcomed by the staff and owners and remained in their fabulous care for our entire time. We felt right at home. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable, and had wonderful local amenities. Guides, drivers, all arranged by the hotel were superb. We never felt the need to eat at any other restaurant--the breakfasts and other meals were delicious. The garden and roof deck were wonderful places to relax and enjoy the sunshine. And we all took advantage of the spa and had an unforgettable hammam. We count the days until we can return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Once a family residence, Palais Amani is now a stunning boutique hotel set within Fez's medina walls. Just a short walk from the famous tanneries, Palais Amani offers a haven away from the hustle and bustle of the medina life. With an indoor garden and many original features it offers a glimpse of what this majestic property would have looked like. Friendly staff and good service make this an extremely comfortable stay. Make sure you get good directions before setting off as the car park is outside the medina.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLIRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would highly recommend the Palais Amani to anyone staying in Fes. The location is perfect. It's not to far to close to the old city and the staff is wonderful. Even the restaurant is great. The rooms are clean, spacious and very serene. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLucasNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Palais Anansi is an oasis of serenity in the Fez medina. The comfort of the rooms and the warmth of the owners and staff made a recent visit by myself and two sons a truly memorable holiday which I highly recommend to any visitors to Fez.. It didn't seem so at first. We got hopelessly lost driving into Fez but with the help of a man who got in the car and directed us we arrived at a dusty car park in a run down neighborhood of stores and a school. One of the men standing around there offered to show us the way to the Palais Amani. We entered the medina through a narrow opening between two buildings and followed a busy but dark and rocky path walking uphill until the man said we had arrived. There were two large wooden doors in the wall and we knocked--by this time wondering if we had made a mistake in chosing our hotel. The door opened and we were immediately proved wrong. The staff member greeted us by name and invited us into a beautiful courtyard where the noise and the dust of the medina disappeared to the sounds of the central fountain and the birds singing in the citrus trees. We were surrounded by the exceptional artistry of the tiles and wood carvings which covered the surfaces of the inner walls of the courtyard. Our rooms were themselves works of art. but modern and comfortable The three of us had separate sleeping spaces and a common sitting area.One of my much h travelled sons said that this was the best hotel room we had ever stayed in and he was rifght. Later the roof terrace gave us a 360 degree view of the medina with the bonus of the warm sunshine of December in Morocco. The staff was both friendly and professional. They worked to a standard of perfection. They and the hotel owners were very attentive and supportive of our every need .One of my sons was sick for a day and the staff inquired about how he was doing and made helpful suggestion. On Christmas Eve the owner threw a party with wild Moroccan music and dancing followed by a feast in the dining room. Our stay at Palais Amani was a great pleasure and a memorable holiday

Room Tip: W stayed at coutyard level and could eat our lunch in the sunshine near the fountain a few steps fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel. A little tricky to find but that goes for everything in the Fes medina. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by such warmth and kindness. The hotel was beautiful, clean and very spacious. The service was amazing and the staff gave us very personal attention. One of the things I liked best was the business card with their address in both French and Arabic.... it was more helpful than you could imagine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

From the car park near one of the entries to the maze that is the Fes medina we were led up very narrow alleyways bound by pink grey walls to a large wooden gate where our Palais Amani guide introduced us to jelab attired doorman, Mohammed, and led us through to the classic blue and white tiled central courtyard with orange trees and fountain. Palais Amani is an aesthetic delight skillfully accommodating the best traditional artisanship with contemporary amenity. The rooftop terrace is perfect for sunset cocktails. The staff were friendly though respectful and very eager to ensure we had experiences that we were interested in and enjoyed in the Riad and outside in the medina. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: First floor rooms entered from an enclosed walkway, which overlooks the central garden, offer greate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#21 of 100 in Fes
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Fes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#9 Family Hotel in Fes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $186 - $2,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing