We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good riad in a very good location”
Review of Riad 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad 53
Ranked #60 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good riad in a very good location”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ryad 53 has a prime location. You aren't directly in the rabbit's warren that is Fes, but you are just on its doorstep. When I contacted Jean-Luc for directions, they were spot on, which is a first in Morocco.

The room we booked, the turquoise room, was having some water issues so Jean-Luc offered us another one that was next door which was very large. We had a few hiccups, like in the middle of taking a shower, the power to the whole room went out due to a breaker acting up, but Jean Luc and his trusty assistant Mohemmad were on the case right away. They got the main lights working again, and just the bathroom ones were not working, but the next day all seemed back to normal.

Also Mohemmad made our stay really nice - he was very organized with breakfasts, the bill, arranging a driver for a trip up to Azrou and made sure the driver took us to the types of places we were interested in. He was a star.

The room was lovely and I enjoyed it very much. The shower had plenty of hot water, and the bed was extremely comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love the ryad, it is so beautiful like an Arabic dream. It is not a big Ryad, but rooms are quite big. Nice decoration. But we always can smell some cat pee. Shower doesn't have enough hot water, and the room is a little cold. Location is super good, inside medina, but close to somewhere you can park the car. So you don't have to walk too much with your luggage. Breakfast is also nice. But we were not really happy when we check out, the guy asked for tips, even not happy with 50dhs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anitacyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited Fez for 5 days staying at Ryad 53. The Ryad is beautiful with a lovely terrace on the roof. Situated at the border of the Medina, it is an ideal base for visiting Fez. The rooms are spacial and well kept and the ground floor has two common rooms where one can relax after a chaotic day in the Medina. An important part of the charm of this ryad is the staff, who where very welcoming and enormously helpful in arranging visits of the Medina as well as the surrounding area around Fez. Last but not least, the food served at the dinners organised in the ryad were without a doubt the best food we tried while staying in Marocco. We can warmly recommend this guesthouse for anyone planning to visit Fez.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clementin
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The peace and quiet on entering the Ryad is so welcome after the 'chaos' on the streets outside. It is near the main gate of the Medina with plenty of bars and restaurents on the doorstep. The rooms are light and airy and beautifully decorated. They are kept exceptionally clean and tidy. The breakfasts on the terrace are great as are the meals should you decide to eat there, which we would recommend. The perfect place for your time in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfortnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san sebastian
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the guesthouse, definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The first impression was of the beauty of the ryad itself, decorated with great style and taste, a calm and soothing environment just next to the main entrance of the medina (Bab Bou Jloud, with many comfy eating places). There are few and big rooms, two rooftop terraces and arabic style seating rooms with a library, all of which contributes to the relaxed atmosphere. What really brings the ryad the life is the kind attention of its staff, always willing to assist you in your needs, or just available for a enlightening chat. They serve delicious typical meals for breakfast and dinner (couscous and tajin), with fresh quality ingredients. Also they can organise tours for the guests with highly recommendable and trustworthy guides.
We booked the suite sable, which is very big, has a jacuzzi and a view over the first rooftop terrace. We were able to park our rental car inside a semi official garage across the street (independent from the ryad). This wouldn't have been possible with any of the ryads hidden in the labyrinth of the medina. The car proved useful to visit the middle Atlas (Azrou, sources of Oum Er Rbia), Meknes and the Roman ruins of Volubilis.
Truly a hotel I would recommend, I feel lucky to have known it and enjoyed this great time with the people there. I would repeat without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in the Suite of Ryad 53, room was very spacious and quiet, beautifully decorated in every corners and most welcomed service did make us feel at home on our 1st time trip in Morocco.
We have chosen this Ryad not only by the beauty of itself but also the location, it is so well situated that we had no problem getting there on our late arrival around midnight.
The owner waited us and prepared us a warm tajin in the most relaxing atmosphere.
The next day they also arranged a wonderful guide who could take us around and explained the architecture of Fes which I specifically requested for. We felt secure even though we had no idea where we were in the labyrinth of Fes medina, but it didn't take me long when I realized how lucky to stay at Ryad 53 which is in an excellent location by taxi, because some Ryad I saw in medina had absolutely no access other than walking through small passages.
I would definitely go back there if I get another chance to travel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedmotnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in the Pistachio suite which was really the highlight of our trip in Fes! Very spacious 40sqm suite with massive king baldaquin bed and superbe bathroom with X-large bath - great for young couples willing to experience an authentic riad experience and enjoy a stay as pachas... Cecile the owner, who's a interior designer, did a fantastic job at renovating this amazing riad. Her hospitality was second to none, breakfast was very enjoyable on the rooftop terrace overlooking the medina, and great food in the evening too with nice french/morrocan wine available. The location of the riad was excellent too, at the doorstep of Bab Boujeloud the main gate to the old medina. We also were recommended a guide to explore the mazes of the medina which was recommended by Celine, something we did on the first day and should have done at the beginning of our stay as opposed to Marrakech, Fes' medina is extremely difficult to get around. I would highly recommend this riad to anyone willing to stay in a beautiful riad at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Get the Pistachio Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludovic-Rossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#18 of 99 in Fes
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Misbah
Riad Misbah
#64 of 210 in Fes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Louna
Riad Louna
#59 of 210 in Fes
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#2 of 65 in Fes
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hala
Riad Hala
#49 of 210 in Fes
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 53

Property: Riad 53
Address: 53 Rue Derb Serraj, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In border of medina, ideally situated, discover authentic and spacious riad one, in the family feeling, where life is enjoyable by beginning the day with a Moroccan breakfast on the terrace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing