We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome riad. Awesome staff. Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome riad. Awesome staff. Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Awesome riad. Awesome staff. In a word awesome!
I cannot say too much about this place, it is beautiful, peaceful,
and is full of class. It is also exceptional value for money.
The manager Said and all his staff were are great and made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonythehooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    74
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
309
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Arriving late at night in the medieval alleys of Fez we entered from a very understated exterior to the beautifully restored, traditional riad of Dar Bensouda.
Having read previous feedback we had contacted the riad in advance to have a taxi meet us at the airport and somebody walked us to the accommodation. They were extremely helpful in organising this for us and it went seemlessly - a good job as we would never of found it on our own.
The room was beautiful in it's simplicity and tradition - no TV or radio etc.(although it did have very welcome air conditioning). The room was huge and the bathroom fantastic. The courtyard was a peaceful oasis from the hustle of the medina.
The management could not do enough to help us in every way - ringing the airport on numerous occasions to help track down my luggage that hadn't arrived with us, booking a local guide for us and ringing a pharmacy for some much needed medicine for our heat-induced stomachs.
The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable.
The pool-side area, where breakfact was served was again a beautiful oasis.
We ate at the riad one night although there was no atmosphere in the restaurant as were the only ones there that night, not the fault of the riad of course.
Breakfast was simple and traditional. The evening meal was better than other food we experienced in Fez although generally speaking we weren't impressed with any food we had in the city.
I would whole heartedly recommend Riad Dar Bensouda for it's beautifully restored, simple accomodation and outstanding service and helpfulness of all the staff.

Room Tip: We had a ground-floor room that was massive and comfortable. We didn't view the upper-floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil-the-badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

All of the other reviews are are truly accurate. This is an oasis of calm in Fez, but not far from anywhere.Said and his team were helpful and informative, the rooms were delightful, the terrace and plunge pool very welcome, the hamman good and the food excellent. You will need help first (or 2nd and 3rd) times to find this, but this can be arranged easily. Just be careful of unwanted guides and some sharp practices in the shops in the tanning district.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CBandAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I found the labirynth-like streets of Fes claustrophobic, but Dar Bensouda was truly an oasis. The manager, Said, was wonderful; he was accommodating, connected us with a wonderful guide, told us what to do if we got lost (which we did), and was just an all-around wonderful person.
The staff was friendly, the food was outstanding, and the physical space was lovely, immaculate, and a good size for two.
I recommend staying at this riad if you are going to Fes.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely. I could see them as we passed going back to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyetpepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeitao, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Dar Bensouda was our refuge for several days in the Fes medina.
Superb friendliness and availability of Said, in an exemplary and wonderful restored building .
We strongly advise the Moroccan cuisine course , including market purchases , by Dar Bensouda own cooks
Great Breakfast and impeccable comfort and cleaning
We look forward to return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandeviagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Wonderful central location in the Medina, difficult to find your way back though. Make sure you make arrangements with the Riad for your arrival, they will ensure you get a porter who picks you up at one of the gates of the medina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Dar Bensouda was an oasis of calm, providing welcome respite for us from the busy-ness of travel and life in the medina. The interiors were elegant and beautiful, and the rooftop terrace provided spectacular views over the city and out to the sounding hills. Breakfast was delicious, as were evening meals in the restaurant. Said and his staff were very welcoming and helpful, from moment they greeted us at the train station, to wishing us farewell at the airport. It was a wonderful base to explore the alleyways of Fez, and provided the best nights sleep of our stay in Morocco. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Address: 14, Zkak El Bgha | Elquettanine, Fes 30202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Bensouda is an authentic old palace in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse. Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation. Dar Bensouda has two beautiful courtyards: the fountain courtyard around which eleven luxurious rooms and suites are arranged and the swimming pool patio with a leafy garden. Each room is individually decorated, air-conditioned, and has an en-suite bathroom with shower. The suites have a bathtub and a relaxing sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Bensouda Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing