We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience like no other”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Experience like no other”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is absolutely amazing riad! I am intentionally saying riad and not a hotel because once you will experience how it is like to stay at riad, it will forever change your understanding of being comfortably accomodated... At Dar Bensouda, we really felt like being some ancient nobility, not only because of the facility itself, but also for the way we were treated!

The riad is beautifully restored anciend builind. It is very spacious, divided into two main parts. First one is "resting area" equipped with plenty of seating places, great pool where you can enjoy your meal or just have a chat with the staff or other guests. Second area is "accomodation area", separated from the first one. It is spacious and well decorated place, with only a few rooms. Some of them are on the ground floor (I found them to be less nice and less private), some rooms are at the first floor. This room was duplex, with the entrance and bathroom at the base and with the bedroom upstairs. This room was just amazing, perfectly clean, very private, with comfortable bed. I can not find proper words, you just need to look at the photos!!! I was just regretting that this was "friends stay" and not a couples stay, because this would be the way how to enjoy this room absolutely ;-)

Brakfast is incuded in the price, was a bit simple, consinsing of some bread, butter, jam and similair stuff. But manager allowed us to have it on the roof and this is very important part of this riad. Whilst taking nap, having breakfast or partying at night (we had a "little" party there) you can enjoy a spectacular panoramic view over the medina that surrounds the riad.

Everything is in a walking distace from the hotel, in 10 minutes you can be anywhere. For expample in 5 minutes we have reached famous tanneries... Just ask the hotel manager, he will be happy to help you with anything and also to tell directions how to return back, this medina was really a maze!


Hotel manager was really heplful. The booking was very easy, he arranged our airport pick up with our transportation through the medina maze directly to the riad. He also arranged our transporstion to the train station the following day.

We did not have any meal at the restaurant (I believe they do cook, they had a huge kitchen) - beacuse we went by a chance to restaurant Sekaya, where we had every tajine from their offering and they were the best ones we had during our stay at Morrocco... So if you would like to enjoy great meal with panoramic view over the medina from the roof top, just ask for the Sekaya restaurant and you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Take a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    78
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
323
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Arriving in the fes disheveled we were greeted by an agent of the riad who took us through winding pathways to get to the riad. We were warmly welcomed into an oasis of calm among the chaos that is the medina. Said, the manager offered us mint tea and cake while we soaked up the beauty and architectural splendor. Our rooms were double volume and the bathrooms exquisite. The service was which was the most mind blowing- no request too onerous. Our final night we requested an early 6am breakfast, which was served deliciouslyhot and on time.

Highly highly recommended and perfectly positioned, if we ever find ourselves in this historic city again it will be a must stay.

Room Tip: Take an official guide- we had Abdul arrange by the manager who was English speaking entertaining an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

we sadly left Fez a couple of days ago, after staying in the Riad Dar Bensouda for 3 nights. It was love at first sight. A beautiful building, restored only 2 years ago. The room was amazing, even though it was the cheapest of all the ones on offer. We also enjoyed the huge terrace with panoramic views over the city. Breakfast was nice, and the staff made it for us very early on our last day.
Said and the rest of the staff are forever accomodating and smiley. They send someone to pick you up, so the first time you do not need to worry about finding the place. Later on, they provide a map to help you come back quickly to the riad from the main streets. We never got lost when coming back to the riad, even though that is very normal to happen in Fez.
Would definitely recommend the place.After travelling throughout Morocco in 2 different trips, and staying on around 10 different places, Dar Bensouda is definitely the nicest of them all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanaroman2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Bensouda f, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
On behalf of the entire team of Dar Bensouda, we thank you for your positive comment on our traditional home, thanks to you we can continue to keep the authenticity and uniqueness of our architectural heritage,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graceville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2011

It is now two weeks after having left Dar Bensouda and we are still talking about it! Fes is mad and exciting and busy, and our daily retreat to the elegance and serenity of Riad Dar Bensouda was a gift. From the beautiful, simple and comfortable furnishings; to the easy availability of all modern conveniences (including WiFi); from the fantastic panoramic views from the rooftop; to the freshly squeezed orange juice and plentiful breakfasts - this was an experience to complete our stay in Fes, and Morocco. Said and his staff couldn't have been more attentive and eager to make our visit memorable. We did find it difficult to locate (and google maps was not accurate here) - but we phoned Said and he sent an employee to meet us to guide us to the riad. From there, Said provided us with a map locator and offered suggestions on how to navigate - and if lost, to contact the riad for immediate assistance. Just a fantastic experience - absolutely don't miss this one!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Bensouda f, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
On behalf of the entire team of Dar Bensouda, we thank you for your positive comment on our traditional home, thanks to you we can continue to keep the authenticity and uniqueness of our architectural heritage,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Having traveled around Morocco, including Marrakesh, Chef Chauoen and Fes, this was by far the most beautiful, clean and comfortable hotel/riad around. The staff were DELIGHTFUL, friendly and nothing was too much. The rooms were quite simply chic, elegant and eclectic. Sayed the manager and Imbrahim and Mohamed, two of the waiters were just incredible. The breakfast and the lunches we had we divine and I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

What an excellent experience.From the moment we were met by a memeber of staff who 'trolleyed' ourbags through the labrynth of streets to our farewell we were treated to an amazing stay! The Riad is most beautiful, the staff are warm, friendly and polite. Food was great, room was superb and FES was just as amazing too. Going back to the Riad at the end of a long day provided a haven of calm and peace.....and the roof terrace, it's view etc is to die for!!!!!

Room Tip: Double superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Ray1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at this lovely restored riad in the medina for 3 nights. It was an excellent choice and the staff were available to offer friendly advice and good service throughout. The meals (breakfast and dinner) were most enjoyable. We were met at the railway station and escorted to the riad which is essential since after 3 days we still had difficulty in finding our way through the maze! We will definitely recommend Dar Bensouda to anyone interested in visiting Fes.

Room Tip: We preferred to stay on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 98 in Fes
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 98 in Fes
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 98 in Fes
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 98 in Fes
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Address: 14, Zkak El Bgha | Elquettanine, Fes 30202, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Bensouda is an authentic old palace in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse. Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation. Dar Bensouda has two beautiful courtyards: the fountain courtyard around which eleven luxurious rooms and suites are arranged and the swimming pool patio with a leafy garden. Each room is individually decorated, air-conditioned, and has an en-suite bathroom with shower. The suites have a bathtub and a relaxing sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Bensouda Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing