We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
547
65
18
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
65
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasablanca suiteinterior gardenprivate hammamcooking classthe ownerorange treespastillaroof terracemint teafeel like familyhammam experienceevery morningatlas mountainsstayed longerbeautiful propertyvisit festile work
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 636 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2018

The place is gorgeous and the surrounding pleasant and relaxing.. Good location. Our room was nicely decorated. We stayed at the Fes suite. Large and had nice tub shower. Some problems with TV but it was the android box and we got it taken care, Wifi good. Nice terrace with lovely views. There was no kitchen or washing machine in the room, as mentioned in Booking.com. Front desk polite and accomodating. Ahlam and Youssra were helpful. Dinner was nice. We ate once there. They had arranged one day trip to Meknes and Volubilis. They also helped us for trip to the Desert trip to Marrakech( 3 days and 2 nights). It was nice, enjoyable but quite pricey. I should have shopped around. I noticed the final bill and the exchange rates were not compatible with current rates. It was higher and then with my credit card conversion from local currency to home currency I lose more!!! Breakfast was filling and satisfying. Some varieties daily during 3 days stay. On the whole a pleasant ( expensive ) stay!

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamkib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filala, Réceptionniste at Ryad Alya, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018


Thank you for your comment and for taking the time and sharing your impression with us and many other travelers. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time here in Riad Alya, Your stay with us here in Fez was really such a great honor and pleasure for us. Hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again you and your familly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

Upon arrival, you feel as though you've discovered a gem. Visually, the place is gorgeous and the location is excellent -- on the uphill fringe of the medina close to the Blue Gate. But sadly, the place isn't managed well, leaving tons of potential on the table.

Pros:
- beautiful
- location
- breakfast

Cons:
- Very hard beds
- maintenance issues with the a/c - it had no freon gas. Why wasn't it tested PRIOR to our arrival or when the weather got warm?
- linens unclean (found many hairs in blanket)
- drainage/sewer smells in rooms
- front desk kept ZERO change, even just a few dirham for tips, throughout the course of our stay
- not really Riad's fault, but neighbor has a rooster that crows at 4:30 am non-stop
- TVs with nearly zero channels -- why have them at all then?
- extremely high price quoted for one day tour guide. booking anything through hotel a total rip-off that goes beyond normal hotel mark-up
- one of our rooms had a connecting door to another room. it was not locked upon check in. manager said she'd lock it. never did, even after repeated requests.
- all of these issues were discussed with manager, who smiled and said they'd be addressed immediately, but they never were. Dishonesty with a smile. A sweep-under-the-rug mentality
- the most egregious -- we booked a hammam and massage at the Riad. When the time came to go down, the room was not hot and the main marble bed was not working, so we had a lukewarm hammam on a very narrow ledge. Only AFTER did the manager disclose upon our complaint that they weren't able to fully turn on the hammam, after first trying to claim that's how they were supposed to be. Why did they let us do it then, and spend our money, on a broken hammam? They'd have tried to get away with it if they could. No apology or refund offered. They just let us go through with it hoping we wouldn't notice. Very dishonest!
- Sketchy exchange rate -- they quote in euro, but then charge you in dirham, at an exchange rate less than market

To sum it all up, beautiful place with a great location and tasty breakfast, but some maintenance issues and negligent/unscrupulous management practices

Room Tip: Don't take a room that faces the medina with an exterior window unless you want to wake up to a rooster.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights recently and consider ourselves really fortunate to have sampled the myriad of delights on offer at such an outstanding Riad. The inner courtyard can only be described as an architectural gem and in my humble opinion should be granted UNESCO status. It would be easy to spend a day taking stunning pictures of the museum like interior, and marvelling at the filigree like embellishments adoring the walls, the tiles, the scent, lighting, water feature and orange trees were a delight to behold. The one negative was that such rare and stunning beauty made the other two riads that we stayed at in Morocco pale into insignificance.

Breakfasts were varied and interesting and the roof garden offered panoramic views of what really is a stunning city. The staff were passionate and focused, fluent in English and seemed determined to do whatever was necessary to make our stay memorable.I was very impressed by the evening meals that we had there. Luke warm tagine does not float my boat, but the lamb tagine cooked with prunes and apricots was positively volcanic and flavoursome when served up, just as it should be. We made the mistake of eating at 'The ruined garden' one night, and believe me, the gastronomic delights on offer are not in the same league as those at Riad Ahlam.

Negatives? Nothing particularly significant. The beds were hard and were not exactly sleep inducing.The layout of the bedrooms is quite strange and offered only limited storage space. We had to spend the last night in a different room because we messed our booking up. I could have done with a compass to help me to locate the loo and shower! Whilst on the subject of location, the riad is ideally situated, but my appalling (lack of) sense of direction still presented us with the opportunity to get hopelessly lost on numerous occasions. The landmarks that you see in broad daylight are rarely visible when you attempt the same journey at night time and vice versa! If I return to Fes or Marrakech, I'll take a wheelbarrow filled with sand with me!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filala, Responsable réception at Ryad Alya, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

We would like to thank you very much for your valuable feedback and for your kind remarks regarding our staff, accommodation and services. It was a great pleasure to we welcome you to Ryad Alya. We are glad to learn that we did meet your expectations during your recent stay in our Riad. Hope to see you in our Riad next coming to Fes .
all the best and warm regards!
Riad Alya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

The only place to stay in Fes. The riad was exquisite – the interior was gorgeous. Our room was huge with both a large soaking tub and shower. But aside from the place being a quiet oasis when you are in need of a break from the busy souks, the service was impeccable. From the front desk staff always willing to answer our questions, to the waiters in the restaurant, we felt genuinely welcomed. We did a cooking class with them that is a “not to be missed” experience – first getting a local’s view of buying supplies in the souk, and then later cooking authentic meals in the riad’s kitchen with their native cooks. The meals there were all delicious, as were the wines they served at dinner. We have some food allergies, and the hotel was meticulous about ensuring we only got things we could safely eat. We stayed only two days, yet by the time we left we felt like family. If we are ever so lucky as to visit Fes again, we wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: We loved the Casablanca room! It was huge!
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filala, Réceptionniste at Ryad Alya, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

We would like to thank you very much for your valuable feedback and for your kind remarks regarding our staff, accommodation and services. It was a great pleasure to we welcome you to Ryad Alya. We are glad to learn that we did meet your expectations during your recent stay in our Riad. Hope to see you in our Riad next coming to Fes .
all the best and warm regards!
Riad Alya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

Felt unwell on arrival and was so relieved to get a warm welcome and a super-comfortable room. Small Ryad with truly personal service. I’ve managed to lose the paper with all their names, but I had specially asked for it as really wanted to give them all a shout out - front of house and meal service were brilliant. Rooms overlook a typical Moroccan courtyard with an orange tree and fountain. Breakfasts were served on the roof (not quite warm enough for supper when we were there) food was excellent and reasonably priced. Do book, you won’t regret it.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank londonludditelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filala, Réceptionniste at Ryad Alya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

We would like to thank you very much for your nice feedback; it was a great pleasure to welcome you to Ryad Alya. Thanks for taking the time and sharing your impression with us and for your kind remarks regarding our staff, accommodation and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
All the best and warm regards!
Riad Alya Team !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews