We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in dozens of Ryads. This is the best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed in dozens of Ryads. This is the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Not only is it beautiful and detailed beyond words, but the team there is kind, warm, and makes you feel sincerely like family right away. I came here with two friends to do some photography work and make a video while in Fes and Morocco. We were all super-impressed and could not get over how wonderful everything was. I stayed in Morocco for about three weeks, and this was absolutely my favorite Ryad. In fact, we liked it so much that we made a video that is currently in production that shows the Ryad during bits of it. Maybe by the time you get see this, it will be out — Just Google "Trey Ratcliff and SmugMug and Morocco" and you'll see some of it in there!

Thanks again to Hassan and the incredible team there. Really so amazing — unforgettable!! :)

Room Tip: I stayed in two different suites. Both. Incredible. I also saw the other non-suite rooms which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    56
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
273
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Staying at Ryad Alya was a highlight of our trip to Morocco. First, it is gorgeous, from the courtyard where meals are served, to the terrace overlooking the city. Second, the food is excellent. We even took a cooking lesson in the Ryad kitchen, which was so much fun. Third, the Ryad is everything you would want in a hotel -- clean, quiet, comfortable, perfect location, excellent concierge assistance in setting up outings. But most important, the staff makes the experience special. From Hassan the manager, who repeatedly went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect, to Zuhir whose delightful presence enriched each meal, to the women in the spa who treated us to a rejuvenating hammam, the entire staff was professional, warm, welcoming, and competent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Ryad Alya is an excellent choice: great location, extremely helpful and accommodating manager and staff, comfortable rooms, and on top, it has gorgeous views from the terrace. The breakfast is abundant, and you can order dinner, too. I'd stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Exceptional and special - very warm and welcoming staff in an oasis of calm which is a stone's throw away from hustle and bustle of the medina. The ryad arranged a whole day tour guide for us who expertly navigated the medina. We had a totally superb stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location is perfect to visit the medina. It is a 5 minute walk. It is in a quiet location. The staff will do everything to make your stay worthwhile. The food is good and they help with a gluten free meal. Nice terrace on the roof looking over the medina.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderlinden1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Webster dictionary defines "superlative" as "an indication to the greatest degree of a particular quality," but I think a better definition would simply be the Ryad Alya in Fes, Morocco. From the moment I arrived in Fes to the reluctant moment I left, the manager of the Ryad Alya, Hassan, made certain that my wife and I enjoyed our stay to the fullest. The magnificence of the Ryad Alya extends further than excellent customer service, and also provides a beautiful terrace complete with an astounding view of the Old City and a distant mountain range. I highly suggest enjoying the Ryad Alya's food as well as their spa treatments during your stay, because both are an authentic, superlative Moroccan delicacy. -William

Room Tip: The Fes Suite will leave you breathless
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamThompson104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Excellent, top of the line hospitality/customer service; beautiful and CLEAN property, stunning terrace with a great view of Fes, GREAT, authentic Moroccan food (plus a free, big breakfast every morning)

I had the best Valentine's Day of my life at Ryad Alya. My sweetie and I were so enthralled and enchanted with the hotel that we did not want to leave (even to see Fes!). First of all, the hotel itself is a tourist attraction. The property is a 19th century palace, so it feels very exotic and, of course, it is not contrived. It is authentic, old Morocco, but beautifully updated. Pictures cannot do the place justice. Even if you already made plans in Fes, you must go visit this hotel just to see it. It is not describable with words. So, seriously: go see the damn place.

The hotel's spa is a must. It is very clean, professional, relaxing (dark). Hamams are great for your skin, and you seriously leave the hamam feeling like a new person. We did the hamam and massage on our first night.
FOOD. Eat their freaking food. Don't go out looking for something 'authentic'. Authentic food is AT the hotel. Four courses, wine, etc, etc. You owe it to yourself to have at least a dinner here. The food was delicious (and I'm a picky eater).

Customer Service: This is the hotel's best quality. Hassan MORE than took care of us. He literally stepped into our taxi from the airport and walked us back to the hotel. He gave us great recommendations the entire trip. Everything we needed, he provided. He was there at all times.
Even when we (sadly) had to check into a new hotel (we had already planned before arriving in Fes and had no idea how amazing Ryad Alya is), Hassan helped us arrange a car service to the airport and let us come back to the hotel to use the computer and eat a big breakfast on the hotel's terrace.

On Valentine's Day, he upgraded our room to the hotel's biggest suite. The Fes Suite is beautiful & really donated to us having the perfect Valentine's Day. The bath tub in this room is gorgeous. We could not believe Hassan's kindness & checked out knowing we have new friends in Fes. The entire staff is genuinely kind. Zahil, Abdullah and the owner were also wonderful and professional.

The great thing about this hotel is that it is in a perfect location, ideal for travelers who like to get out and see everything. It is also a quiet, relaxing, elegant place - so for the travelers who are just trying to get away are taken care of. Ryad Alya provides the best of both worlds. To top it off, the price is shockingly affordable.

Room Tip: The Fes Suite is made for couples. There is another room with two twin beds that looks good for frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing