We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Rcif(Fes)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$224
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of $423/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
$83
$79
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
539
63
18
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
63
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasablanca suiteinterior gardenprivate hammamcooking classthe ownerorange treespastillaroof terracemint teafeel like familyhammam experienceevery morningatlas mountainsstayed longerbeautiful propertyvisit festile work
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 626 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our family stayed at Ryad Alya for five days in December and I have to admit this was the best hotel we have ever stayed at from all perspectives (customer service, location, restaurant, hammam, quality of rooms, decor, views of Medina, and much much more). Hassan, the manager of the hotel, is a jewel! There was not a single question, not a single request, not a single arrangement that he did not attend to. Hassan did it with so much ease and professionalism and at the same time with a very positive attitude and always with a smile. We all fell in love with him and when we were leaving, my kids and I were all teary, we became good friends and we are hoping to see him again, either back in Morocco or here in the USA. The owner of the hotel, a sophisticated and a well spoken gentleman, was also very very attentive to all our needs. He made sure we are comfortable at his hotel, he always found time to ask us several times a day if there is anything at all we need help with. Zouhir is another huge asset of the hotel. He was our waiter, chef and our confidant during the whole stay. He makes the best mint tea! He woke up at 5 a.m. to prepare breakfast for us when we needed to catch an early plane and packed it nicely for us and made sure we have all our favorite goodies in there. Oh and breakfast at the Ryad is absolutely amazing, it was different every morning, and the variety was huge (including very exotic jams like tomato jam, carrot jam, onion jams, all just so yummy, plus all the five hundred pastries were so delicious). We had dinner three nights at the Ryad and we have to admit it was the best food we have had in the entire country (we stayed in Morocco for three weeks). Hammam was superb too, the girls who do the hammam and the massage provided great service. The rooms were very clean and very spacious with very tasteful decor, the bathroom was humongous. The courtyard of the Ryad was breathtaking with a beautiful orange tree growing in the middle. We will definitely return to Ryad Alya, hopefully soon, as it was really the best hotel we have ever stayed at. We miss its amazing staff!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Ryad Alya is an amazing place to stay in. It has this wonderful Andalusian style. It's very clean and the staff is very cheerful and helpful. When we arrived they offered us the famous mint tea and biscuits, which was a nice gesture for people just arriving after a long drive. The room was nice, although the twin bedroom had small single beds opposite each other. I loved the bathroom, it was spacious and had good quality compliments and toilet paper. There was abundant hot water and the heating worked perfectly. The heater in the bathroom is handy and it dries the towels rapidly as well as any washed garments. The breakfast was different from any other ryad we've been to. The chef offered us some inventions like rice pastel, it tasted really good, tomato jam which I never heard of in my life, but I loved it. It was all great The girl that works there was very helpful. I phoned her when we arrived to Fes and she waited for us in the street to show us the direction to the ryad and she talks very good English. Mr Hassan also talks very good English, which is something not common in Morocco.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oralsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We recently stayed at Ryad Alya over New Year.
We were greeted on arrival by the staff and made to feel very welcome. Hassan the manager was hospitable, generous and polite. Through out our stay the staff were extremely kind and thoughtful and couldn't do enough for us. They were always on hand for advice and ideas. We ate at the Ryad and the food was tasty and fresh. The breakfasts were also very generous. The location is great and the Ryad is quiet and restful. The view from the roof terrace is wonderful. I definitely recommend Ryad Alya as a romantic break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank visitors01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Ryad Alya is visually stunning. Those travellers that want their accommodation to be authentic and individual will relish this property. If you want the plain vanilla box of a corporate hotel then stay away. This is a triumph . The owner (who was present when we visited) has employed the best craftsmen to ensure the restoration is of the very highest quality.

The name Ryad Alya is appropriate as the property boasts a high roof terrace that overlooks the Medina of the city. It is a large size and is suitable for passing time looking at the view. Unfortunately for us it rained the whole time we were in Fez so the roof terrace was less than useful. But this didn't matter as the inner courtyard is roofed and comfortable and our room was equally comfortable.

There are also two notable members of staff that deserve a mention Laila and Zouhir were extremely helpful and welcoming and had a genuine interest in us and our experience of Fez. They are a real asset to the Ryad.

We also opted for a meal in the Ryad (the rain dampened our enthusiasm for exploring). This was an excellent choice. It was the Moroccan home cooking but beautifully cooked.

Well done to the team at Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a spectacular but compact building. It has been beautifully restored. We loved being there so much that we hardly left it. This was our return for a final three nights in Fez before going home and it acted like a rest cure.
So many good things have been written and they are all true. Our room was beautiful and the central heating kept it very warm in December. But no hotel becomes successful without good staff and here Hassan leads a terrific team. Everyone was kind and nothing ever too much trouble.
The food was the best we had in the country and once discovering that we stayed in for dinner each night. That was served as well as is possible with tidbits of interesting conversation from the most professional and kind waiter. He was even up at 5am to give us coffee and send us off to the airport with a packed breakfast and some cookies. It was a terrific stay.
Our only difficulty was with the firmness of the mattress, which the staff overlaid with blankets. Some memory foam topper mattress covers would be good. However, I have not noticed others mentioning this, so it may really be my issue! Other than that, everything was perfect.
A highlight is the terrace from which you get epic views of the city and the mountains. I should think it would be a wonderful place to eat in the warmer weather.
Very highly recommended.
Mike B

Room Tip: I think all the rooms looked to be great. It really depends on which most appeal when you look through the options. The nice thing is being able to book a specific room or suite. You get what you want!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews