We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ryad - friendly staff and great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely ryad - friendly staff and great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ryad Alya was lovely! We stayed in the Ouarzazate Room for 4 nights, which was very nice. However, a note to couples - it is not a double room, it is a twin room with two singles at either end of the room. The room itself was big and clean, as was the bathroom. We had a few issues with the shower not having hot water (but this was mostly fine as it was so hot in Fes anyway). The staff at the ryad are extremely friendly, particularly Hassan, Enas, and Fatah! We were greeted with delicious tea and cookies upon arrival, so delicious that we ordered them on another occasion (for €6). Hassan and Enas even gave us a box of cookies as a leaving gift, as they knew we'd liked them so much! Along with the staff, the other great aspect of Ryad Alya was the amazing breakfast. We had such an array of foods (Moroccan pancakes, bread, cakes, yoghurt, eggs, orange juice, coffee, hot milk, tomato jam - which was very tasty - and more!) and so much of each that we never needed to eat until dinner! The location is also good - just outside the main part of Fes Medina so quiet and hassle-free. Thank you Ryad Alya!

Room Tip: The Ouarzazate Room is a twin room and has two singles on either end of the bed. It isn't a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    50
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
247
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely riad in Fez. We stayed in a number of riads during our visit to Morocco, but Riad Alya was by far the best experience. The riad itself if beautiful and reminded us of the decor at the Alhambra in Spain. The service provided by all staff - particularly Hassan, the receptionist and Fatah who served the meals - was very gracious. We ate dinners at the riad and the food and service by Fatah was over the top. We would definitely recommend this riad to other travellers!
Richard and Rebecca

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very beautiful riad with excellent services.Strongly recommended to stay there and it is easy to find it.We tried also hammam for me and massage for my boyfriend and were very good.I will stay again there the next time I visit Fes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sa0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful ryad, easily one of the best in Fez. No need to look anywhere else, this is definately the one. Wonderfully restored homely ryad with very proud owners and staff ready to serve and assist with anything you need. The staff were lovely extremely helpful and great fun. Would be a great choice if you were also visiting with children. We loved staying here and would not dream of staying anywhere else in Fez. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomson203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I (along with four friends) stayed at Ryad Alya for two nights the end of April, 2013. We arrived in the evening after landing in Casablanca and driving to Fes (and making stops in Meknes and Volubilis). We were all rather tired when we finally arrived.

We were met with kindness and warmth by Hamid and Fatah. And "Moroccan Whiskey" - our first experience with mint tea. After a long journey it was so lovely to be welcomed in such a professional yet homey way.

The riad is beautiful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The food was delicious too. I have a medically restricted diet (Celiac disease) and I am unable to eat gluten (wheat, barley, malt, etc.). After explaining my situation to Fatah he quickly understood and offered me other options. While my friends were enjoying a feast of breakfast breads and treats, Fatah brought me a bowl of sweetened rice.

With a great location, clean rooms and such kind employees I highly recommend a stay at Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is awesome! From the very start, with correspondence by email to Hamin the receptionist, (which by the way was very prompt), to the awesome service throughout our whole stay! Hamin, Anas Amine, and Fatah, went out of there way to make our 26th wedding anniversary a very memorable time! We ate supper there at the Riad and it was delicious! Hamin went out the day of our anniversary and bought us a cake which was shared with the other guests as well as the staff. They played music and Fatah waited on us like we were royalty! The Casablanca Suite is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS as well as the whole Riad! The Riad is conveniently located within walking distance to the entrance of the medina. I really can't say enough good about this Riad!

Room Tip: The Casablanca Suite is as awesome as the pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nagatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The riad is exquisite and has been restored to a very high standard - everywhere you will find a feast for the eye. The location in the medina is good and it is quite simple to find one's way to the gate for taxi etc. Dinner in the riad was our greatest treat - not only was the food of the highest standard but it was delivered with great panache and loving care by the extraordinary Fatah, whose match, I am certain, is not to be found in all of Morocco. We were also well looked after by Hassan, the riad's very loyal receptionist. Hassan answered all our queries very promptly and nothing was too much trouble. He genuinely wants you to have the best possible experience in the riad and in Fes. These two employees are such assets! We were a little disappointed by the new manager who could perhaps learn that it will be more appreciated to listen carefully to the guest's needs and timetable. I'm certain he will find this out with time. We enjoyed our stay very much - would advise, however, that Fes is a two day stay only - it is worth making that stay at Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilysgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#11 of 96 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#10 of 96 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#6 of 96 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 96 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing