We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience..”
Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Verus
Ranked #31 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Riad is really beautiful. Rooms are clean. Only thing which disturbs about this riad is that you feel like everyone is trying to rip you off here. There was no alchol as it was Ramadan so the guy who said he was the owner of the hostel sold us tiny bottle of beers for 5 euros. And while we were leaving we were said they can arrange a grand taxi for us to the station for 70 Dirhem. We did not accept it and we went to the station only for 10 Dirhems.. But, despite all it was the best riad in Morrocco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asteroidb612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Riad Verus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 667 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

Clean, safe and friendly. The staff were prepared to help you any way possible, no matter how off beat the request. Great location too once you know where it is (they come out to find you if you are lost).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

stayed here with my fiance and had the best time possible. the riad is really clean and safe and fun with AC, free Wifi, yummy breakfasts and good dining. our suite was beautiful and fresh linen and huge plasma satellite tv with chill out area in the room. thanks nour and leanora and josef for making us have such a great time...will be back and for sure pass on a recommendation!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerfairyinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

As soon as you come through the door of Riad Verus into the central courtyard you can feel yourself relaxing! Compared to the busy, dirty, loud medina this Riad is wonderful, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Leanora has restored it beautifully and is a great hostess. We stayed in the Caecilius room which was lovely - having a fridge in the room makes a huge difference and the iPod dock is a fab little luxury!

Breakfasts were good, as were the dinners we had in the Riad. The staff are also really attentive and helpful.

I have to say though that I would also agree with the reviewer below about the tours of the medina - we were also left to find our own way back one day (no mean feat), coincidentally after we had said we weren't interested in buying anything from our guides' friends' leather shop! This may well happen with lots of tours in Fez - it does seem to be the way, but just be aware of it. I imagine if you book an official tour guide it wouldn't be the case.

All in all though, a lovely start to our honeymoon and a lovely Riad to relax in and escape the hustle and bustle of the medina.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at the Riad Verus for 3 nights. Its a beautiful building, well restored, conveniently located, and the staff was incredibly friendly. For sleeping purposes I would recommend this Riad, but please read on.

My one suggestion to fellow travelers is to avoid tours offered through the Riad. Our first day in town we signed up for a Medina tour which lead us into an array of "hard sale" situations. Leather shops, carpet shops, spice and herbal shops. In the end our tour guide abandoned us without notice at a leather tannery and left us to find our way back home through the confusing medina on our own at dusk.

In addition we signed up for a camel tour of the Sahara desert which turned out to be quite overpriced and did not live up to it's description. We were told we would make multiple stops along the way to see beautiful waterfalls, the valley of the monkeys etc. Nothing of the sort ever materialized and in the end we found ourselves in yet another carpet shop receiving a hard sales pitch before embarking on a less than impressive excursion into the desert.

Keep this in mind - sort things our for yourself and you'll be alright. My recommendation comes with an (*) next to it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 900sherbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is just a great place. It's clean, tidy, the staff are friendly and helpful! The building itself is so beautiful on the inside, it's unbelievable. If it seems a little pricey, it's worth every penny! You will NOT regret staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was so excited to stay at Riad Verus-the pictures, the price and the location made
it ideal for my minibreak in Fes. The riad is stunning and the rooms are comfortable and clean. I stayed for two nights in the 'dorm' room-a lovely room with three beds. Lennora, one half of the husband wife couple that run it, was incredibly helpful and welcoming-she gave me loads of good tips and was fun to talk to! The location is great and you soon figure out the winding route to get there and the mint tea they serve is delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#54 of 216 in Fes
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 69 in Fes
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 216 in Fes
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#20 of 216 in Fes
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#27 of 216 in Fes
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $22 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Verus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAPPY STAY RIAD - Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market, Semester at Sea groups, Foreign Groups and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. So much fun to be had here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing