We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with friendly staff and good breakfast.”
Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Verus
Ranked #39 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place with friendly staff and good breakfast.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Staying for three nights, I was invited to stay in a luxurious room until a minor issue in room booked was fixed. Great service!

In general: Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice roof terrace with great view, strong WiFi signal, soft blankets, hot showers.

Highly recommended really.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
So pleased you liked the hot showers, soft blankets, good breakfast, friendly staff and strong wifi and the free upgrade whilst the room was being repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    75
    50
    29
    44
See reviews for
32
109
124
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and in terms of the room / location everything was fine.

However, in terms of service we weren't as happy as others:
- we made our booking and later they tried to increase the price on us (charge us something additional) which we denied and they decided to give us the original price....so it was fine, just watch out to agree on everything in written
- we asked for a tour guide to see the medina and as recommened in tour guides we asked the guide for his official acreditation to ensure he was "official". Unfortunately neither the guide nor the riad staff took this, from my point of view, unoffensive question rather personally: the guy from the riad even came to the entrance to complain about how we were distrusting him, and that this was inappropriate..... Anyways, the guide was official but the "scene" was very understandable to me. Also, the guide turned out to be rather useless (be aware of guides that speak 3-4 languages in MArrocco in general....they tend to speak 2-3 words per language), but I'm not sure whether that's because there are no great stories to tell about the medina or because of the guide's quality.

Anyways, this might look more negative than intended: the location, rooms, price and general service are all fine, there were just a few details I wanted to let you know about. Also, this is a "young" type of place so it's easy to make connections with fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are pleased you found us to be a nice Riad and that we offer alof of activities and services. Yes you were in your right to ask if the guide was professional but sometimes Moroccan men take things personally and maybe its a case of needing thicker skins. However please rest assured that we always offer professional guides and we are pleased you found it easy to make friends, liked the location and room and price, with regards to the change in price, I had your booking as for one person and then there were two people but we decided to keep the price as agreed and this was settled upon checkin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Beautiful communal areas and good breakfast. Helpful English speaking owner. However, first time we've had to pay up front for our 2 day stay and we had to give credit card details in case of breakages. Perhaps they have had bad experiences in the past. The guide they found for us was informative but took us to places where we were given the hard sell; the Berber Pharmacy was particularly a rip off- our excuse is that it was our first day-and I am fairly sure i saw money paid to the guide which was annoying. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so pleased you found the communal areas to be so beautiful and that the breakfast was great. Yes we do ask for up front payment due to past experiences and also a finanical assurance for the hotel as is common worldwide at many established hotels against breakfages and damages. As for money being paid to the guide this is common place all over the world and doesnt necesarily mean the money being handed over was related to you, as I am sure you are aware this is the case in Egypt, Turkey, Tunisia....the list is endless. Any person bringing a client in is entitled to a brokerage fee, as are booking.com for introducing a client to a hotel, so is an intermediary for brokering a sale, and is not something to be taken as sinister, it is just business. What must be remembered is that professional guides take a small percentage of a sale, whereas faux guides add on to the sale a price, so taking a PG is always better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a nice place to stay, and decently located in Fes. Close to safe parking for 20 Dirham (about $2.32/night), the parking attendants will ask for 40... but they will take 20. It's a beautiful place to stay, and breakfast is included.

The only negative I had was they surprised us with a list of rules (like curfews, eating/smoking in your room, etc etc), and imposed instant "fines" of 100 Euro for "infractions". I understand their effort is to try to keep people safe. My problem is I'm over 30... I'm a "grown up" and am not a huge fan of being "told" what I will and will not do... especially by someone who should be working for me. I would respect this a lot more if it were a "here's a briefing on the area for your safety, and if you smoke in your room we'll charge you to clean it". On the other hand, I get the fact that they cater to a much younger crowd... but still think they should not be in the business of levying fines upon customers.

Aside from that, it was a great experience. The breakfast was delicious, and the room was more than adequate. They even found us a guide... although my impression was he was getting a commission from all the shops he took us to.

If you are looking for a resort atmosphere, this probably isn't your bag (although they offer massages, and other luxury services for a fee)... however if you want a nice, fairly inexpensive place to stay in Fes, I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was nice, and I recommend doing so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pick9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for finding us to be a nice place to stay in Fes. Yes totally appreciate a guest not liking being told about regulations but we have these in place as there have been problems with some of the younger clientelle in the past and have leanrt from experiences, but as a mature couple we apologise if this was misinterpreted and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are so pleased you found the Riad to be so beautiful and that the room was more than adequate and also that you liked the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Riad Verus is a fantastic hostel. The building itself is stunning with a central courtyard which was perfect to meet other travellers, along with a rooftop terrace which gave you a beautiful view over Fes. It is located perfectly in the Medina and provides tour guides which i highly recommend as they can guide you through the narrow and winding streets! The staff were amazing - so helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was the best free breakfast i have ever eaten at a hostel! I highly recommend Riad Verus! It is a must if you are staying in Fes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keelinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
So pleased you thought Riad Verus to be a fantastic hostel and that you enjoyed so much the breakfast and all the oportunities to meet other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A stunning building with eccentricities and intricacies in whatever direction you look! Beautifully designed and homey feeling! After only 3 nights felt like I lived there and was part of the furniture! This is thanks to how well you are taken care of by the owners! And being Morocco it is nice to know someone is looking after you. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and I appreciated this immensely. Anything you need or want just ask! Definitely loved my cosy female dorm room, breakfast, the roof terrace, but especially the communal chill out lounge on the ground floor. Hands down the most social atmosphere I have found in a hostel before. Great place to meet new people and swap travel stories. Definitely book the hammam experience... One of my top 3 most interesting things I have experienced in the over 6 years of travelling the world... TRY IT!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed the activities on offer aswell as the Hammam experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

You will spend a lot of time waiting, waiting to be checked in, waiting for breakfast, then when it comes it is with a foul mood and often cold. Breakfast is ridiculously late in the morning, only after everyone has sat starving in the cramped lobby waiting for something to eat. One tiny toilet and shower for the whole hostel. Location isn't so good for the town. All overpriced, dorms and rooms, they clearly are trying to extract as much money from having good reviews on tripadviser as they can.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we value all our clients comments, however I would like to clarify on some of the points raised>
Check in is done speedily, I am sorry if you were kept waiting, usually guests are checked in once they have had a welcome drink and I am sorry if this was not done in the 10 mins target we have in place. Breakfast is served from 09.30 til 11.30 and as well as the patio we also have breakfast in bedrooms, on balconies and up on the terrace, we do have a full house so I am sorry if you felt cramped downstairs, this is something we will address.

As for the bathrooms, from the 8 rooms, only 2 rooms have shared bathrooms, the rest are ensuite, there are 2 shared shower rooms for 6 people and 3 toilets for the 6 people aswell. Prices for the dorm rooms are from as little as 12 Euros a night.

Location is within the town in the residential area where the majority of the 5 star Riads are located and within 10 mins walk of the Blue Gate, we are in the safest part of Fes away from the hustle and bustle but still close to the main souks and monuments.

I wish you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#53 of 216 in Fes
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#20 of 216 in Fes
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 216 in Fes
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#27 of 216 in Fes
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#4 of 69 in Fes
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Property: Riad Verus
Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Verus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAPPY STAY RIAD - Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market, Semester at Sea groups, Foreign Groups and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. So much fun to be had here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing