We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so satisfied...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Verus
Ranked #34 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so satisfied...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice and clean raid, and the first impression was very friendly. They give us a good room. And we did book just one night there. And we desited to stay one more, and they sad we can, we ll probably just have to switch the room. And that was fine with us...but nobody told us, that they will move our things. They packed up our backpacks and move them to another room, without our knowledge. I think that nobody give you the right to pack you guests stuff. And at the end the manager sad, that we should check out by 12.00. But in the morning they said that we can stay. And the price of one night was higher then on booking.com. So if you go there, be careful, they dont trick you, like they did us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladySlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the review and we are pleased you thought it was a nice clean Riad and friendly too. You stayed in our value priced room which is cheaper than anything you will find on Booking.com in the morning you mentioned that you would like to stay another night and we said that you would have to change rooms which you were fine about. Come 12 noon, check out time you were nowhere to be found and I had another guest moving into the room, so as not to charge you for making this room now not habitable I asked the maids to carefully pack up your luggage and move them to another room, your new one. I think that had you been the new guests arriving you would not have appreciated having to wait until 5pm for the maids to get into the room to clean and make new beds because previous clients hadn`t checked out. We did what we had to do in this scenario and saw no other option. I am sorry that you felt dissatisfied with what we did but we were left with no other choice and by no means were we out to trick you? All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    73
    50
    29
    39
See reviews for
31
107
115
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had a great experience at this beautiful riad. Youssef (spelling?), the receptionist, is very friendly and helpful and works very hard, as does the woman who cleans/cooks. The two of them work tirelessly to keep the place running smoothly. The food is good, and you can get free Moroccan mint tea, which is a fantastic perk.

I was there during Halloween, so they threw a party on the terrace. There was free food and a shisha. They ran out of drinks kind of early on, but we all had a grand time chatting, eating, smoking, and banging on drums.

The location of the riad is decent, because it isn't too far a walk to a taxi or the souks. For those of us cursed with poor internal compasses, it can be hard to find, but if worst comes to worst you can always pay some kid the equivalent of a couple dollars to take you there.

It isn't too expensive, especially if you stay for more than 3 nights, because the fourth night is free during most of the year. I ended up paying about 21 USD per night total. I enjoyed the fact that although it's priced like a youth hostel, it hosts people of all ages, so you get to meet a wider variety of people than you would find at a youth hostel.

The walls are thin and noise travels through easily, but it didn't bother me because I sleep like a rock.

I would recommend this place to others, and I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next romp through Morocco (whenever that may be).

Room Tip: The private room has no windows and thus gets no sunlight. I would go for a dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Riad so much and that you would certainly return again one day. Thank you for your compliments about our staff and how they tirelessly work very hard to maintain standards and to make sure all the guests have an excellent stay. So delighted you enjoyed the free Halloween party we laid on for all our guests, every week we aim to have a BBQ and we are pleased your stay coincided with one of the best parties we have had this year! We will post photos up so you guys can see. Glad you liked the free Moroccan tea during your stay and the cleanliness of the Riad and the atmosphere too of a mixed age lot of guests and that despite it being hostel prices there is a sense of decency and high standard to the Riad that is hard to come by. Thanks for pointing out to future guests that without printed directions it could be hard to find the Riad alone, worth noting that from the Batha fountain we do have sign posts on the walls and to be wary of the faux guides who will show you the way for a tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came in Morocco for 3 weeks trip, Fes was our last 4 days. We found this riad via tripadvisor. The bed are always clean and well done, the cleaning lady «a plier» our clothes (don't know the word in english... she stored our clothes) Anyways....

Came here with one of my friend, we shared a 3 beds room with an other guy that became a good friend of us.

People are young, yesterday we had a Halloween party, we were all on the terrace, good moment with cool people.

We recommend it if you want to pay a low price for a nice place. It's in the medina, not far away from everything. Good is excellent (bred, eggs, chocolate, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, etc)

We had the room for 170 DH each.... Book by internet like hostelworld.com you might save money.

Have a good trip !

Room Tip: We were 2 friends in a 3 beds dorm room... You might have the bedrooms for you alone like we had for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssboulanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are delighted you had an excellent time at the Riad and you liked the Halloween party we laid on for the guests, sorry that the booze run out but you guys did drink the house dry! We are pleased you found the staff to be so accommodating, how the maid would neatly fold your clothes for you every day as she did housekeeping, how you felt that the Riad was very clean, your beds made very well each day and you were made to feel very welcome and you had such an enjoyable time with your fellow roomie. We are also so pleased you liked the filling breakfast included in the price and all in all you felt that the Riad was excellent value for your money. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Rooms are all centered around the beautiful patio, the Center and meetingplace of this Riad. The patio is highly decorated, like the traditional moroccan architecture as you find it in Fes. Rooms are very clean and the interior is in style and cosy. You really feel like a little king in an palace. The service is good, they can provide everything you need. Little tours and some entertainment are organised as well! It truly is a great place with a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickmjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you liked the Riad and the asthetics of the place and how you liked all the entertainment laid on and the tours on offer. We are pleased you were made to feel like a King.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This has been definitely the worst hostel in Morocco. We have already informed Lonely Planet.

- Noor, the owner, is a very, very strange guy; the first thing he told us was that he likes to make money; well, maybe making money by ripping off tourists
- you have to give them all your credit card details which they will not throw away (like they promise when you give them your details)
- breaking the hostel rules results in a 100 Euro fine ("Girls groups and girls alone must be back in the Riad by 11 pm for their own safety")
- horrible rooms: we paid 40 Euros for a room with bunk beds; they did not fix our lock, our room was open for 2 days; the shared bathroom was very, very dirty
- there are a lot of negative reviews with a good rating on hostelworld.com - this is really strange; just read them and you will find out
- breakfast only from 9:30 on; if you want to eat earlier, you have to pay for it; making the laundry costs half a euro apiece, which is incredibly expensive
- the hostel is quite far away, we felt really uncomfortable at night
- you have to pay additional 4 euro taxes per person/night; we never paid that much in Morocco

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mario J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We were very upset to read your review and I would like to take the time to remark on some of the points raised in your review...

Noor is a very down the line guy, he is frank yes and maybe somethings were lost in translation at check in but it seems harsh to publicly vilify him on this website.

It is our policy to do a card authorisation on every booking that comes through the doors, as is the standard procedure in most hotels worldwide. We need to safeguard ourself against theft, damages so we do a swipe of cards, this information is destroyed upon check out and we run a very tight professional outfit here.

Yes we have rules in place, again like any reputable hotel worldwide, Morocco is a Muslim country where it is not common for women to be roaming the streets late at night and in order to mitigate trouble we do ask girls alone for their own safety to be back by 11pm, from personal experience myself I would never want to be out by myself at that time, perhaps in Europe this is the norm, but here in a totally different culture you are encouraging an attack and so yes I am strict on this but I think that if your 18 year old sister was staying here and something happened to her, then you would question why the hotel had not warned her of the dangers. At the end of the day I am responsible for the safety of my guests and I am not prepared to take the risks.

The room you stayed in is small yes but on tight budgets this is a great option, you have heating, shower facilities, breakfast, free wifi and damn comfortable mattresses. I was most surprised to read that you thought one of the shower rooms was not clean, our maids pride themselves on doing a really thorough cleaning job, especially in wet rooms but your points have been made and we will now be cleaning these areas 5 times a day to ensure this is not raised again.

As for locks, all our dorm rooms are non lockable from the outside but lock with catches from inside, as stated on the website you booked through but we do have individual lockers for clients possessions.

Again on the website we state that breakfast is from 09.30 as you were aware all the rooms face onto a beautiful courtyard which is where breakfast is served, so as to minimise disturbance in the mornings we serve breakfast from this time so our guests can have a lie in. There is also not alot to do in Fes before 10 am, most of the shops are shut, the markets are still opening and no museam is yet open. However I wish you had told me at the time that you wanted to go off exploring at the crack of dawn and I would have prepared up a packed breakfast or asked one of the cooks to come in early for you.

Cleaning is an additional service you can choose or not, we charge the same price as in town, 5 Dhm a piece of clothing, many hotels charge at least 5 Euros for trousers, so in comparison we could be seen as a bargain.

You also mention about the tax, another factor that is stated on the website prior to booking, so I feel I cannot be held liable for information that was available before you booked the place, reviews good or bad are subject to the individual, you didnt like our place but many others have and I feel confident with the other great reviews I have received.

We are really sorry that you felt so unhappy with your experience here - we are not the worst place in Morocco. 99% of our clients have an awesome time here. We wish you both the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

1 night here was enough.
the smallest room ever.
i booked a single room with private toilet and i founded a small wardrobe with extra super small toilet. crazy!
it was my room.
i changed my money with a good rate exchange for the manager... i needed it.

i do not come back here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, yes you did get a good exchange rate, 10.86 Dhm to the Euro, the same rate in the bank. As for the room you booked, you booked an INTERIOR SINGLE ROOM WITH SHOWER, AIR CON, HEATING AND SATELLITE TV, TOILET OUTSIDE and this is what you were given. For 20 Euros you had breakfast included and tax. You got an amazing deal and 99% of our clients love this room, we are sorry you felt so negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This riad is very pretty, each room is delightfully decorated and the detail in typical Moroccan style makes it lovely to stay in. The first night our shower was not functioning so to apologise we were offered a free upgrade and dinner which was lovely from the owner.

We did however feel that the staff were not as friendly or honest as other places we stayed in morocco. For example, we wanted to use our own guide that we had been recommended however the riad insisted on using their guide. The first guide was great (Siad) but we did end up In a carpet shop. The next day our guide was not very talkative and could not speak a lot of English, he also didn't explain any history to us.

The day trip to Maknes and the roman ruins is well worth while. It is very expensive however and I'm sure you could get it cheaper if you organized it yourself. We went in a group of 4 and the price of the car was €240 for the day and this does not include a guide.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but we just found the staff to be very focused on money and they could have been nicer.

Also the noise is an issue, we hardly slept one night due to workers and people shrieking in the street.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite has a great bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyAndTomKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for the review and how you liked your free upgraded room and the decor of the building making it one beautiful Riad. I apologise about the noise on the street, this is something unfortunately we have no control over and we do our best to try and move on people from talking loudly on the street and we do employ a guardian to try and tell people to be quiet when they pass our property. As for the tour guide, each Riad is authorised in Fes to work with specific guides and although you could have used your own, we personally vet the guides who apply for permission to work with our clients and we know that they are honest and straightforward and we had no knowledge of your referral or even if he was legitimate, so sorry for this but we are glad you liked who you had, the guide you had on the 2nd day was not hired for history but to take you back to the carpet shop as you had requested to go back to continue haggling! As for the tour to Volubilis, yes the price is just 1200 Dhm but there were 4 of you who went and the car was only authorised for 3 so we had to hire a minivan which doubled the price but the driver did incorporate a tour of the Ramparts which made a saving of 500 Dhm, the car with the conversion rate was in fact just 210 Euros.
I am sorry you felt unhappy but we did explain this to you at the time of taking the tour so I am sorry you felt it was not resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#65 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 59 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#24 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 59 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tahrya
Dar Tahrya
#42 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Property: Riad Verus
Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Verus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAPPY STAY RIAD - Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market, Semester at Sea groups, Foreign Groups and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. So much fun to be had here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing