We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs practise!”
Review of Riad Jamai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Jamai
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

the welcome was excellent.the taxi was waiting as arranged, the two young men were exceptionally friendly and sorted out problems very quickly.they were very efficient in organising guides, taxis etc and were able to recomend places to go etc and the view from the terrace was awesome!the riad is beautiful and easy to find if you ask the taxi drivers for the lycee moulay rachid.however,breakfast and dinner were served at a given time not within a time period.both were late times.dinner was expensive and mediocre. the first room was tiny.the bathroom was miniscule with the shower spraying over the loo.i asked to be moved to a room with a bath(which i had requested) and was moved instantly to a suite at a much higher rate,which had the biggest bath ever but i found out that the air con didn't work and the cockroach in the bathroom was an unwelcome guest!the bathroom was not cleaned.i moved again to another suite but that was not cleaned or serviced.the pool was dirty. the managers sat in the only lounge watching the only tv in the house with their friends so there was nowhere for the guests to sit and guests felt as though they were intruding on the managers'privacy.it was noisy as the rooms were overlooking the lounge.the facilities given on the website are not there!no safe,bar,beach brollys,newspapers,meeting room,heating in the pool,nothing in the small rooms except beds and possibly a chair!please note,the riad does not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 165 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

**Tip!! - Be sure to consult the Riad Jamai's official website and print their listed address and map, before trying to find the riad by taxi in Fez. It took us close to 2hrs and the aid of many town people, police, and taxi drivers befor ultimately being able to find the riad.
Once we finally arrived, the riad was lovely! Brothers Mohammad and Adnan were very attentive and helpful. The service was great, the food wonderful (large breakfasts and decadent dinners), all was clean, and we even had laundry service upon request. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (the Canelle) - it really wouldnt kill them to invest in at least a fan for the room, as we felt we were sleeping in a hamman at night ;) The more spacious suites seemed to be equiped with A/C. The dipping pool and roof deck were nothing special, but did provide us with an alternative place to cool/lounge in the afternoons and evenings. There wasnt much going on in the immediate neighborhood, but close to the medina. All in all, the riad was welcoming and our stay was enjoyable. Would definitely recommend for those looking to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisg143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We required the help of half the people in the neighborhood in order to finally find this beautiful riad. Actually, after being instructed by kind new friends on the train from Marrakech to ask for "Siddi Bojida, College Moulay Rashid" when we got a taxi, we were actually dropped off only a block from the riad. Sadly, we did not know this because there were no signs for the riad and, though there were many people around this bustling area, no one seemed to know of Riad Jamai. Finally, with the help of some very kind young men, we found Jamai and were welcomed to this stunning place by the cheerful managers. They kindly offered to serve us dinner, though we were very late, and it was much appreciated. Our room was one of the smallest--simple but pretty--and our only complaint was that the shower was not well designed for the room (easily flooded floors). We did see some of the larger suites and they were fantastic, so if you're able to afford one, they seem well worth the money! The building itself, though you would have no idea from the area or from the street, is just gorgeous--intricate tile and woodwork, a lovely pool, and a rooftop terrace with beautiful views over the city. The breakfasts were huge and delicious, and the cooks were very friendly. So, our one recommendation would be to make sure that you know how to find this riad before arriving in Fes. Other than that, we highly recommend this riad. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meekles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location was quite good. We soon realized how to get to the old medina by foot. The two brothers in charge at the hotel for an absent owner, did their best, but they lacked experience. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, so we got upgraded to "Saffron" and "Chocolat". Two VERY nice spacious rooms. Unfortunately, the next day we had to move into the room we had originally booked, even though the rooms we had occupied stayed empty and not prepared. The shower flooded with water pouring down the 3 flights of stairs. They moved us yet to another room. It was tiny and the toilet had a bad smell. On the positive side...the breakfast was very nice, and the terrace had a great view, but when we were there, the seats had no cushions. The staff was friendly, but only the cook really worked hard! The riad is over'priced for what it offers. May we suggest the Moroccan-owned hotel across the street from the Blue Door off the medina in Fez. It offered more, for less.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

stayed for 2 nights. the owner/ manager was very helpful though they are not that fluent in english (i think we'd better learn french).the newly renovated rooms are so chic! we stayed in one of the cheapest (the blue rooms that cost 50Euros a night.)- maybe i'm not used to staying in a closed room with no windows that's why i felt a bit uneasy. there's this weird smell too coming out from the bathroom, so beware. towels are clean and white, and the bed linens too so no need to worry about that.

they toured us to the other rooms, which i think is really a lot better than the room we stayed at. dinner is overpriced and satisfactory. but the view of fez at the rooftop is a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ha-na-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Merijn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Venez en période creuse pour être sur qu'un client plus disant ne vous prenne votre chambre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fadhel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 101 in Fes
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#4 of 101 in Fes
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#43 of 101 in Fes
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 101 in Fes
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jamai

Address: 31 Oued Lahriki | Sidi Boujida, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $52 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jamai 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Jamaï is situated in the centre of the medina of Fez in Morocco, in the Andalusia district, it will take you to a bewitching atmosphere of flavors.Cumin, coriander, saffron…. Come to taste the charms of the Moroccan life, and discover the rooms and suites of Riad Jamaï all decorated with their most beautiful assets: traditional materials, voluptuous cloths, wall lamps made of bronze... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Jamai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing