We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chaotic food, poor service, extremely expensive.”

Palais de Merinides
Ranked #147 of 206 Restaurants in Fes
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chaotic food, poor service, extremely expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Magnificent place, but poor service. The pastilla was very good, but stay away of the "méchoui" (300 Dhs): awful meat, with raw vegetables! Of course the visa terminal was out of order, and the Exchange rate poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ouini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    34
    24
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning interior, shame about the food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We walked in and were immediately taken with the beautiful interior so decided to give it a try. The menu consisted of only set menus, each having the same starter and dessert so not much choice. We were a little wary of the salads but it looked a clean place so took the risk - don't! I have a stomach of iron and I got ill for a couple of days; my partner was struck down for over a week. Service was poor, we didn't get offered any coffees, the bill was presented before we had finished and trying to get a beer was like pulling teeth.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Good Food but TOO Expensive for Maroc!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The interior of this restaurant is stunning. At least that much I can really say with confidence. I also enjoyed the food...it was really good and nicely served and offers a variety of Moroccan courses. The only thing I did not like was the COST. It was far too expensive. I stumbled on this place sort of by accident and should have known better. Although it cost me a bundle, at least I enjoyed it. I do not recommend this to the average budget traveller, as it is far too expensive and you can get similar options for less.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We were followed to our hotel after we left!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

A seemingly friendly man from a spice shop recommended us this restaurant and brought us there in the afternoon. The place looks beautiful and we decided to make a reservation. A downpayment of 100 DHS was required. While some locals advised us not to go because of the bad food and the very high price (300 DHS per person), we did go but found an empty restaurant; no guests at prime time! We decided to leave and go to another restaurant. A heated discussion with the very unfriendly owner followed!

The next morning, the same man that recommended us the place suddenly appeared right at our breakfast table in our hotel to get compensation! He got in by saying he was a long time friend of and knew us for years (we only met him the past day). Luckily, the hotel owner kicked the man out, but it was a very frightening situation for me and my girlfriend at a place where we expected to feel safe!

Don't go to this place...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreekM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tourist trap with bad food- avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

A guide lured us here on the first night. Expensive three course dinner, and the food did not taste good. The interior is nice, but it was cold inside.The guides get a lot of money to take you here, which the customer pays of course.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais de Merinides also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Palais de Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing