We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place!”
Review of Dar Aliane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Aliane
Ranked #154 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2013

for the first 15minutes after arriving at this riad, we kept saying WOW!! it's really beautiful, the rooms are decorated in Moroccan style, the garden is gorgeus, there are 2 big rooms with tables and sofas. the bathrooms are in european style. everything was very clean, the staff was very polite and helpful. they showed us a nearby restaurant which served delicious Moroccan food.
we were really happy to spend 2 nights there.
Note: please ask for the GPS coordinates - it's much easier to find the place. google maps or navigation don't have the latest names of the streets so it's quite tricky to find an address.

Room Tip: pick Sahara!! it's the best!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munteanu_valentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Dar Aliane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel, which for what is seems is run by women. Which is a refreshing change in Morocco. You do need to get petit taxis most places however these are cheap and easily available. The hotel is clean and spacious the breakfast was delicious. Wifi available free in the reception area. My only negative is the guide that was arranged with the hotel Ali, he was a lovely man however we did get taken from shop to shop and didn't really learn too much about Fez. Ali tried to change our pre arrange tour to give us to his friend who seemed like a heavy salesman, we refused to go with him, after some arguing in Arabic we got Ali. I'm not convinced he was a real tour guide despite showing us his card, however he was a nice man and we had a good few hours in the medina. So if you are a bit relaxed about the situation you'll have a nice time. Thanks Dar Aliane.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Talked to a guy on a scooter that came up to one of our four motorbikes coming in to Fes. Asked him for a good riad, and he took us to Dar Aliane. We were warmly welcomed by two very friendly women who spoke good english. We were invited to park our four bikes in the driveway just outside the door. We got a double room on ground floor, and a triple room on the first floor. We could have had two double bed rooms at ground floor, but wanted a bigger room. We got the double bed room at 600 DH and the triple at 800 DH incl breakfast. WiFi was free of charge. Nice AC on both rooms. A very comfortable stay - two nights - in a very quiet area. Delicious breakfast. I have no negative comments on this place, and would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHelgeEide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We previewed the room it seemed nice so we parked and moved our baggage in. The the staff yelled at us a little before letting us know that the rates had increased 40%. The tagine dinners where 10x what we have paid other places. This place is a rip off, with rude people. But clean.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Natbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We recently stayed here and the place was disgusting. It smelt like a sewer.

It is very expensive for what it is, and the owner and staff are rude, talking about us in arabic which they did not realise we understood.

They were very aggressive about paying.

Would never say here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kc88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Es el mejor hotel que he estado en todo Marruecos, Grandes detallistas, excelente trato y habitación confortable. La directora es un encanto en todos los sentidos

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marron_ibz_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is the place the touts take unsuspecting tourists. The tout befriends you, then they take a massive kickback from the owner/operator. I would avoid this place at all costs. The staff was rude, the area was unsafe, and the location was nowhere any tourist wants to be. Prepare to be accosted by local drunks and beggars when you walk around the neighborhood.

Don't fall for the internet service trap. They offer the service, then hit you up for a ridiculous fee when you want to leave. $6/hour.

I paid about $60/night, and later overheard negotiations as low as $35/night for a better room.

And the bedbugs were very happy feeding on me during my stay!!

Room Tip: Negotiate hard with these guys. They will generally settle for half of their first offer. If you c...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
3.8 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#41 of 100 in Fes
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
617 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
952 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#42 of 100 in Fes
640 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#92 of 100 in Fes
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Aliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Aliane

Address: 14 Rue Mustapha Maani, Fes 33000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $48 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Aliane 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Aliane is hosts' house of eleven rooms fitted out in the style Moroccan, Each is carefully decorated and has her own personality in reference to the style of certain regions Moroccan (Atlas, the Mediterranean Sea, Ourika).Rooms wind around a well of light which uncorks in a pleasant flowery patio and marble water fountains and zellige. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Aliane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing