We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, hospitable and great value for money”
Review of Dar Melody

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Melody
Ranked #30 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, hospitable and great value for money”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Dar Melody and were greeted with smiles right at the start. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. It had all the amenities, including a hair dryer, which wasn't the case with other places we stayed in Morocco. They even set up a baby bath tub for us as we had our 10 month old child with us. The breakfast was scrumptious- fruits, different types of crepes, pastries, and good coffee. There were a few moments where communication was difficult as we don't speak French or Arabic, but the hosts couldn't have been more helpful and gracious. We had a wonderful experience at Dar Melody, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
212
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dar Melody. First, they sent a taxi to pick us up at the bus station, and then met us at the parking area, which we greatly appreciated. Our terrace room was exquisite, with wonderful details and views. The room was one of the most luxurious we had during our four weeks of travel in Morocco. And the architecture of the entire building, as Laurence and Bernard have remodeled it, is stunning. The breakfasts, too, were wonderful, with juice, fresh fruit, pastries, scrambled eggs, AND crepes! Laurence arranged for an English-speaking guide who spent a day with us exploring the souks. The location is good, and easy to find - at least after they showed us the way the first time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank over65traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Staying in this Riad was one of the best experience in Morocco. The couple, Laurent and Bernhard, are extremely kind and help you with everything. The interieur is made with such attention to detail; it is breathtaking! We were there end of september and had the uppest room. The room is 5 star. So we needed to doublecheck the room price again;) best price quality relation ever!! The breakfast is also very well done; a must and the best start for the day! The view from the terrace is amazing! Thank you for letting us stay in this Riad. C'etait magnifique.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Fes is my last stop at Morocco after three weeks traveling around this country, from the very beginning, the reservation inquiry was responded by Laurence in a prompt manner, and she gave lots of advice about my trip and welcomed me in person at the nearest parking lot from Dar while I arrived by taxi. The architecture and decoration of the whole Dar is truly gorgeous, I stayed in the room "Menzeh" at the terrace for three nights, the room is spacious and very bright facing the beautiful roof terrace, Laurence decorates the room in lots of lovely details, silk/wool pillows, peacock bamboo chair, vintage wardrobe, comfortable sitting area, large writing desk, flowers, welcome pastries etc....an absolute comfy room like your own home. Laurence and Bernard shift the breakfast menu every other day in French or Moroccan, every morning I expected to see how Laurence set the dining table and bring the delicous and huge breakfast, the best breakfast of my whole trip!! On the departure day which was a Friday, Muslim's off day, therefore the taxi driver didn't show up on time as said, Bernard even drove me to the airport in his car as free, very kind of him!! Bernard and Laurence this couple are superb and warm hospitality which made my Morocco trip a perfect ending!! Merci :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in Sept 13 with a friend. Wonderful architecture - a typical house conversion. Great roof terrace. Gave us a feel of staying in a Moroccon house. And the hosts/ owners were friendly, accomodating and helpful. Great breakfast. And they even helped carry our luggages to the carpark (some walk away) when we had to leave early in the morning and the porters were not available at that time.

Room Tip: The place is hard to find, so best to get them to organise the transfer upon arrival in Fes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasotha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived in Fes at the ungodly hour of 2:00AM. The manager of Dar Melody waited up and came to meet us at the medina gate. We were given little food gifts in our room which was a really pleasant touch. Our first, second and third (there were only 3) breakfasts were the best we experienced in our 2 weeks in Morocco - superb. The Riad is really spacious, the staff extremely helpful and our room very comfortable. Fez is not the easiest of the medinas in Morocco to find your way round in, but we always felt comfortable with the advice from our hosts. A wonderful first stop on our Moroccan journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this beautifully restored house. We had the orange room which was huge, with a double bed, and seating area. The owners had a cot put in for our daughter and a baby bath (which she loved). Moroccan toiletries are in the bathroom. There is a nice roof terrace with comfy chairs and a couple of loungers. The breakfast was outstanding, it alternated between french bread and moroccan bread. They cooked us eggs, there were lots of spreads, 2 types of fresh fruit, tea, coffee and had some chocolate powder for our daughter. The table was laid out and decorated a slightly different colour each day and the oil they had burning smelt divine! The attention to details that goes in here really sets it apart from other places we have stayed at.
The owners are french but speak English too. They gave us restaurant recommendations and organised guides for us for the medina and a day trip to Volubilis/Meknes.

It's at the quieter end of the medina so the shop keepers don't hassle as much, but the downside is that there is no restaurant very near by. The one recommended by the owners was nice, but still a 10 minute walk (not great with a hungry child). Otherwise, a perfect place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#15 of 99 in Fes
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 99 in Fes
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 216 in Fes
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Seffarine
Dar Seffarine
#4 of 216 in Fes
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Melody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Melody

Property: Dar Melody
Address: 18 Rue Laalouj Lakbira, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Melody 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional house morrocan, in the médina 3 rooms of hotes with independant bathroom air conditioning internet. breakfast included transfer included for the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Melody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Melody Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing