We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cold in winter but still....lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Sekaya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Sekaya
Ranked #33 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Milano
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty cold in winter but still....lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

First thing you will love getting into Pension Sekaya: the beautiful building, the warm welcome of Mohamed and Fouad and then, depending on the time of arrival, a tasting breakfast on the terrace (if weather permits) or a delicious dinner in the beautiful patio (the chicken was really nice...but make sure you're not in a hurry...it needs "some" time to be cooked...well, you're in Morocco!!). At any other time of the day (or night) you'll be welcomed with a hot cup of mint the...that's Moroccan hospitality.
The pension is situated right in the centre of the Medina. We first got there with the pension pick up from the airport (that's worth..same money for a taxi, plus you'll be taken right in front of the door). Then you will need some sense of orientation to find yourself in the dedalus of little and narrow streets, but that's part of the game and we could always find our way back.
It is true it's pretty cold in winter..there's no heat (but i bet you...you won't find any other pension this beautiful and heated at the same cost in the Medina!)..warm blankets are provided anyway

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

this palce is alomost impossible to find on your own, but after once you get to it you surely be able to come back. The question is would you like to? This located in almos center of Medina Riad is a a very nice place on the very first look, but if you see it twice it's unfortunatelly quite untidy, with paint falling of the walls, and what's worst it's a little bit infested with some nasty biting bugs (so be carefull at night, as those bitse will iche you for next few days). The bathrooms are as tidy as rest of the place and althought there is hot water all the time the shower isn't the nicest event of the evening. there are a lot of rooms in this riad so there's a high proability of meeting a laud family with small children in that case do not assume you will get a lot of sleep. And the breakfast althougth eaten on a very nice terasse, was unfortunatelly a little bit feel later (stomachache).
those conditions are not met with the price (we payed 300DH) which is not so big assuming other palces in Fes but in my opinion was to high.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazikss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

Dusseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

We spend the first two nights of our holiday in Pension Sekaya. Now at the end of our stay i can say it was 'ok'. for 300dirham a night you get a beautiful Riad and a good breakfast. Don't stay in your room to long because they are really dark and damp. Even our paper were all wet because of the damp...

Overall pretty good except the last morning. They told us that it was absolutely no problem to have an early breakfast (8.00) because we had to catch a train. So at 8 o'clock there was nobody in the riad... And when we tried to leave without breakfast at 8.10 we found out that the door was locked on the inside, so we had to wake up the local guy that was supposed to make us breakfast to open the door for us. No apology from him and he even tried to make us pay more..
So don't expect much service here and they will charge you a lot for food.

But enjoy the nice building and the roof terrace.. only that is already worth it's money...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed with my girlfriend in Pension Sekaya on february.First impact was very impressive,the Patio was great and the building was nice decorated.Unfortunately the room was cold and very damp and that's ruined a little bit our holiday.Service was bad and the terrace on the top floor normal.
We payed 300 dirhams per night for a double room with a poor breakfast included.
At least I do not reccomended to stay in this pension on winter,too cold and too damp,maybe could be better in summer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yurij86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

We had arranged to get picked up from the train station however no-one showed up and no-one answered my calls. Upon arrival by cab to the general area (Fes is pedestrianised) we were hustled to the door by a local who apparently worked for them. Normally i would ignore as i did until he produced the business card of the hotel without me speaking to him. Upon arrival he demanded around 200 dirahms for escorting us to the place about 150 meters away. I refused and offered him a fair tip. He then pretended to be insulted and made the usual ridiculous threats, i laughed him off and i was appalled to hear that the owner paid his ransom at 60 dirahm and then put it on my bill. I refused to pay this as i was more than happy to call the tourist police and report the man.

Anyway besides the owner dealing with that particular situation in the wrong way the Pension was very pleasant with great breakfasts on the terrace. Rooms on the ground floor however did seem to have a bit of damp, may not be a problem in the hotter months. Overall this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Fantastic value, quiet location, yet a 5 min walk to all of the action.

It's not easy to find on your own, however the owner will send someone to meet you if you pre-arrange it or in our case we paid 10 Dirhams (about 1 Euro) to a local kid who happily escorted us from the main Taxi drop off point to the Riad.

The owners are local. They renovate old riads and seem to have a good recipe of finding a quiet location, equipping it with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and keeping it very authentic. It's definitely on the no frills end of the scale, however you get more than you pay for in this case. It's clean, friendly and safe.

Each room has it's own bathrooms and a basic breakfast of fresh bread, tea, coffee and jams is included.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reefka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Have just returned from staying with 2 friends at Pension Sekaya (we had a triple room up on the first floor). I can honestly say that this is one of the best value "budget" places I have ever stayed in, anywhere. In fact I've paid 8 times what a room here costs and had far, far worse!
The Pension itself is stunning, esp for a first time visitor to Morocco. Yes, rooms are basic but beds were comfy, bedding clean, bathrooms were good, the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels provided (but make sure you bring/buy soap etc as toiletries are not provided) and there was always plenty of hot water. The rooms were a wee bit hot & stuffy but hey, it was hot EVERYWHERE!
ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. As I was travelling with 2 male friends and I wanted to visit a hammam, they even arranged for a female member of staff (Monia) to accompany me. They arranged for an early morning taxi to pick us up to get us to the airport for our flight (tho said taxi driver did try to overcharge us, so make sure you get your change!).
The Pension is handily placed for all the medina action though it took us a while to get our bearings and be able to make our way back in the evenings unaided!
We didn't ask for recommendations for restaurants etc but there are plenty of "helpful" people out there who will try to "recommend" places to eat. At the end of the day, you can always say no! We were "escorted" to the Palais de Merinides and knew immediatley upon entering that it was most definitely not for us, this being confirmed when we saw the prices on the menu! So we just said no and left. No problem.
The Pension is also a good place to get to meet other travellers of all nationalities. The lovely roof terrace is great to hang out on with a tray of mint tea that the staff will happily bring you at any time of the day.
We hope to return to Fes next year and will definitely be staying at Pension Sekaya. It is also the kind of place that lone female travellers would feel secure staying at.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillybilly444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#38 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Agapanthe
Villa Agapanthe
#45 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sekaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sekaya

Property: Pension Sekaya
Address: 16 Sekayat Demnati | Zleiten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Sekaya: stay at 12 € / person, including breakfast.   At the heart of the medina, in a large traditional house completely restored house 11 rooms from 2 to 5 beds with private bathrooms. Large panoramic terrace for breakfast and lunch. Kitchen available. Quiet 5 minutes from the car park, historic sites and shops.   This guest house Riad or pension, is a little hotel in the beginning of the last century. Recently renovated, it is quietly situated in the historical part, the Medina of Fez. Haven offers the services of a guest house in the first class, and the owners reserve you their best reception Its structure and its proportions it exudes calm and serenity that will not leave you indifferent. Our riad in Fez is easily accessible, ideal for exploring the maze of the medina of Fez and its region. Our Moroccan restaurant, you will discover Fassi cuisine in all its facets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Sekaya Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing