We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, food, views and experience”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We have never visited anywhere where we've had such warm and friendly stay. The benefit of Calife being a small place and the attention to detail that they put in means that you get a very personal experience. Yasmin and Alex have clearly put a lot of time and love into making a very stylish and intimate riad. The room we had was a good size (although was a suite) with lots of presonal touches. The breakfast that is included was great, especially with the view from the terrace. We also had an evening meal which was cooked by the their chef just for us - no menu just what was fresh in the market!
Great location too, 5 minute walk from the heart of the medina and without wanting to be cliched - it was an oasis of calm. Quite sad to be home!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Riad Le Calife
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 741 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2010

Riad Le Calife (and Fez in general) was the best part of our honeymoon. We stayed there 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer, as we truly were sad to leave. The staff (headed by Alexandre and Yasmine the friendly owners) was very welcoming and helpful from our arrival on. One of the employees came to meet us to help us park our car and carry our luggage to the riad (very useful as you easily get lost in Fez).
The riad overall is wonderful, very quiet, amazingly decorated and has a peaceful patio with a fountain and a beautiful jujube tree ; it has two rooftop terraces with comfortable seating space and tables for breakfast and dinner, and above all, an astonishing view over the whole medina, the old city and the mountains in the distance. Every evening, at sunset when the muezzins call for prayer from all over the city, the sight of this ancient city is a truly mesmerizing experience.
But the best part may have been our room, the Suite Diamant, simply fabulous : huge, with two mosaic-covered columns and a fantastic wood-decorated ceiling. It was the perfect place for our romantic stay and it was a heartbreaker to have to pack and leave.
Finally, on the last day, we took a cooking class with the super friendly and talented riad's cook : it's free if you have dinner at the riad, and i highly recommend to try it once, especially since you get to choose the menu ! We actually had 2 dinners at the riad during our stay and they were by far the best we had during our whole trip in Morocco.
Overall, my only slightest criticism -- that's saying a lot -- would concern the absence of fruits at breakfast (apart from the freshly squeezed orange juice). Everything else during our stay was perfect and I hope Alexandre and Yasmine will keep the riad as it is for a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were so sad to leave Riad Le Calife after just two days and wished we could have stayed longer. Yasmine and Alex were excellent hosts and made sure we had an incredible experience in Fes. From the restaurant recomendations to the car service at the train station and the last-minute massages they booked for us, our entire stay was spectacular.

We stayed in the Emerald Suite, which was gorgeous (photos don't do it justice) and the service from everyone at Raid Le Calife was unparalleled. Definitely have dinner at the Raid at least one night -- their cook is amazing and it was by far the best meal we had in Morocco. Also, Take them up on their offer to book you a guide -- it was our only regret.

Bottom line, if you want a to stay in an elegant yet authentic environment with every ammenity you could imagine, this is the place for you. We would go back to Morocco in a heartbeat just to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I loved everything about the place and the friendly owners wo were very helpful. really stunning and worth splashing out on too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was the perfect beginning of our vacation to Morocco. My 23 year old daughter joined my husband and I on our trip through Morocco. We stayed for three nights. If I had to do it again I would spend at least one more night and travel to Mekes for a day trip. Raid Le Calife is everything you want in a vacation; beautifully decorated clean rooms, excellent cuisine prepared by Fatima, a relaxing massage, and the perfect host and hostess,Yasmine and Alex. I picked this Raid in Fez because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. You will not be disappointed if you do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manlyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed in the Amethyst room on 3rd floor of this well preserved and very beautifully decorated riad. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very tastefully decorated. We liked all the personal touches, books, and of course - Darwin the little dog. Jasmine and Alex were among the best hosts we came across in our 5 weeks of travel through Spain and Morocco - always there to assist and to ensure that all our needs were met.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_and_Ray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was one of our favorite places during our 2 wk. visit to Morocco. The charming owners, Alex and Yasmine, did everything they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Fez. They have done an excellent job restoring and decorating this riad, with many thoughtful details to comfort while remaining authentic in feel. The roof deck has a wonderful view of the medina which is positively magical at night. We always looked forward to the cool garden and soothing sounds of the fountain after returning from the hot and hectic medina. Breakfasts were generous and served what seems to be traditional Moroccan fare - lots of breads, jams, crepes, juice, dried fruits and eggs. We also had dinner there the first night which was delicious. Pace yourself, they give you way too much food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: $115 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing