We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to people watch in the early evening”
Review of Thami’s

Thami’s
Ranked #47 of 209 Restaurants in Fes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good to people watch in the early evening”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Made popular by Lonely planet and apparently in a few Japanese travel books, we planned our day to have an early supper at Thami. It was a good call. We spent the day exploring the medina, getting lost, being hastled and being mesmerized by the metal workers etc.

We decided to have an early dinner so to allow time for us to expore the medina in the evening which again I highly recommend. It looks much more peaceful and serene than during the day. Gave us a different memory altogether.

Thami is a good place to reset your day, it is located close to the medina gate and they open early for dinner. We came around 6 and found seats at the front of the restaurant (not the on the street) where we can comfortably eat and people watch.

The food was wonderful thanks to all the reviews posted. The tajine kefta was packed with flavor and was actually seasoned the way we liked it (we found most food in morocco lacks salt - explains high blood pressure in the US). We also ordered the sardines and I very much enjoyed it. They are not pushy and didn't mind that we ordered the ala carte and not the set menu. Still gave us the lentils to start. We stayed for a while as we were enjoying our mint tea. There is a bakery in front has been busy with customers so we decided to get some afterwards to enjoy with our mint tea. They didn't try to rush us at all. Could be because we were there early.

After we refueled, we had a bit more energy to continue exploring the medina... most places are open until 8 pm and we felt comfortable walking around till then.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    101
    33
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very cheerful chef and good food for the price”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

2 of us ate here twice over two days while in fes. thami is extremely cheerful and cute - which made us go back the second time actually. it can get a little overwhelming/annoying with everyone trying to shove their menus in your face as you walk by their restaurant, but i felt that at thami's they would encourage you to eat there without being too pushy.

have anything on the menu, everything is all decently priced and delicious, but i would not recommend the fish tagine (its not even on the menu but we asked for it). the fish was more sardine-like and just wasnt that great for me personally. the grilled meat or tajine with meatballs and tomato and egg is much better.

the chef himself made the whole dining experience better i guess. he also gives you free starters and sometimes a little moroccon sweet for dessert for free too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hot Air”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

As Thami and the restaurant next door vied with each other for our business, we opted to go with Thami who had been highly rated on Trip Advisor and had a regular customer who vouched for the meal.

As we sat down next to regular customer (an ex pat from Canada who eats all his meals at Thani's) we were really excited! The beans were very good, the potato fritter were too - but cold...

We ordered a meat tagine that was tasty - but very small .... the meat was a small piece and far too many prunes to balance the dish correctly - enough for a 3-4 star rating but then it took a turn to the worst....

I bit and had to stop as there was something piercing my gum!!! Quite concerned I turned to my husband who couldnt see it and i tried to work my tongue and finger to pry a piece of SHARP METAL THAT HAD GOT IN MY GUM!! Freaking out but thankful that I had my tetnus shot recently, I used a napkin to stop the bit of blood coming from my mouth and gave the metal to my husband. After inspecting it, he showed it to Thami - who made a surprised face, inspected it .... and then nothing

No apology, didn't comp us any part of our meal (which i couldnt finish now anyways)

Seems that the tripadvisor rating has gone to his head. The amicable fellow Canadian eating there felt really bad that i got metal in my meal - but he enjoyed his meal :) He did mention (when we asked if the lady in the kitchen was his wife) that Thani used to cook himself but now it seems hed much rather parade the street in front of his store and chat with his buddies (and while we were there also share a meal with them)

Try Chez Said's around the corner, was really good with great service and no metal (awesome olives too which I missed here at Thami's)!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpechlesStrytelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prepare to be Dazzled”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

After constantly eating out on the daily for months, you start to become numb, the greatness seems to fade and mediocrity almost always finds a way of sinking its teeth into your dining experience. And then, every once and a while something special comes along to sweep you off your feet and make eating fun again, Thami's is one of those places.

You wouldn't expect much from this little hole in the wall if you had just stumbled upon it. But luckily you have all of us telling you what an absolute gem this place is.
So there are no excuses now, if you're reading this I beg you to put Thami's on your bucket list for Fes, you will not regret it.

The flavors that the chef manages to bring into existence from the exceedingly modest "kitchen" is simply amazing.
I consider myself a bit of a tagine expert by this point and Thami's set a new standard. Nothing fancy, just honest, clean flavors that respected the ingredients.
Order the Lamb tagine and get ready to experience the ubiquitous dish in a whole new way, subtle, aromatic, perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection.
The host is pleasant, the people watching is second to none and the price is PERFECT.
My brother had the Pastilla and it tasted amazing. We are planning to go back tomorrow and tuck into what culinary delights make their way to our table.

Free starters, amazing food, great views and the host even slashed out bill by almost half after we told him that we were going to recommend his place and be returning ourselves.

You won't get haut-cuisine, a varied wine menu or even a wobble-free table, but what you will get is a breath of fresh air.

Happy eating :)

- Alex

Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Falling Star”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The star next to Thami’s Restaurant review in the Lonely Planet has gone to their head and made the place mediocre at best. While we were eating dinner, the continual cry of the restaurant tout to passersby that the restaurant was in Lonely Planet was at first annoying and eventually infuriating.
As mentioned in other reviews, the initial ‘free’ appetizer of lentils, potato cakes and chillies was tasty, and the eggplant (aubergine) salad we had was very good. The chicken tajine, however, was a different story. The meat was very hot but the vegetables were cold. They must have been cooked separately – very overcooked actually – and then added to the meat. Sending the tajine back to have it properly heated only make the vegetables even more squishy. And to top it off, the tajine had very little sauce. We assume that Thami’s was once a worthwhile place to eat, but unfortunately that is no longer the case.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard3999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thami’s also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Thami’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing