We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnifique”
Review of Dar Roumana

Dar Roumana
Ranked #4 of 209 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An intimate dining experience in a beautiful setting, dinner at Dar Roumana's restaurant is a must-do for any visitor to Fes. Our talented French chef serves Mediterranean food with a Moroccan twist, and can be described as French/Moroccan 'fusion'. Changing daily, the dishes on the menu reflect the produce that's in season and bought fresh from the markets every day. Start with a drink on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the ancient medina of Fes, then dine in our courtyard restaurant. Decorated with colourful zellij tiling, carved cedar wood, a beautiful hand-painted bartal and intricate plaster, the restaurant is breathtakingly beautiful. In the winter, reserve a table for two next to our open fire, and in the summer be cooled by the splashing sound of the central fountain. Adding to the romantic setting is the attentive but discreet service. Allow us to transport you to a world of fine cuisine for the evening. We look forward to welcoming you to Dar Roumana. Reservations essential.
cadiz
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“magnifique”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Magnifique Vince from one old retired chef to one on top of his game it was delicious all round creamy pureed mash to die for with the braised rabbit. yum yum and yum again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djlouismac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    43
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Palace in Fez”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Dar Roumana is a magical palace and a world class restaurant. We stayed two nights and could have stayed forever - it was without a doubt our favorite Riad in Morocco. The rooftop has a spectacular panoramic view of the city which is ideal for sunset watching and a evening drink. The sumptuous dinner served in the lovingly renovated inner courtyard of Dar Roumana was a world class, gourmands delight. Will we return to Morocco? Only if we can stay at Dar Roumana.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tagine-free, fine dining”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is well off the beaten track but is well worth a visit. It's number one for a reason. The food was fresh, tasty and well presented. Very European and not so Moroccan but that was fine for us. I had the roasted plums with cured ham salad, braised rabbit with vegetables and mini creme brûlée with chocolate mousse. For wine we had a bottle of the region's only AOC wine, Chateau Roslane. It was very good. We started with cocktails on the rooftop terrace, the best we've been on so far here. The cocktails were bordering on non alcoholic/weak, however overall we had a nice dining experience here. The inside courtyard of the Dar was particularly beautiful. We will return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackFromOz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
2 reviews
“Excellent food - really good”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had dinner at Dar Roumana and the food was very delicious and nicely prepared, it was a real fine dining experience that you can't easily find in Fes. The cuisine is mideterranian not local, but you won't be short of local food elsewhere if you needed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tawfiq_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The 3 course dinner I had at Dar Roumana was fantastic! The food was expertly prepared, beautiful, interesting, and most importantly delicious!
The ambience/setting is beautiful. There aren't that many tables, so it feels very personal. There are also a number of good wines available - which is always nice!
All in all, it was a fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Roumana also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing