We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't stay here at least go for dinner”
Review of Dar Roumana

Dar Roumana
Ranked #4 of 212 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An intimate dining experience in a beautiful setting, dinner at Dar Roumana's restaurant is a must-do for any visitor to Fes. Our talented French chef serves Mediterranean food with a Moroccan twist, and can be described as French/Moroccan 'fusion'. Changing daily, the dishes on the menu reflect the produce that's in season and bought fresh from the markets every day. Start with a drink on our roof terrace with spectacular views of the ancient medina of Fes, then dine in our courtyard restaurant. Decorated with colourful zellij tiling, carved cedar wood, a beautiful hand-painted bartal and intricate plaster, the restaurant is breathtakingly beautiful. In the winter, reserve a table for two next to our open fire, and in the summer be cooled by the splashing sound of the central fountain. Adding to the romantic setting is the attentive but discreet service. Allow us to transport you to a world of fine cuisine for the evening. We look forward to welcoming you to Dar Roumana. Reservations essential.
Hurst, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you can't stay here at least go for dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This beautiful restored riad is stunning. We did not stay here but we made reservations for dinner. It was a set menu consisting of 3 mouth watering courses. The total cost per person without drinks was about $40 per person and worth every penny. The hotel even sent a porter to walk us from our hotel so we wouldn't get lost. It was a wonderful evening. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    45
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must-Do in the Medina”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A lovely oasis of elegance and fine dining in the otherwise hectic medina, dinner at Dar Roumana is a must-do during your time in Fes. Although I always love the experience of sampling street-food and eating local when traveling, there's something to be said for truly great dining experiences. And I had one of my most memorable meals ever at Dar Roumana - excellent food, beautiful candlelit atrium dining room, and a great wine list, something that can be hard to come by in Morocco. For special occasions, reserve a table in the semi-private space next to the opulent fireplace. An outstanding experience at an outstanding space in the Fes Medina. I look forward to future visits!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherton, ca
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, excellent food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This French restaurant was a welcome break from Moroccan tagines and cous cous. The host, a Frenchman, was charming, and the room is beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Dinner at Dar Roumana”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Dar Roumana and ate in the restaurant our first night there. It is a truly magical dining room, the service is gracious and the food thoughtful, seasonal and elegant. Vincent is a talented chef, turning out French Mediterranean food with some Moroccan influences. The restaurant was full the night we ate there, and we understand why!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Morocco”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The chef's combination of French and Moroccan cuisine was imaginative and inspiring. We ate in many restaurants in Morocco and didn't find anyone else doing anything like this. Dar Roumana is a must-do dining experience for any travellers to Fez, or Morocco for that matter.
The service and setting were also magical, creating an intimate dining experience. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Roumana also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Dar Roumana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing