We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Maison Bleue

La Maison Bleue
Ranked #33 of 206 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well priced great atmosphere and good service
Welcoming and English is spoken the meal was delicious and I am not normally a dessert eater but please have their dessert

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David and Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expectations not met!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Despite this restaurant's reputation, we were disappointed with our experience. The setting was pretty, but the atmosphere uncomfortably formal and the service a little haphazard. The array of vegetable salads was good, (as seemed usual in Morocco), but the main courses were poor quality - overcooked chicken and a fatty lamb tagine. Dessert was a version of pastille, layers of pastry, cream and cinnamon served with orange slices. I must say it was delicious, but with the high prices for food and wine here, not enough to change our overall opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A well advertised and ofetn highly recommended restaurant but went to better and cheaper restaurants in Fes. A fixed menu of 4 courses but the only outstanding course was the dessert. The staff were not particularly friendly or interested in telling you what was being served and for me the place was a bit of an up market tourist trap. We may have been put off abit as there was very large corporate group taking up most of the restaurant and therefore takiung up most of the staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mspazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Welcoming restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A good quality restaurant with a reasonably priced menu. As with most Moroccan menus the majority of dishes offer a choice between Cous Cous or Tajine.

The local wine (actually from Meknes) was very drinkable. The waiting staff were very efficient and the musical entertainment was interesting, comprising as it did players from Marrakech.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting: average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The setting for this sumptuous riyad is unbeatable and it is a treat to be able to dine in such surroundings, with live Berber music most evenings. The two all-inclusive menus offer a good range of Moroccan delights but the quality is poor at times. Tough chicken for the chicken couscous spoilt the evening as it was almost inedible. Waiting staff became less friendly once we suggested that we were unhappy with the main meal. The situation was left unresolved. The starters, desserts, teas and wine were all good quality but it was a shame the level of service changed once we expressed disappointment with the main course. Go for the experience, choose the lighter menu, avoid the meat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1512P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison Bleue also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to La Maison Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing